News

Diesel cars with manual transmission under 10 lakh

Would be a tough choice between the mature Altroz, fun Sonet, funky XUV300 & Nexon Facelift.

BHPian John316_WRC recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

Diesel manual lovers are truly a dying breed. But think about it, if you drive 15,000 kms a year or more, nothing beats the prudent diesel engine. The main positives are the punchy mid-range and good economy.

As most of us are aware, today cars have become obnoxiously expensive. So here's a small list of cars which are Diesel, manuals and costing less than 10 lacs ex-showroom. (In no particular order)

Altroz XM+ Diesel (8.9L ex-show) and Altroz XT Diesel (9.4L ex-show)

I would simply advise you to skip the XM+ and go for the XT because 50,000 rupees gives you Cruise control, auto climate control, LED DRLs, fog lamps with cornering function, mood lighting, cooled glovebox, auto down driver window, smart key with start/stop button, vanity mirror, USB-C, antiglare IRVM, alarm system, reverse cam, voice command, 2 tweeters. This is probably the safest and most VFM car this side of 10 lacs. The car still looks great and has excellent European road manners.

XUV 3X0 MX2 Diesel (9.99L ex-show)

Bi-halogen projectors, LED Drls, 6 airbags, ESC, start/stop button, Adjustable ORVM, front armrest with storage, auto down driver mirror, rear AC vents, steering modes, 26cm infotainment with 4 speakers. In addition, this is the only car here with all 4 disc brakes. Keep in mind this is basically a car from a higher segment chopped to meet the 4-meter length rule. Most spacious cabin and only a true 3-seater back bench. The space in this car will put C-SUVs to shame. Boot space is improved with the facelift and is better now. Avoid if you always travel with more luggage and your MIL

Kia Sonet (9.80L ex-show)

6 airbags, ESC, hill assist, fixed armrest, Adjustable ORVM, rear AC vents, USB-C, front power window only. One major drawback will be the unstable body shell integrity, but the Kia/Hyundai diesel engine is probably the most refined out there. The car also looks good but the HTE is pretty bare-bones.

Bolero Neo N4 (9.90L ex-show)

This is on the list only because of the price. I wouldn't suggest this because it doesn't even get basic features. For just 9,000/- rupees more it makes the 3XO look extremely VFM keeping in mind the 3XO is also a capable car on bad roads and hilly terrain.

Misses:

Sadly the Nexon diesel starts at 11.1 L (ex-show) and couldn't be on this list. Similarly the Venue 1.5 S+ starts at 10.7 L and is skipped.

Suggestions:

The Altroz XT is all the car you'll ever need (under 10 lacs) with a feature list that ensures you won't regret the purchase years down the line. For SUV lovers the 3XO is the one to have. The Mahindra also makes more sense if you have to ferry 4 or more people in the car most of the time. Tata & Mahindra ASS is a hit/miss but the good thing is you will have to deal with them probably once a year during periodic service.

If I have missed out on any Diesel MT cars under 10 lacs, please list them out with suggestions.

Update: Just realised the Nexon has a diesel manual Smart+ variant launched at 9.99L. Neither the official brochure nor the website is clear on this model and the features it has. If someone has information on this, do share it for the benefit of all.

Here's what GTO had to say on the matter:

As a big fan of affordable fun-to-drive cars, I have to say that's a great list! Thanks for sharing. We have some truly fun diesel under 10 lakhs. Would be a tough choice between the mature Altroz, fun Sonet, funky XUV300 & Nexon Facelift.

These might be lower variants, yet they are offering a whole lot of cars for the money.

Here's what BHPian karan561 had to say on the matter:

The lack of Diesel Manual Fun cars is making people list out in this thread the "only" available Diesel Manuals and being tagged as fun.

Cars like the Figo 1.5 Diesel, and Polo GT Diesel were the real fun Diesel cars available on a budget not so long ago.

The reality is that there are no "Fun To drive" Diesel M/T's available < 10L.

We are responsible for this scenario, unfortunately.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Live To Drive