News

Recent drive from Ahmedabad to Mumbai: My observations on the route

Joined usual NH 48 from Bharuch. Journey was uneventful till Maharashtra border. Though, I would say that the quality has certainly deteriorated.

BHPian Satkaj recently shared this with other enthusiasts:

Left Ahmedabad by 5.30am . Reached Vile Parle around 3.00 pm.

Summary: Ahmedabad- Vadodara Express way. Fantastic as usual except I always miss 3rd lane.

Vadodara- Bharuch Express way- 1st 50% section is terrible. I would never ever pass this and reject it to be rebuilt. I reduced my speed from 120 to 90/100 as I genuinely believe it’s a death trap. Extremely uneven surface filled with Craters where I could see tires marks all over the place. This was clear sign of driver loosing control. At many places they have levelled with Tar coating but there are still places which are yet to be filled. How on earth this has been passed as an Express way? I would love to take Mr. Gadkari in my car on this highway for quality check. Sorry but as much as I value my family , I feel for the ones who are going to suffer on this highway and loose their loved ones. BTW , it’s a brand new road and they are yet to start charging toll. So guys please don’t bash me but I feel disgusted. If these are the standards followed where they had full potential to show India’s engineering firms craftsmanship to the world.

Rest 50% might have been built by some other contractor and had better finish. But certainly not close to any international standards. As many have a mindset ‘Chalta Hai , to fir aaur accha kyu banana hai’. Unfortunately now I have started believing that , except 8 lanes , bigger roads etc etc we are extremely short on engineering commitments. Design and build Quality of petrol stations, wash rooms, rest areas, Food halls what ever which is now built is much below standards.

Joined usual NH 48 from Bharuch. Journey was uneventful till Maharashtra border. Though, I would say that the quality has certainly deteriorated.

I just have a simple question. What standards are being followed to make concrete EXPRESS WAYS ?We really had a funny situation where my daughter was fast a sleep on back seat. She is in her 20’s and has traveled on this road many times with us. Asked , Papa, when will they complete this work so that we can travel comfortably? At this point , We were near Dahanu hill section where concretisation work has already been completed for all 3 lane’s . When I told here that , beta this is new road and she just could not believe.Brand new road was chipping all over. I wouldn’t go in to details but the road is certainly a study material for any engineer of things not to do.

Approach to fountain bridge is again a shameful experience.

Sorry for my bashing but, I have been driving on this highway past 30+ years and have seen this transforming always for better. From 2 single lane( with once highest 26 accidents up to Vapi in late 80’s ) to 2 lanes to 3 lanes and have lovely memories of many such journeys. Today decision was taken on our dinner table that we are not driving or ‘Camel riding’ on this road unless it’s necessary. It’s either flight or VANDE BHARAT.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Power to the people