News

Why I want to sell my 1 lakh km done but trusted Royal Enfield

One of the things that I like about my Thunderbird 350 is that it returns a superb fuel efficiency of 40+ km/l on highways.

BHPian SJD@NewDelhi recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

Making up my mind to exchange/sell my trusted 2016 RE Thunderbird 350 and get this new boy in town.

Made a few dealer inquiries, the principal among which was Okhla Indl Ph II, Delhi Bajaj dealer. They stated that the on-road for the NS400 will work out at INR 2,26,400/- and test rides will be available from next week around the 15th.

Few pointers tipping the scales on why I am deciding to let go of the RE TB350 which had been my trusted steed since 2016 and clocked nearly a lac km on the odo (3 NorthEast trips of Delhi-Assam, Ladakh, Spiti, remote border areas of UK and HP, Nepal, Arunachal, etc):

• Age is catching up. It rumbles on at low speeds of 50-60kmph but vibrates and doesn't seem as stable upwards of 70kmph.
  • Related to point 1, braking is compromised at speeds above 60kmph esp. with a pillion (my better half) on board where it is skidding a lot on quick braking situations even when the hand and foot brakes are applied simultaneously and judiciously. My years of riding experience on this TB comes in useful while handling and getting the bike and pillion safe out of such situations.
  • Air dispersing from the tyres when ridden with a pillion and luggage even though tyres are fairly new, making it unfeasible for long-range or night time riding.

What I am going to miss about the TB350:

• Long-range fuel coverage of 650kms+ approx with a massive 18L tank.
  • Superb mileage of 40kmpl+ on highways.
  • Planted nature and superior ride comfort at reasonable speeds.

Some pics from memory lane:

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Seat belts save lives