News

My stage-1 tuned Venue N-line; 30,000 km of ownership in just 1 year

The transition to petrol after 15 years of driving a diesel car wasn't easy at all.

BHPian Ashdel recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

My N Line completed 30,000 kms in 375 days. Boy o Boy – what a journey it was in the last 1 year.

Coming from strong 1.5 decades of driving National Diesel Engines of India in Swift and Brezza – Obsessed with Turbo kick, and unbelievable oil burner mileage – This transition to Petrol wasn’t easy at all.

Why Petrol after 15 years of Diesel with daily 100km + running in NCR?

1. In the recent past 2 years my driving has increased multiple folds – to be precise around 120 km daily in this maddening NCR traffic. And my left knee started to show signs of ageing (by the way I am also a strict morning walker – do a 10 km daily walk)
  2. With the BS6 kicking in and the kind of travelling I do – I get sleepless nights just with the fear of DPF issues and getting either stuck in the middle of the road or making multiple round trips to ASS.
  3. Hence the choice was clear for Petrol fully Automatic car. But not the Maruti 1990’s AMT’s.
  4. Why Venue N Line DCT ? – It wasn’t my choice actually – I went to inquire about 1.0 Turbo DCT only – as Creta’s 1.4 turbos were discontinued and 1.5 turbo was in the pipeline – however in all dealerships across NCR – there wasn’t even a single stock available and I needed the car like now – there were a couple of N Lines available with multiple Gurgaon and Delhi dealerships.
  5. Did some more research and I am somewhat convinced that those extra couple of lacs for this N Line may be worth it. Booking is done – delivery is taken the very next day.
  6. To be very honest – coming from 20 years of manual and Diesel engines – I wasn’t able to cope up or rather didn’t know how to drive a petrol turbo automatic. It took me a couple of months to get used to this – with my knee saying “Thank You” with every ride.
  7. In the last 1 year completed trips to Mount Abu, Udaipur, Kasauli, Aurangabad, Pune, Indore, Badrinath and unlimited trips to Haridwar + Jaipur.
  8. 1 thing that pinches me is the mileage – since I was badly used to seeing 20 km/l figures in my DDiS motors – but this one on average is around 10 only – however no regrets – you win some – you lose some.

Moreover, this last 1 year of driving a petrol car has changed my viewpoint of “Kitna Deti Hai” – I am in my early 40s and probably it’s the time to spend on sheer driving pleasure rather than looking at the fuel gauge. So I am now a Peadle to Metal types driver.

By the way – also got Stage 1 tuned from GT Tunerz (now making around 130 BHP) plus installed a Valvotronics exhaust system – it really enhanced my driving experience. Loving it !!!

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Seat belts save lives