News

My pre-owned Honda City diesel: 1,95,000km update

We've been deferring our new car purchase as the replacement for City due to some reasons, but I finally put my foot down and told my folks to sell it. Decided to switch to an EV this time as most of our usage will be in city limits and occasionally on highways

BHPian car_guy1998 recently shared this with other enthusiasts:

Its been a long time since I've updated this thread.

The last post was in June 2024 when the odo was at 185k Kms and today, the car has run close to 195k Kms (1,94,500 Kms or something) and out of 195k Kms, we have driven around 160k Kms in almost 8 years of ownership.

Got the car serviced when the odometer was at 186k Kms in the month of July and got the clutch plates replaced as it had run more than a lakh Kms along with engine timing kit, which resulted in oil leakage.

All these were done at Honda ASC itself as we don't trust the FNGs near our house and also, the Honda ASC is barely 5 Kms from home.

And, the bill costed close to a lac.

When I left home again in Aug 2024, the odo was at 1,88,684 Kms and since then, it has run just 6000 Kms due to nearly zero usage and mom, these days, drives it on occasions, where she has to drive herself without relying upon our chauffeur while dad uses it for short distances where he can't take our Hycross. Otherwise, he prefers to drive the Hycross over the City while mom prefers to be chauffeured in Hycross whenever she doesn't feel like driving the City or whenever the chauffeur is available.

And, now, our City is suffering from AC cooling issues. My cousin, who took this car for 70 Kms, told me the same. The same cousin also owned the City iDTEC until recently, to which he sold it off on Gudi Padwa day as he is switching to EV soon though his was a 2017 facelift ZX iDTEC. He ran it for 45k Kms in 2 years of ownership and sold it at the loss of Rs.1.6L (he bought it for Rs.8.4L in Jan 2023) and the odo at the time of selling was 116k Kms.

He told me that even after the car has run close to 2L Kms on the odo, still drives well without any issues.

After driving mine, he confessed that he is missing his City very badly.

Recently, had put our City for sale in OLX for Rs.4.5L and getting offers in the tune of Rs.3.5-3.75L, which I felt fair considering that this car is almost 11 year old but have to wait for sometime, atleast till June or July.

We've been deferring our new car purchase as the replacement for City due to some reasons, but I finally put my foot down and told my folks to get rid of it since problems will keep on cropping up considering that its a 11 year old car.

Also, being a Diesel car, its better to get rid of it now as we know how the future for Diesel cars will be and decided this car will be our last Diesel car at home and we no longer be purchasing Diesel cars.

Decided to switch to an EV this time as most of our usage will be in city limits and occasionally on highways.

Even a Petrol AT would suffice considering our less usage.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Got BHP?