News

Best automatic cars under 10 lakhs; Options apart from Tata & Honda

Grand i10, Ignis and Swift are excluded too, purely based on personal interest in looks.

BHPian DLC5005 recently shared this with other enthusiasts:

Hi Team,
I need some help in deciding a car for my uncle.

My uncle is planning to buy an automatic car, to be used by his wife and daughter. Since he is not much into automobiles, he has asked my help.

Below are the requirements:
1.Easy maintenance and decently built and good looking.
2. Has to be automatic, CVT preferred, if not AMT is also fine. (No iMT)
3. Budget 10L( +/- 1L onroad Bangalore)
4. Hyundai and Maruti is preferred.
5. Usage pattern : For small city/hometown(traffic is negligible), rural and paved village roads, highway trips(500 kms to and fro) once in 2 months.
6. Must haves : ABS, airbags, touchscreen, reverse camera, steering mounted controls, good mileage and hill hold assist.
7. Good to have: auto AC, sunroof, push button start etc.
8. Planning to keep the car for atleast next 10 years.

Currently shortlisted : Hyundai i20, exter and Maruti Fronx, Baleno.

Excluded:
1. Tata vehicles were the first choice, but as they were not satisfied with tata service quality earlier, planning to skip it.
2. Honda is skipped too, since they already have a WRV.
3. Grand i10,Ignis, swift are excluded, purely based on personal interest in looks.

So kindly share some inputs and which car will be worth the money and if any other worthy options.
This will help us in deciding the best possible option.

Here's what BHPian nova.19_exe replied:

I'd say go for the Fronx. You get all your requirements checked off the box, and you don't have to worry about AMT jerks and CVT belts going off.

It's a Torque Converter, the same one which you get in the VW Virtus, Mahindra XUV3XO, etc.

Plus, you also have the Maruti ASS advantage, which is really good from what I've heard. It also has pretty good mileage.

My second choice would be the Hyundai i20, though I'm not so sold on the ideas of CVTs. They're too boring for me, but that is subjective to each.

So, do check both of them out, take TDs for both, and then it's up to you!

Here's what BHPian TheGodfather replied:

Hi DLC5005,

I think your preference should be to get the right engine and gearbox combination.

i20 would be an easy option without much to worry about. It has more premium interior compared to Baleno and give a true automatic gearbox although AMTs these days are also very well calibrated.

I'd say the next gen Amaze, which is due this festive season, can also be looked at, even though you've excluded Honda.

If you want/need a turbo engine, in this lineup, only Fronx has it albeit at a higher budget. I think it's the only option coming with a torque converter gearbox.

Decision should be taken only after thorough test drives since the stats on paper might look one thing but feel completely different in reality.

Here's what BHPian MorpheusEro replied:

I bought Honda Amaze CVT S variant - on road - 10 lakhs in April 2024. I understand Honda is not an option for you. But I suggest you test drive the amaze and compare it with any other automatic car under 10 lakhs. Because I was converted after my wife forced me to test drive the Amaze when I had my eyes set on Fronx. It is just a no-nonsense car giving good mileage, ample space, peaceful ownership and easy driving. It is miles ahead of Fronx in terms of gearshifts. I have driven it for 7500 kms so far on both highways and within the city equally.

Here's what BHPian xway replied:

I was in the same boat six months back for my sister, she wanted an automatic, easy to drive, spacious from inside, easy to park and maneuver, auto ac, paddle shifters, cruise control, even a sun roof.

I think is this regard there is no other option than Hyundai Exter SX or Knight version

Advantages over others in this segment -

- 1.2 Kappa 4 cylinder reliable tested engine
- Smooth AMT with paddle shifters
- Auto AC
- Rear Camera
- Cruise control
- Good fuel economy of 12 - 14 in city and 18 on highways
- Very Roomy inside
- 6 Airbags, ABS, EBD, ESC, Hill Assist all safety features one can ask
- 8 inch touchscreen with wired android auto or apple carplay
- Even a Sunroof

The only thing missing is alloy wheels for which you can go for SX O.

Below 10 lacs having all this with a 4 cylinder engine, there does not seem to be any other option.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Live To Drive