News

A pre-owned convertible sports car for Rs. 75 lakhs

I want a 2-seat convertible with a 6-cylinder or a V8 engine.

BHPian rohan999 recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

I am finally entering the sports car territory and needed expert advise on the same. I am planning to go for a pre-owned option as my budget is around 75 lakhs (max 80). I have been on a search for many cars on sites like Big Boyz Toyz, and some local car dealers. Also I currently drive a Mercedes C-Class AMG which I am really happy with because it offers both luxury and a decent power for the price (245 BHP).

Expectations

• I love the sound of a V6 or a V8 engines (the crackles and pops), so I would prefer a car with one.
  • Practicality is something I can compromise on a little bit but wouldn't mind if I can drive the car around at least on a decent enough road freely without worrying.
  • I am a bachelor so even a 2 seater works for me.
  • I would absolutely love to own a convertible.
  • I would not prefer an SUV.

Options considered

2014 (registered 2015) Jaguar F-Type R (V6 convertible) (20k Kilometres)

This I saw at a local dealer. The price quoted was 70 lakhs which I think is pretty high for the age of the car.

2019 (registered 2020) Porsche 718 Cayman (5k Kilometres)

Quoted Price: 80 lakhs, base model with no special additions. This is my friend's car. I am not sure if this is a good price or not. The car looks absolutely great but the flat 4 engine is a bummer. But at the same time, it's barely 2 years old.

2015 BMW M4 Coupe (14k Kilometres)

Quoted Price: 64 lakhs. This is the same one on Big Boyz Toyz. I like this car but it doesn't look as sporty as the the previous two, but is much more practical (4 seats + ground clearance).

2015 Audi RS7 (7k Kilometres)

Quoted Price: 69 lakhs. This bad boy has a V8. This is the same one as on Big Boyz Toyz. I haven't seen it personally but I am not sure if this car ages well. It looks pretty good. Not sure what the practicality factor is on this one.

Cars that I really like personally

Jaguar F-Type (convertible V6/V8)

I really like the F-Type in general. Especially the sound and the drive. I am not sure if this is a standard feature now, but the active exhaust button is pretty cool when you want to show off.

Porsche 911 Carrera cabriolet

I was not able to find this one pre-owned. The ones that I found were really really high priced. But I really like this car.

Cars that I would not prefer

Ford Mustang

Mustang is a good car. Just that, I don't want to own one. No offense to the proud owners, its just a personal thing.

Would love to hear your thoughts on this.

Here's what GTO had to say on the matter:

You're definitely moving in the right direction.

- Porsches would be my top choice for their engineering, reliability & usability (especially in India). The Cayman or a used 911 (I'd prefer an older 911) are superb. Be open to the previous-gen Cayman S; will be significantly cheaper & has a sweeter 6-cylinder motor.

- Drive the M4. You'll go crazy. It is a phenomenal machine.

- Somehow, the F-Type never pulled the strings to my heart, but if you like it, test-drive it. Please be sure to test-drive all your shortlisted cars as much as you can. With these cars, how they "make you feel" is very, very important. As an example, I was warm towards the RWD S63 Coupe and would buy the cheaper, less exotic AWD E63 S over it any day.

- I hear you on the Mustang. It looks awesome & has a beautiful 8-cylinder engine, with everyday reliability. But the interior quality + dumb gearbox are turn-offs. I love it though and would buy one in a heartbeat.

Happy shopping!

Here's what BHPian Turbanator had to say on the matter:

Current generation Z4 will be my pick followed by the Boxster range from Porsche if you absolutely want a convertible. BMWs will be available cheaper in Pre-owned market over a Porsche.

A one year old, 1500 km, Gurgaon registered Z4 was sold for 70 lac last year. That was an exceptional low mileage case but you can get similar. Porsches will be little expensive but may bring you more smiles due to the handling and overall gear shifts.

If you are ok with a 4-door sedan, head to the nearest BMW dealership and book your M340i.

From the cars you have checked:

M4 - Avoid. That must be a BMW track car with multiple owners. Besides, the asking is too much. They have a 911 too in blue which was shown as sold last year on their website and has come up again.

F-Type - Suffers from very poor resales and are plagued with problems.

Your friend's Porsche will be my pick of all these cars. Due to certain import restrictions, you can add only few options on this range. But you won’t buy that car for leather or interiors, right ? If luxury and fun both are a must, then that’s not for you. Remember, options on Porsches are very expensive. You won’t get leather dashboard on a 911 unless somebody paid extra while configuring.

Here's what BHPian androdev had to say on the matter:

Your preference for "Convertible + two seater + great engine" is just perfect. Stick to it.

Z4, M convertible, etc.: Good choice but a bit understated for a young driver.

Porsche 911 cabriolet or Boxster (flat-6): You have to either increase your budget (911 cabriolet) or decrease your budget (Boxster flat-6). Perfect choice in India - good balance between 'bad-boy' and understated. Decent availability (relatively). I must warn you that you should not use Mercedes-AMG as a reference when you go shopping for Porsche. You should be open to give up such luxury and features.

Audi R8 spyder: Loud in every way if you prefer.

TT roadster: if you dig it.

Jaguar F-Type convertible: Don't haggle much on the price if your heart is set on it. +10% is no big deal in the big scheme of things. It's like you won't buy a Mustang if you get a killer deal (I hope).

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Live To Drive