News

Really want to buy an EV: Unsure of the upkeep costs vs an ICE vehicle

Extensive usage of EV’s on Indian roads are pipe dreams and grand illusions.

BHPian Worldchamp 2019 recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

Dear BHPians,

I have a question with regards to the price of electric cars vs ICE cars. Extensive usage of EV’s on Indian roads are pipe dreams and grand illusions unless these cars are made affordable and cost the same as ICE cars. The Nexon EV top end costs 24 lacs (!) in Hyderabad. That’s 6 lacs more than the top end Nexon ICE model. I don’t think the amount saved justifies this extra 6 lacs. Let me explain.
I have calculated that with my mileage, the total saving is ₹ 63,000 per year. So, it will take me 9.5 years to recover this extra 6 lacs I have to pay for an EV. That seems like a very long time until one starts to really reap the reward.

• ICE car petrol bill (my mileage) – ₹ 60,000 per year
  • Maintenance bill (Oil/Coolant/Servicing, etc.) – ₹ 12,000 per year
  • Total – Rs. ₹ 72,000 per year
  • EV Charging bill – ₹ 6,000 per year
  • Maintenance bill – ₹ 3,000 per year
  • Total ₹ 9,000 per year
  • Total saving – ₹ 63,000 per year
  • Extra paid – ₹ 6 lacs
  • Time taken to recover the extra 6 lacs – ₹ 6,00,000 / ₹ 63,000 = 9.5 years. Now that’s a long time.

Someone please tell me I’m wrong as I really want to buy an EV but my head won’t let me. The only thing I can think of is as the ICE car ages the maintenance bills will get higher. Although if it is maintained well it shouldn’t, right?

Here's what BHPian ferrarirules had to say on the matter:

Based on the electricity charges given by you, I assume that you are driving 6000-6500 kms per year. It is very difficult to recoup the extra money spent on top model Nexon EV LR with such low mileage. You can look at top model of the Nexon MR version. It is at 21.27 lakhs on road price in Hyderabad. You can recoup the diferrence for the same in around half the time.

The challenge is more in Telangana as it is the only state charging full RTO tax on EVs which makes the recouping of cost more difficult.

Here's what BHPian Sandegov had to say on the matter:

Here is my quick personal take (own a NexonEV Max and a diesel XUV700):

EVs will never come out on top in pure excel sheet calculations, exceptions being if your yearly run is taxi like mileage - thats just the fact.

However, what I can tell you after using my EV for more than an year is - there is no beating an EV as a city beater car on below points:

• extremely comfortable ride - no vibrations, no gear changes, multi level regens etc. I can drive for hours at a stretch in Bangalore traffic with way lesser stress than in an ICE.
  • absolute dead silent cabin
  • performance and driveability you get from those crazy torque figures+sports mode when in mood for fun.
  • frequent short distance travels? No problem whatsoever
  • have to wait for an hour or longer for your kid to finish her music classes or family finishes their shopping etc? No problem, do it in the comfort of AC cabin without worrying about your engine idling for long and without the sound of those fans turning on and off constantly!
  • multiple drivers using the car? no problem with engines taking a beating, clutch wear, brake wear etc
  • dead cheap monthly fuel bills
  • cheap service/repair costs

Your calculations are a never ending discussions on every online forum and trust me there is no end to it - been there done that

My suggestion - look beyond the per km calculations and evaluate your need for an EV in terms of what they bring to the table and if you need them, you will have your answer in no time. All the best

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Driven by india