News

My Lava Blue Skoda Kodiaq L&K: Delivery & online booking experience

Audi, BMW or Mercedes of the same size and equipment would have cost around 70 lacs. We didn't want to spend so much for a smaller car, a Q3 or a X1 for example.

BHPian KharbandaKartik recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

We got our new Kodiaq delivered to us around ten days back. Booked it online during a recent sale.

There was no plan of buying a new car till the second week of June this year, everything happened so quickly that I've still not absorbed this new purchase.

While booking the car there were two options, MY 23 with the model year 2023 and MY 23 with the model year 2024, I think the latter one would mean that the vehicle is assembled in 2024, assuming this we booked the second option. The existing Kodiaq only comes in the L&K trim, the colour options were white, black, grey, and blue, choosing the colour was an easy task for us and we locked in Lava Blue as our colour of choice.

On the delivery day

How did it happen :

We got our Kushaq delivered in August 2021, during one of the showroom visits, we saw the Octavia and the Kodiaq as well, and at that time we had a discussion about owning one of these someday.

In the second week of June, our 9-year-old Honda Jazz met with a small accident in the basement of our apartment building and had its airbags open. By the end of the same day, we decided that we'd be selling the Jazz and will be getting a new car, the only option that came to our mind was the Kodiaq. Got in touch with the nearest Škoda dealer and got the quotation but we didn't book the car yet.

Meanwhile, the jazz had to be towed to the nearest Honda dealer for repair work. The estimate was verbally given to us and we started the insurance formalities. The dealer assured us that we would have the repaired car delivered to us within 3 weeks.

Booking experience and delivery :

We thought of booking the car only once the downpayment was arranged, during this time, I had a feeling that this was too big of a car purchase for us, and when I did the maths, it made me even more confused, all this while my wife was sure about buying the car.

For anything Škoda, Brite is our go-to dealer, I've been dealing with them for the last 3 years now and they're one of the better ones. Just for the sake of being rational, we also asked Zedex for a quote, the quote was higher than Brite, and even if they had offered us a better deal, we would not have gone ahead with them.

Our salesperson Anil, got the test drive vehicle home, and my wife liked the car, Anil suggested that we book the car after a few days as an online sale was expected by the manufacturer itself and the on-road price would come down a little more. We made the online booking through Škoda's website and were given a VIN number on the landing page itself, shared the screenshot with the dealer and told him we didn't want the accessories worth 25K and we'll buy the insurance ourselves as it was coming out to be cheaper, the dealer was more than okay with it. The final price came out to be a little less than 43 lacs on the road.

The whole process was pretty simple, we were told that we would get the car within 3-4 weeks of booking, and we also gave our jazz in exchange to the same dealer and they gave us the best price for that too.

We were kept updated with all the necessary details all throughout and were informed about the car reaching the stockyard in advance. We decided that we would take the delivery on 18th July. Anil was informed that we would only sign the RTO documents after seeing the car in person and doing a PDI ourselves.

We reached the showroom at around 1:30 PM along with our parents, did a PDI, after ensuring everything was okay, signed the papers, gifted Anil a small token of thanks, and took off for the petrol pump at around 4:30 PM.

Reached home smoothly and did a Pooja ourselves.

Why a Kodiaq:

There's nothing like it in the segment. Audi, BMW, or Mercedes of the same size and equipment would have cost around 70 lacs. We didn't want to spend so much for a smaller car, a Q3 or a X1 for example. There are other options in a similar price bracket known for their bullet-proof reliability and road presence but they've never appealed to us for some reason.

Why not wait for the new model

According to what I know, the new Kodiaq is expected next year around this time, we didn't want to wait, the newer one would also be at least 10 lacs more than what we have paid.

What we have liked so far

• Looks
  • The attention to detail
  • Quality, fit, and finish
  • Throw of headlights
  • Gearbox-engine combo
  • Zero cost-cutting
  • Space and comfort
  • Canton audio
  • Adjustable lumbar support in seats
  • Usage of leather and soft-touch materials
  • Option to change the suspension firmness
  • Physical A/C buttons
  • Ambient lighting
  • Stability
  • Felt liner on doors
  • Heated and cooled seats
  • Memory function on the passenger seat as well
  • A large panoramic roof, adds to the ambience
  • Three-zone A/C

What could have been better

• Something for blind spots
  • Air care function has to be enabled each time the vehicle is started
  • A/C has to be put on the re-circulation mode after each start (I am not sure if I am missing something here)
  • Faster availability of spares & accessories (had to especially order the mud-flaps, no accessory is available with the dealer for Superb and Kodiaq)

My experience with the Kodiaq is limited and whatever I've shared is my initial impression of ownership, I'll keep sharing more as I rack up more miles.

E20 compatibility

The first screen you see once you enter the car

The mileage so far

Comfortable interior

Kodiaq and Kushaq

I've not been able to spend a lot of time with the car and hence don't have a lot of pictures to share. We have a short 600km trip coming up, I shall update more once I am back.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Power to the people