News

After driving a Honda for a decade, bought a VW Virtus: Quick report

In the sub-15 lakh segment, the Virtus and Honda City SV are two cars which are sorted yet offer a level of driving pleasure & you can't go wrong with either of them.

BHPian anjanravi recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

Took delivery of my Comfortline in Lava Blue yesterday, and swapped the rims for Lenso Dyna Jager today. I've driven the Virtus for about 50kms now, and here's a very quick report.

Total On-Road Price Paid = 13.18L incl. Zero dep insurance with RTI and Engine Protect and insurance on accessories upto 50k (since I planned on the alloy wheel purchase)

This is about the same price one would have paid for a City V/VX MT in 2014, and in comparison to the crazy prices today for new and used cars, I really loved the value proposition of a Comfortline. Additionally, the fact that LED headlights, 16-inch wheels and a touchscreen with Android Auto and Apple Car Play included, and not to forget that gorgeous exterior, made my buying decision easy!

I don't like the horn. I can hear it more inside than outside, and it is not fitting a VW. I don't plan to immediately change it, as I generally don't use the horn too much anyway. Yes, it's not the VW quality of the last decade, but more of changing times, but I accept this as well.

The AC does make a hissing noise as everyone has reported (mine is a June 2023 made vehicle), but I don't find anything lacking in its performance (the last couple of days at Chennai have been boiling). As for the power windows, I don't see or hear what is wrong, maybe this issue was already fixed.

I love the engine, I'm changing to 2nd around the 3-4k mark, owing to traffic, and it feels very smooth and rev-happy, like a Honda. I love the gear shifts, and the overall tuning of the Virtus for city conditions. And the ride has been faultless so far!

In the sub-15 lac segment, I think the Virtus or a Honda City SV, are two cars which are sorted, yet offer a level of driving pleasure and you generally can't go wrong with either package. The reason I chose the VW over the Honda was because I've been a Honda driver for 10 years now and I wanted a change.

I'll end by saying that the Lava Blue is a difficult color to photograph, depending on where the light is, you may or may not see a Blue, but that is the charm of this color!

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Seat belts save lives