News

Worth buying a Mercedes C-Class demo car for 25 lakh less than retail?

The C220d is in the exact spec my friend is looking for.

BHPian mgastor2022grey recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

Hey guys, hope this finds you in good health.

My friend, who has recently decided to swap his Creta, is looking forward to buying a luxury car.

He has his eyes set on the Mercedes C-Class, but the C220D variant is touching 80 lakhs on-road, making it too pricey.

But, a 3500 km run demo car is being offered for Rs 54.5 lakhs. It is a black car with brown interiors, the exact spec my friend is looking for.

The car has a clean history and just one small scratch which the dealership is willing to fix. Also, the car has lots of swirl marks (can be fixed by detailing).

Should my friend proceed with this deal?

Need your views on this.

Here's what BHPian Karan_n8 had to say on the matter:

While this might be an unpopular opinion on the forum, I would vouch for it.

I've bought 3 luxury demo cars and never faced any issues whatsoever. The savings are very considerable in this specific case only if your friend is going to be the first owner. Machines are meant to last and take some abuse. Needless also to say someone TDing an 80 lakh car is not going to be extremely reckless. Save those 25 big ones!

Here's what BHPian Flyingdutchman had to say on the matter:

Thumb rule. If the said TD car is in Pristine condition (which is highly unlikely) It gets sold within a day or two. Many showroom people advise their friends or family to purchase it.

If something is sketchy with the car, they look for a scapegoat outside their circle to offload the car from their inventory. If they are offering you a car from another state which found no takers from its home state or showroom, there are reasons to be sceptical. And 6500 km for a TD vehicle is pretty substantial mileage and such premium Vehicles are shared between showrooms and cities. Hence I would suggest kindly looking for a certified pre-owned instead.

Here's what BHPian acedriver_9000 had to say on the matter:

Generally speaking, it's advisable to avoid demo vehicles because small and finer aspects like the smell of the leather, the feel of the interior, and minor rattles might be present. These may seem trivial on paper but can detract from the new car experience. However, in this case, the deal is too sweet to ignore. A 30% discount seems like a steal. Go for it.

Actually, I doubt that the stated 54.5L includes RTO charges as well, because I've never seen such a substantial discount on a demo car.

An off-topic suggestion, check out the out-going 5 & 6 series as well. Good discounts should be possible.

Here's what BHPian Thyag had to say on the matter:

How many people would have done things in that car?

Starting from the salespeople, the drivers and the whole people from the dealership would have handled it like a freebie. The main problem - we also don't know what all the original parts they have transferred from it to some other customer with issues. I have seen some mechanics do this thing without the knowledge of the management, just to get some tip of hundreds from customers.

A luxury demo vehicle will be no different, stay away & stay happy.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Got BHP?