News

Which upcoming cars in 2025 are you most excited about

Late last year, Tata Motors announced at it plans to bring back one of its legendary models - the Sierra.

BHPian Aditya recently shared this with other enthusiasts:

Last year, we had a thread on the cars that were likely to be launched in the year that excited us the most. Here is the 2025 edition of the same.

Here's my list.

BYD Sealion 7

With 523 BHP & 690 Nm on tap it was one EV that I wanted to get my hands on. It was displayed at the Auto Expo in January and in February, at the media drive, I got to experience it. The car didn't disappoint. With a price tag of under 60 lakhs, this is one of the best EVs money can buy.

VW Golf GTI

Earlier this week, VW announced that it will be bringing the Golf GTI to India in the second quarter of 2025. Being a CBU, I know it's not going to be cheap, but who won't be excited by the thought of a hot hatch that puts out more than 260 BHP & 370 Nm? The Golf GTI is nothing short of an icon.

Tata Sierra

Late last year, Tata Motors announced at it plans to bring back one of its legendary models - the Sierra. The company then went on to show the car at the 2025 Auto Expo. Those of us who have been fans of the old Sierra, are waiting for the car to hit the roads. I know, it's not got the 3-door configuration of the old car, but still, I like what I see.

Aston Martin Vanquish

Aston Martin will launch the Mark 3 Vanquish in India on March 22. I know it will be super expensive and irrelevant to most of us, but alongside the Porsche 911 and the Range Rover, it's my favourite car in the world. Obviously, I am excited that it is coming to India!

So, what upcoming cars (in 2025) are you most excited about?

Here's what BHPian arnav17 replied:

Tata:
Am eagerly waiting for the Sierra EV & and ICE , along with the Harrier EV. This should inspire the other carmakers to venture into larger EV's. (eg. XUV700 EV).

Maruti Suzuki E-Vitara:

Waiting to see how the market will take it. Checked it out at a mall recently, left a good impression overall. Quality of materials used was also okay.

Tesla:
Apart from the other facelifts and mid life refurbishments,really excited to see Tesla coming to India. There are mixed opinions on quality and pricing but hoping for the positive.

(Image credits to respective owners)

Here's what BHPian mgastor2022grey replied:

1) Skoda Octavia Diesel and VRS:

I am eagerly waiting for these cars to hit the Indian shores. Even though they are CBU and priced insanely, I would love for these to hit the pre-loved market to take one in a bargain.

2) Skoda Kodiaq VRS:

One more practical yet fun cars under 1 crore. 260 HP on a family SUV is no joke, and I really wish this car to create a niche segment, just like the Octavia VRS 230/245 did.

3) Vinfast VF6/VF7/VF9:

These are EVs I'd genuinely want India to drive, after the BYDs. Advanced, sophisticated and truly close to an ICE experience sans the sound.

Hoping 2025 to be one heck of a year for us car freaks!

Here's what BHPian bijims replied:

I am not excited about any specific vehicle as such but waiting to see what this year holds in store in terms of EVs for the Indian market, Maruti, Hyundai, Kia, Mahindra, Tata, MG, BYD and even Tesla seem to have thrown their hat into the mix. Can't wait to see what these launches offer!

Here's what BHPian Sebring replied:

This is the year I will finally trade in my 2017 Nexon for a Tata Sierra Diesel Auto

Here's what BHPian Turbanator replied:

They say it's pretty close to S/T. Dealers have a non-official booking list, although Porsche is expected to open the bookings formally in the 3rd Qtr.

This is something that can fit in any garage as a forever car.

Here's what BHPian 100Kmphormore replied:

Certainly the BYD Sealion. This is one EV that I would love to test drive after having experienced the Kia EV6 (after having conveniently forgotten the Seal, thanks to our roads). 523 hp in a SUV sounds brutal and I am all up for it.

The Vanquish - solely as a lovely movie memory coming to life. Cleese introducing the car to Brosnan in Die Another Day as "Aston calls it the Vanquish, we call it the Vanish!" is my most favourite moment with the car.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Live To Drive