News

Bike under 5.5 lakh with fewer vibrations & easy 3-digit cruising speed

The motorcycle could be of any type or from any brand but it should return a minimum fuel efficiency of 25-30 km/l in the city.

BHPian V.Max recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

Hello Team-BHP folks!

Here's my deal - I've been suffering chronically from this disease called Bike-choosophobia for a good 3 years now. I currently own a BS 3 Yamaha FZ-S since 2014 and have been looking for an upgrade since 2021. Unable to make up my mind and looking for guidance from you folks!

First my requirements:

1. MUST BE A "non-vibrating" multi-cylinder vehicle OR a "non-vibrating" single which can cruise at 100-140 with ease.
  2. Has to give a minimum of 25-30 kmpl in city conditions (I like to hyper mile and go for occasional speed bursts) and have sufficient ground clearance.
  3. Preferably lightweight, say around 165-190 kilos
  4. Long rides will be done say once a month.
  5. Not brand conscious (But I don't want any bikes originating outside our country's northern borders).
  6. Budget under 5.5 lakhs and not a used bike.
  7. Can be any type of bike, say an ADV/Faired bike/Cruiser. Anything!

Please share your views on firstly whether my expectations are preposterous or fair and then suggest a good alternative.

Here's what BHPian VW2010 had to say about the matter:

Some combinations may work, but not all the requirements will be satisfied.

• 1 - Single-cylinder cruising at 100-140 with ease without vibration - Does not exist.
  • 2 - 25-35kmpl on multi-cylinder will be difficult to manage in the city. A single cylinder may be able to get close to 25
  • 3 - There are some good options at that weight range but many won't satisfy the above 2 or point 6 (KTM and similar 350-400cc)
  • 6 - New under 5.5 leaves you with certain good bikes in the 400/500cc segment which won't satisfy 1, 2 or even 3

You may have to get the Xpulse and upgrade the bore to get to 120kmph at ease. This will satisfy all the requirements.

What you are asking for in my humble opinion is a custom bike requirement that cannot be purchased off the shelf. Based on a recent purchase by a friend of mine, the BMW 850 or the Street Triple RS satisfies all points but fails miserably on point 6. You should check the RS457 as it is a better bike that satisfies most of your requirements and since you are not worried about the type of bike.

NX500 at an exorbitant cost is also an option but usually, that is reserved for Honda lovers.

Here's what BHPian Ratan Prabhu had to say about the matter:

Very reluctantly, I can vote for Ninja 300 to fit most of your requirements. Will cost around 4.50L on road.

I have ridden it extensively when my friend used to have one and can surely say it has zero vibrations at 120 kmph on 6th gear. Will easily give 22-23 kmpl in the city and 27-28 kmpl on highways.

It is a comfortable sports tourer.

Cons : Decade old bike, low ground clearance.

Aprilia RS 457 would cost 5.30-5.50L on road and still is a better value-for-money product than the Ninja but fuel efficiency has been inconsistent in various reviews.

Bit more aggressive riding position compared to Ninja 300 but not too aggressive.

As mentioned above, no single cyl bike can cruise without vibration above 110-120 kmph, no twin cyl bike will get you a "minimum 25-30 kmpl" mileage.

Ninja 300 and RS 457 come close as they are entry-level twin cyl bikes. They will be a big upgrade over your 10-year-old BS3 FZ. There are many other bikes at ~3L price range which can cruise at 100kmph and save you 2-2.5 lacs and still be a good upgrade over the FZ.

Here's what BHPian Geo_Ipe had to say about the matter:

May I ask why the indirect pun/poke at the Royal Enfield lineup? Long gone are the days when you needed to go to the gym regularly to start and ride the Enfields!

The Interceptor 650 is custom-built for you. Have you taken a test ride of one yet? Butter smooth 650 cc twin cylinder, capable of much more speeds than you have mentioned. Will give 25 kmpl mileage. Kerb weight may be over 200 kg, but no difficulty in managing that at crawling or highway speeds. Unless you decide to carry the motorcycle on your head, weight won't be an issue for the Interceptor. Fits well under your budget.

Please take a test ride and let us know how you feel.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Redlining the Indian Scene