News

Indian car scene: Dearth of all-new mainstream launches in 2024

Am surprised we've seen no all-new nameplate in the mainstream segments for almost a year!

GTO recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

I'd posted this on the Trivia thread in Jan '24:

Here's some trivia = I think Q4 2023 (October to December) was the only quarter that didn't see a single all-new car model launch. We only saw facelifts & the like.

On the other hand, the motorcycle world has been on fire

Unfortunately, Q1 2024 was no different. Other than Facelifts, Variants & EV versions, the all-new nameplates we reviewed last were the Honda Elevate & C3 Aircross back in August 2023!

Since then, we've mainly been reviewing variants, facelifts, ATs, EV versions & a bunch of premium cars (BMW X1, BYD Seal)...the last of which carry very low relevance in terms of market reach or sales volumes due to their 50-60 lakh price.

Am surprised we've seen no all-new nameplate in the mainstream segments for almost a year!

Take a look at our Official Reviews, sorted by date:

• Gurkha 5-Door
  • Wrangler Rubicon Facelift
  • BYD Seal (premium, low relevance)
  • Creta N-Line
  • Tigor CNG
  • GLA Facelift
  • C3 Aircross AT
  • Punch EV
  • Creta Facelift
  • Sonet Facelift
  • BMW X1 (premium, low relevance, not an all-new nameplate)
  • Safari & Harrier Facelifts
  • Magnite AMT
  • EQE SUV (1.5 crore car)
  • Compass 4x2 AT
  • Nexon EV / Facelift
  • C40 Recharge
  • Gloster Blackstorm
  • GLC
  • C3 Aircross
  • Elevate

Here's what BHPian Carpainter had to say on the matter:

I think one of the main reasons being manufacturers are busy making EVs these days and are not looking at new models or even new generation for sometime now. Like how the Amaze has been so long in the market but no new facelift or new generation is on the horizon. Same for Compass, Ciaz etc. to name a few. Toyota has stopped making new cars except the Hycross and all their cars are mostly rebadged Suzukis. Same for Honda with only 3 models up for sale and two of which are already looking old now. Some cars that I can think of that will get facelift or new generation are Swift, Dzire and Fortuner.

I think our market has stagnated a little here. Even some of the facelifts are carrying polarizing looks like those from Tata, Mahindra, Hyundai etc. I have a sparingly used 9 years old City and I don't see any car today even below 25 lakh bracket that can replace it for another 10 years. I really miss those D segment sedans.

I just don't know why atleast Asian companies like Honda and Toyota don't launch their whole south East Asian range of models here. They launch so many variants in countries like Thailand, China, Malaysia etc but only a couple of models here in India with much bigger volume. I don't know how selling say 100 units of 2 models is more profitable than say selling 10 units of 10 different models each. They already share their platform and equipment but multiple models keep the customers happy and help retain a customer longer. I just don't understand their mathematics here.

Here's what BHPian CentreofGravity had to say on the matter:

You're right. And with upcoming launches like the Toyota Taisor, Mahindra XUV3XO (launched recently), Altroz Racer, Nexon CNG, Thar Armada and Magnite facelift, we're gonna see more variants and facelifts.

However, the future isn't entirely bleak. We'll have all new models like the Maruti Swift, Dzire, Citroën Basalt and Tata Curvv in the near future and cars like the Maruti EVX, Mahindra BE range, Kia Clavis and EV9, Renault Duster and its Nissan counterpart later on. The period so far may have been boring, but the future seems exciting

Here's what BHPian Samba had to say on the matter:

My hunch is, manufacturers are not clear about the future of cars. Whether the Indian govt will emphasize higher ethanol petroleum, EV or Hybrid or Hydrogen fuel, or even a diesel engine with some new emission norm!

Till they get clarity, they are playing safe and updating the current models and engines rather than investing in a whole new model or engine.

The positive part is, that some of the facelifts are worth it, the changes are substantial, not just mere cosmetic changes. Till the manufacturers get clarity about the future these facelifts are welcome.

Here's what BHPian smartcat had to say on the matter:

Most cars sold by manufacturers have a lifecycle of 6 to 8 years, before being replaced by a new model. Perhaps coincidentally, last year was such that no new model was due for replacement. Or perhaps introduction of new models have been delayed by X months due to internal issues (rather than market outlook). After all, development of a new model has a longish gestation period.

Here's what BHPian Axe77 had to say on the matter:

Perhaps we should also see this as cyclical? We’re a market where we have really have only 5 major / volume manufacturers (Maruti, Tata, Mahindra and Korean siblings) with even Toyota and Honda operating on the fringes and the many others brands sitting below even those two. So first and foremost its a consequence of the market having a relative lack of depth and range to start with in the volumes segment.

Seeing the high number of launches in June 2022 - 2023, perhaps its not unusual that there were relatively less number in the following 12 months and its only by 2025 / 26 might see an uptick? I’m referring to mainstream models here of course - the sub 30 - 40 lakh segment - cars need to run their ordinary course life cycle out and maybe we’re seeing a bunching up where such updates are not immediately due.

My back of the envelope sense is the next wave of launches will come around 2025 - 26, which will see a mix of EVs and strong hybrids being offered respectively. Of course regular end of life cycle updates will continue in ICE too but the former is where perhaps the action will pivot to.

The shift in dynamics between EVs and strong hybrids is also relatively recent so I do expect a slight lull before manufacturers figure out how they want to focus their strategy and energy. We’re already seeing mainstay players like Hyundai, who had previously declared ambitious EV plans, now also speaking of a parallel strong hybrid strategy too. These kind of strategy shifts will also impact roll out timelines to account for the necessary lead in time.

Read BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Seat belts save lives