News
GTO recently shared this with other enthusiasts:
• It’s a compact car but the entire package feels very premium. I love the cabin, the great sound system, the long list of features, the stylish gear lever, the mature suspension, and the top safety by Tata. This is not an economy car or a budget car by any angle. It feels like and is a properly premium compact car. Within the first kilometre itself, you will appreciate the feeling of solidity and sturdy build. It drives like a European car.
• Just so happy that Tata dumped the AMT and got this dual-clutch automatic. Automatics are the choice of transmission today in the 15 lakh and above segments and Tata’s really come well equipped to offer buyers a very competent package. This DCA is level above that jerky AMT.
• At the same time, I am quite concerned about the dual-clutch automatics that are being launched by Tata, Hyundai and Kia. Primarily because dual-clutch ATs don’t have a good track record of reliability in our country. You will remember Ford, Skoda, and VW horror stories. All of them have struggled with long-term reliability and now with dual-clutch automatics going mainstream, I sure hope that the reliability is sorted. Whatever happens, be sure to take that Extended Warranty.
• I quite like the dark maroon theme of the interiors which feels like it’s clearly inspired by some luxury car brand. I remember seeing it in some high-end car but looks fantastic anyway. So happy to see Tata experimenting with interior colours like this. The execution is super. The only thing is that our test car also has a bright exterior. So, I’m not sure this interior colour combination goes well with this exterior. I would love this maroon interior with a white or black exterior or even a silver colour car.
• Really love how the controls like the hazard lights or the lock unlock buttons on the centre fascia are touch-sensitive. So Classy.
• As someone who always heads out for morning drives with coffee, I’m surprised that there are no cupholders in this car! I had to do some jugaad where I flipped open the driver armrest and I’m using that storage area to place my coffee mug.
• Fantastic sound system with a tight bass. The sound system is well integrated with the car. The last car I drove just before the Curvv was the Thar Roxx and I can tell you that the sound system in the Mahindra was quite ordinary compared to what Tata has given you in the Curvv.
• With my laid-back driving position, I must say that the rear legroom is quite restricted. And 6-footers will feel that the driver’s seat doesn’t slide far back. Tata seems to have restricted the fore and aft movement of the front seats just to preserve some rear legroom.
• Happy to update that this is the first car I drove with the ADAS ON. And frankly, I didn’t find it to be overly intrusive or annoying. It didn’t suddenly break when I didn’t expect it to. Pleasantly surprised at the soft ADAS implementation which actually assists your driving and isn’t like this strict grandmother controlling things from the back seat.
• This Tata diesel is really known to be a workhorse of an engine. It has good torque and good efficiency and if you can work the accelerator, you can make quick progress. It’s a fantastic diesel motor. If you are anyone with very high running, this diesel engine is definitely worth considering.
• At crawling speeds and especially when taking my foot off the accelerator, there was a strange, rattly sound coming from the drivetrain area. Not cool.
• The first and second gear are obviously short, but it’s also important to understand that the throttle is quite sharp. So, to make it a smooth driving experience at low speeds, not just in terms of acceleration, but also deceleration, you have to gently modulate the throttle to maintain a smooth drive.
• Not all automatics show you this, but I appreciate that the instrument cluster displays D2, D3 or D4 to show me what gear I’m currently in. I appreciate this information as an enthusiast.
• You get paddle shifters and they work quite well. I like the design and feel of the paddle shifters. You will need them when you suddenly want to overtake as the downshift response time of the gearbox to the accelerator is quite slow. So, you will find yourself using paddle shifters when you’re driving enthusiastically or when you want to suddenly overtake on the highway.
• It’s quite silly that the car starts in Sport mode always. That’s not cool. I mean we normally love Sport mode, but the thing is that the sport makes the car too jerky in the city. So, anyone would prefer if the car started in city mode. Stick to eco or city mode only when driving to work and at regular speeds.
• The diesel AT is so darn smooth in ECO and City modes. This is a giant leap ahead of the AMT that was being offered earlier. And I’m happy to see that the Koreans finally have a diesel automatic competitor in the segment. Pat on the back of Tata for the same.
• I must also add that I haven’t heard too many BS6 exhaust-related complaints on Tata cars, especially this engine as much as I do from some other brands. As mentioned in the official review,
Quote from BHPian Omkar:
Tata has managed to meet the BS6 phase 2 emission norms without having to add a DPF. They’ve managed to curb the emissions with passive SCR and a lean NOx trap. Hence, you don’t need to worry about adding diesel exhaust fluid or Active DPF regeneration.
• So, if you’re a high mileage driver with a lot of running, the Tata diesel AT should definitely be on your consideration list.
• Ride quality is good for the most part. Just one downer is as Omkar pointed out on really sharp bumps or potholes, you feel that firm thud coming through thanks to the 18-inch rims. Of course, it’s not like this thing has a soft suspension, but ride quality is quite good and mature for the most part. It’s just that these large rims that bring sharpness into the cabin on really bad potholes. The lower variant with smaller rims will do better.
• Rock solid stability at high speeds on the expressway. It really has got that big car feel and manners.
• What’s a Tata car without niggles? One morning I started the car and it showed me all kinds of errors. The steering was rock-hard and there was no assistance. The car was practically undrivable. Guess what solved it? The good old Windows restart. Got out, locked the car, waited for some time, got back in and we’re back in business.
Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.