Team-BHP > What Car?

View Poll Results: Fast petrol BMW. Which would you pick?
M340i 31 29.81%
X3 M40i 26 25.00%
X5 40i X line 45 43.27%
Others 2 1.92%
Voters: 104. You may not vote on this poll

Old 2nd September 2023, 16:44   #1

Upgrading from an X1 | BMW M340i vs X3 M40i vs X5 40i

Hello all,

I have just sold my BMW X1 X drive 20d M Sport. Am hunting for another BMW as I love the brand and trust its quality and maintenance. I am debating between the M340i, X3 M40i or stretch myself to get the X5 40i. I want a fast petrol to complement my garage.

The X3 M40i seems best, size wise and upgrade to that great inline 6 with practicality of SUV style. By it’s pricey and X5 40i is 10 lac more. X3 M40i does not have the mild hybrid system which the other 2 have and hence milage is lower.

X5 40i Xline is 10 lac odd more but bigger, more space and has a larger boot. I drove it and liked it but is a tad big for a daily self driven car.

M340i seems value for money and I so want that B58 engine which is there in other 2 options too. It’s almost 20 lac cheaper than X3 M40i. Will I miss an SUV if I get this? I have a 530d already. And a Nexon EV max.

What would you choose? And what would your recommendation be?

Thanks in advance

Last edited by libranof1987 : 2nd September 2023 at 18:31. Reason: Paragraphing
XDriver is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2023, 18:44   #2

re: Upgrading from an X1 | BMW M340i vs X3 M40i vs X5 40i

Tough call man. X5 and M340i interiors are one generation ahead of X3 (large curved display). I don’t think one is better over the other but always pinches to pay top dollar for something that’s not the latest.

Mild hybrid tech is a needless liability for that marginal fuel economy gain - I don’t think it will be a big miss if you don’t have it.

The rest depends on your preference for the shape (sedan vs suv) and size (x3 vs x5)

I would probably say go for X5 - has more premium vibe and should be more comfortable. X3 M40i is too much money I feel given the prices of M340i and X5. Since you have 530D, not sure m340i would be a good option. X5 is a sensible option. X3 is not exactly a compact crossover like the X1 you are replacing. If you can lug around an X3, you can manage an X5 as well. The size won’t overwhelm you beyond the first month or so.

X5 will be less agile obviously compared to smaller X3 but you might appreciate the overall package of X5. In general, a higher segment car proves itself to be a better a buy in the long run as you spend more time with it.
androdev is online now   (27) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2023, 18:56   #3

Hey man, might recommend you to pick the X3 M40i, as it has the best of both worlds - owning an SUV and the driving dynamics of a sedan. I would have picked the X5 40i, but an M power BMW is always better than the normal one and you too agree, it's a tad larger that what you want. Also, the X3 M40i is at the end of production, meaning you will get a lot of discounts on the model to. I have always been a fan of the grey X3 M40i mainly due to its sexy shape and the lovely color, also the optional 19 inchers make the car look 'beastly'. You can also go for the M340i, but IMHO, that car will crape its belly in every bad road. But considering that you have 530D too, I would highly recommend you to switch to an SUV rather than another sedan due to sensibility reasons.

My friend had the same dilemma like you, upgrading from a X1 a couple weeks back, and he has now finally booked an AMG GLA, as he prefers small cars and not big ones, but yet needs practicality. Check out that post here: https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/luxur...sedan-suv.html (BMW X1 upgrade | Budget of 60-75L | Fun-to-drive Sedan or SUV?)

Hope this helps you!
mgastor2022grey is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2023, 18:58   #4

The sedan vs SUV is a personal choice. IMO - money no bar - X5 40i for sure.

Following that, I’d pick the X3 SUV body style over the M340i for its GC practicality and comfort of adaptive suspension - combines that explosive power with usability and peace of mind.

Please do check on discounts for the X3, if any before deciding. Perhaps if the X3 is sporting discounts, you might feel differently about the price to value proposition. I think I had heard there may be some deals going but I’m really not sure.
Axe77 is online now   (6) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2023, 19:32   #5

Originally Posted by XDriver View Post
I am debating between the M340i, X3 M40i or stretch myself to get the X5 40i. I want a fast petrol to complement my garage.

M340i seems value for money and I so want that B58 engine which is there in other 2 options too. It’s almost 20 lac cheaper than X3 M40i. Will I miss an SUV if I get this? I have a 530d already. And a Nexon EV max.

What are your exact needs, Just fast is not enough differentiator when you already have a 530-D as the others like the M340 will barely different in the real world. Yes, on paper the difference is too much and also in an ideal world but in a city or highways, I don't think you will feel very different. But, this is something I will decide after some extended drives, if possible back to back on your 530-D.

If you can extend your budget for an X5, it will be a meaningful upgrade. Though not as quick as the M340 or X3 M40, but it's fast and you can have multiple other practical benefits of an X5. I saw the X3-M40 a day before and was not impressed. Between an M340 and an x3 M40, I will pick an M340.

Originally Posted by androdev View Post
Tough call man. X5 and M340i interiors are one generation ahead of X3 (large curved display). I don’t think one is better over the other but always pinches to pay top dollar for something that’s not the latest.

X5 will be less agile obviously compared to smaller X3 but you might appreciate the overall package of X5. In general, a higher segment car proves itself to be a better a buy in the long run as you spend more time with it.
Well said

Last edited by Turbanator : 2nd September 2023 at 19:33.
Turbanator is online now   (11) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2023, 02:42   #6

Go for X5 40i.

Reasons -

1. You already have a fast sedan i.e. 530d.

2. The X5 40i is a lot more car than the X3 40i for just 10 lakhs more. X5 will give more social status, comfort and respect than X3.

Skip X3. Save money and buy the m340i or just spend 10 lakhs more to get the X5.

X3 M40i would be a nice buy if it is a few lakhs more expensive than the m340i i.e. 90 lakhs but at 1.02 cr, it is overpriced for what it offers.

Last edited by vattyboy : 3rd September 2023 at 02:46.
vattyboy is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2023, 07:31   #7

Eyes closed X5 40i. Pick up a M Performance Exhaust for ~5L more and it’ll sound like the Ride of the Valkyries scene from Apocalypse Now.

Consider remapping it later too, although I feel it’s plenty quick anyway.

Last edited by itwasntme : 3rd September 2023 at 07:35.
itwasntme is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2023, 09:06   #8

Go for the X5. Its a segment higher can offers a way better package than the X3.
Pythonista is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2023, 09:52   #9

As an owner of an M340i, my vote goes for X5 40i. It has everything & more!

Last edited by Axe77 : 4th September 2023 at 09:30. Reason: Caps & grammar. No lazy writing please. Do capitalise text where required. (“as” —> “As”). Thank you.
Comrade is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2023, 10:10   #10

Since you have a 530d already, rule out another sedan which is the M340i. You will miss having a somewhat SUV like feel you got from the X1.

The X3M40i is 87l ex showroom, while the X5 40i M sport is 1.06 ex showroom. That's about 19l difference. Add to that you may get some discount on the X3 as it doesn't seem to be exactly moving off the shelves, and it would be my pick. That is if you are looking for a more sporty drive with better handling.

If budget isn't a concern, then the X5 makes a better case in terms of comfort and being an all rounder overall. But if its more for the drive experience, Id say save the money.
Akshay1234 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2023, 10:55   #11

Re: Upgrading from an X1 | BMW M340i vs X3 M40i vs X5 40i

The new X5 looks deadly & feels deadly. Go for it. 10 - 12 lakhs is nothing in the larger scheme of things, when you are in the 1-crore segment already. It is vastly superior in terms of space, premium part quality, cabin feel etc. Get a car from the higher segment, it will keep you happier.
GTO is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2023, 10:57   #12

Not an easy choice. I drove the X5 45e for over 2000 Km in Switzerland and Italy this summer. While it was incredibly powerful and refined, it did feel much too heavy and cumbersome, especially on the Swiss mountain roads. I would prefer my X3 20d to it just because it is so much more agile. But someone told me that part of the problem is because of the heavy battery for the Plug In hybrid - and that the X5 40i would have been more nimble. And from a family perspective, the X3 is a little small, especially if you have tall family members.

So if I have 3-4 tallish family members, I would pick the X5 40i - if it were just a couple and a small kid, the X3 would do. But in any case, do negotiate for a larger discount on the X3, it should be at least ₹15 l less than the x5 for it to make sense.
Hayek is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2023, 11:13   #13

Voted for the X3, however make sure you drive all the options before finalizing, I have read that X3 M40i has a stiff ride, I value comfort on a vehicle and prefer something that rides well with balanced handling vis a vis a car that is very stiff but handles like its on rails.
abaliga is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2023, 12:07   #14

Originally Posted by XDriver View Post
X3 30i would be the ideal upgrade from the X1, but since it’s discontinued, you can test drive the X3 20d - See if its performance satisfies you. If not, you can consider the X5 40i. Reason being, one low slung sedan is sufficient in a garage given our poor road conditions.
X3 m40i is not worth the extra price in my opinion for what is basically a souped up X3, I’m sure you wont be able to extract the maximum performance due to horrid traffic conditions and perils around every corner. X5 40i gives you a balance between luxury and performance and also its 2 segments above X1.
Harsha89 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th September 2023, 09:21   #15

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
Eyes closed X5 40i. Pick up a M Performance Exhaust for ~5L more and it’ll sound like the Ride of the Valkyries scene from Apocalypse Now.
Some manna to help your decision making:
itwasntme is offline   (3) Thanks