News

Does buying a used Volvo V90 Cross Country for 40 lakh make sense

The alternatives are the BMW 6 series GT or the newly launched Toyota Camry.

BHPian bhargav_dave recently shared this with other enthusiasts:

I found a certified Volvo V90 CC at a local dealer at around 40 lacs asking price. It has done 25k KMs and is in a pretty good shape.

I love this car but not sure what is the reliability record and would it make sense to buy it now? The alternatives are BMW 6 Series GT or the new Camry.

Here's what BHPian 14000rpm replied:

Volvos are like cockroaches. They will survive a very long time. 25k km is a very low mileage.

Techwise the BMW may be better since Volvo is sort of dated by now. But this very dated-ness means it is robust and will work. For the most part. If the in-car tech is important, it is the BMW.

I don't have opinions on the just-launched Camry.

Here's what BHPian Sensible_Speed replied:

You are right to be worried about the reliability record. Volvos of yore used to be the most reliable things on the road. But, under the new Geely ownership, they have taken a plunge into the freezing arctic waters with longevity.

Luckily, the reliability is only poor on the electrical front and the powertrain should be relatively trouble-free. The V90 Cross-country is a definite future classic as Volvo is moving away from the estate body style entirely. It's the last of its kind and worth a good look.

Also, remember, the engine is diesel, so any regulatory limits will have to be dealt with as they come.

One last thing to note, Volvo's touchscreen has been a common point of failure across all models. Do check yours thoroughly if you buy one because the aircon controls are embedded in it. I'd happily direct you to one over the 6GT or Camry any day. Happy motoring!

Here's what BHPian MileCruncher replied:

Which year is this? I saw a Oct 2017 model here in Mumbai for 32 lacs negotiable. I too love the car and it is a sure a modern classic. Plus 480 Nm of torque, its a hot wagon even by today's standards.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Redlining the Indian Scene