Team-BHP > What Car?

View Poll Results: What should be the Preferred Choice - Fortuner or an EV Atto 3?
Fortuner Petrol 4x2 AT 58 50.43%
Atto 3 57 49.57%
Voters: 115. You may not vote on this poll

Old 4th March 2024, 11:58   #1

In an Absolute Dilemma - Fortuner or an EV?!

Hey Mates,

I am an absolute car guy and own three cars currently:
1. 2019 Honda Civic ZX CVT
2. 2022 i20 NLine DCT
3. 2023 Audi Q5 Technology TFSI

We are currently two people driving in the house, Primarily me and my father with around a monthly running of 2000kms locally.

I recently sold off my 2021 Thar Diesel 4X4, which I drove for about 45k kms, and took it on an expedition to Zanskar - Leh where it broke down and instantaneously it made me decide to sell of the vehicle.

Now, we drove the BYD Atto 3, Fortuner, and the Ioniq 5.

The BYD seems to be an absolute value of money vehicle with around on road pricing as 36L approximately, the Ioniq being a luxury EV with an On road costing of around 47L, and Fortuner Petrol around 40L. These prices are on road, Delhi.

Now the dilemma is:
1. Although I have always loved the Fortuner for its road presence and its driving stance, I feel this might be the last opportunity to have my hands on the 2.7/2.8L engine (whether Petrol or Diesel) but is it worth spending 40L for the Petrol or 50L for the £4 variant?
2. Or I should just go in for the Atto 3, and cut down on my daily running costs and ease my pocket?

Looking in for some deep discussions!
aamishdhingra is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 4th March 2024, 12:17   #2

Re: In an Absolute Dilemma - Fortuner or an EV?!

Originally Posted by aamishdhingra View Post
I am an absolute car guy and own three cars currently:
1. 2019 Honda Civic ZX CVT
2. 2022 i20 NLine DCT
3. 2023 Audi Q5 Technology TFSI
Nice garage!

Between the Fortuner & BYD Atto 3, go for the Fortuner only if you need its tough build, GC, touring capability and 4x4 (since you mentioned a Zanskar expedition). Else, for regular driving, I don't like the Fortuner at all (noisy, heavy steering, bumpy ride quality). And even if you need a 4x4 SUV, how long can you wait? The next-gen Fortuner, Endeavour, Kodiaq are all lined up for launch in the coming years. Tucson AWD might be worth a test-drive.

Take another drive in the Ioniq 5. I like it more than the Atto 3 as a personal car. Since you have the budget and are open to BYD EVs, I'd also recommend waiting for the BYD Seal whose bookings have already opened. It's going to give you sportscar-like acceleration.

I recently sold off my 2021 Thar Diesel 4X4, which I drove for about 45k kms, and took it on an expedition to Zanskar - Leh where it broke down and instantaneously it made me decide to sell of the vehicle.
Don't sell off cars just because of one breakdown! Most new cars today suffer niggles of some kind or the other. Saying this because I see a German SUV and a dual-clutch AT in your garage .

Last edited by GTO : 4th March 2024 at 12:18.
GTO is offline   (29) Thanks
Old 4th March 2024, 15:27   #3

Nice garage!

Between the Fortuner & BYD Atto 3, go for the Fortuner only if you need its tough build, GC, touring capability and 4x4 (since you mentioned a Zanskar expedition). Else, for regular driving, I don't like the Fortuner at all (noisy, heavy steering, bumpy ride quality). And even if you need a 4x4 SUV, how long can you wait? The next-gen Fortuner, Endeavour, Kodiaq are all lined up for launch in the coming years. Tucson AWD might be worth a test-drive.

Take another drive in the Ioniq 5. I like it more than the Atto 3 as a personal car. Since you have the budget and are open to BYD EVs, I'd also recommend waiting for the BYD Seal whose bookings have already opened. It's going to give you sportscar-like acceleration.

Don't sell off cars just because of one breakdown! Most new cars today suffer niggles of some kind or the other. Saying this because I see a German SUV and a dual-clutch AT in your garage .

Thanks for your inputs GTO!

My consideration for a Fortuner only in its segment is because of the following parameters:

1. With the newer and refresher BS6 norms coming in effect in Delhi/NCR, the engine sizes are starting to get demoted.
2. I might not go in for a 4X4 Fortuner only because of the 10L rupee bump from the Petrol Version. The petrol 4x2 seems to be a more logical option, IMO.
3. Easy to maintain, with the German's already keeping me busy with maintenance, I just feel this is going to be a pleasure in terms of taking it anywhere and not caring much about the road/no road as well!
4. The possibility of having 07 on board, which is just a wee bit more logical since all other cars I've ever owned have been a 05 Seater.

Also, between the Ioniq 5 and the Atto 3, I reckon with you that the Ioniq 5 is a more spacious vehicle and being RWD, it's an absolute pleasure to own, however the main logic of going with an EV will be city drive and cutting the everyday costs. Hence the Atto 3, would look like an option with adequate space, and easier on the pocket as well.

Looking for some inputs!

aamishdhingra is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th March 2024, 16:59   #4

Have you considered the Hycross? Hycross is a good option for your use case which includes more city usage but the waiting period can be a problem.
manofinfinity is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 4th March 2024, 17:23   #5

Originally Posted by manofinfinity View Post
Have you considered the Hycross? Hycross is a good option for your use case which includes more city usage but the waiting period can be a problem.

Hi, I did think and also spoke to the people for Hycross, but the only variant which interests us is the Recliner one which is ZX.. They're selling it at a flat premium of above 3.5L which is absolutely bonkers and insane.
Old 4th March 2024, 18:25   #6

Also, between the Ioniq 5 and the Atto 3, I reckon with you that the Ioniq 5 is a more spacious vehicle and being RWD, it's an absolute pleasure to own, however the main logic of going with an EV will be city drive and cutting the everyday costs. Hence the Atto 3, would look like an option with adequate space, and easier on the pocket as well.

Looking for some inputs!

Optimising your running costs in relation to the Fortuner ? Well , even if you pick Ioniq 5 or any other EV, there will be a huge optimization of those costs. As an example, my Ioniq 5 has run 4000kms. Assuming efficiency of 10kmpl, that would be INR 40,000 on fuel costs. My electricity bills have not crossed inr 15,000.If it is in relation to Atto 3, the difference will be not really profound, but you get bigger car, longer range etc.
Old 4th March 2024, 18:49   #7
One

1. With the newer and refresher BS6 norms coming in effect in Delhi/NCR, the engine sizes are starting to get demoted.
2. I might not go in for a 4X4 Fortuner only because of the 10L rupee bump from the Petrol Version. The petrol 4x2 seems to be a more logical option, IMO.

4. The possibility of having 07 on board, which is just a wee bit more logical since all other cars I've ever owned have been a 05 Seater.

Few views:
1. Engine sizes are coming down but I think across the board, power-weight ratios are actually increasing. And if we include EVs, they elevate acceleration to a different level. A Fortuner does not really feel sprightly with that engine size nor does it have a growl of a big engine.

2. The price differential between petrol and diesel (4x2) is probably overriden during resale. In fact you might lose money with the petrol and gain notional money with diesel resale. So monetarily, Petrol really not be a good choice. Also it misses on a lot of things - don't think it comes with features like UV cut glasses and its driveability is nowhere as fun as a diesel. A 2.7 as a car has nothing over a 2.8 and this includes the price (not cost) of the car even if in NCR for 5-7 years.

4. 7 for those short trips with friends - yes and totally fun. Not the most comfortable choice for longer trips.

Last edited by One : 4th March 2024 at 18:52.
One is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th March 2024, 09:24   #8

The Ioniq 5 gets my vote. BYD does not have any sort of brand recall in India. EVs depreciate like mobile phones when a new version comes in and it is better to invest in an EV from a manufacturer with good brand recall in India. Fortuner petrol does not make sense anymore. The Hycross killed it. If you want a petrol Toyota, Hycross or Hyryder is the one to go for.
padmrajravi is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 5th March 2024, 11:18   #9

I would get the Ioniq 5, it has had so much acclaim globally for its design and tech. The Fortuner of course is the desi champion and can’t be discounted, but the Ioniq is in a different league.
Vikram9193 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th March 2024, 11:53   #10

I voted for Fortuner, if you want to keep the vehicle for its full life, i.e. 15 years, niggle free and be fully confident that it will not leave you stranded anywhere, ever then Fortuner is the right choice, plus a proper seven seater with abundance of luggage carrying capacity with RWD.

jimmyjagga is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 5th March 2024, 12:37   #11

To be honest, you shall decide based on your usage purely. If you're primarily going to use the car in city for 90% of its life, get an Ev as city shall have enough charging infra and you could charge it in your house too. You won't be even affected by the fuel / emission restrictions in NCR.

But if you want a car that could take you anywhere you want without thinking/planning anything in advance, be it hills or desert or pan India tour and you need better practicality with the money you spend, surely go for the fortuner as you've a good taste in your choices. The charging infra is yet to mature and going on long trip in an EV needs whole lot of research. All the best, safe rides
Old 5th March 2024, 13:30   #12

EV's are getting better day by day and the expenses for sure will come down based on your usage of 2000kms a month.

But for premium Electric cars, we are not sure how its going to be in case if you plan to sell it in 5 years. Even you used for 1 lakh kms and selling it for very low price will be a negative.

And if you start using EV's then surely you may not use ICE cars because of their feature rich ability, silent cabin etc.,

Toyota on the other hand always last long alone with good service quality plus a good resale value after 5 years. But doesn't have most of the features which the EV's have in it.

If Finance (Resale) is not a problem, then going for EV's was a good choice.
dmaheshkumar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th March 2024, 16:20   #13

My take would be with the BYD Atto 3 or, as GTO suggested, the Ioniq 5. Being a Delhiite myself, I feel that an electric SUV would be a better option (given our arbitrary 15-year rule and pollution norms). Apart from a premium feel, you can also reap the Delhi govt's subsidy. Do check out the "Switch Delhi" scheme.

Old 5th March 2024, 16:33   #14

N
Now the dilemma is:
1. Although I have always loved the Fortuner for its road presence and its driving stance, I feel this might be the last opportunity to have my hands on the 2.7/2.8L engine (whether Petrol or Diesel) but is it worth spending 40L for the Petrol or 50L for the £4 variant?
The logical answer to that question is always no. The current Fortuner is outdated (due for an update soon) and massively overpriced. If you need to ask if it is worth the money then it's not. If you are looking to own a diesel 4x4 BOF vehicle then either wait for the upcoming Endeavor or check out the Scorpio N 4x4.
2. Or I should just go in for the Atto 3, and cut down on my daily running costs and ease my pocket?
That's your personal decision. If you are looking to bring down your running costs then it makes complete sense. But don't expect it to fulfill your expedition needs like another Zanskar trip.
Bonus tip - Why not split your budget in two cars? Get a good EV for your daily running and a Jimny base model for your adventure trips?
Amrit@wheels is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th March 2024, 18:11   #15

I'd suggest you to check out the newly launched BYD Seal EV, with killer pricing it looks real VFM. Starts around 41 lakhs, I guess.

If you're not confident going with it, go for the Ioniq 5. It, in my opinion offers a more posh feeling as compared to the Atto 3. Fortuner doesn't make sense, and looking at your garage, a nice EV will be a better buy.

P.S Nice garage you've got there
Pythonista is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com