Team-BHP > What Car?

Old 18th April 2023, 10:57   #16

Re: My last diesel car | Which one?

Congratulations on your spirit and hats off to the enthusiast in you!

In my limited experience, BMWs have proven to be more reliable than the rest of the Germans in the German Trio. This is quite important given that the age of the car in your case shall be a fairly relevant factor. I have spent 11 years with my x1 corporate edition and touch wood... she's given us little to no trouble over and beyond normal wear and tear.

One note of caution though, BMW diesels are not the most refined (attest in the 20d guise). They are a bit louder than the Audi 2.0 diesels (which later on develop a thirst for engine oil) and the Benz 220s (though my Benz has been largely trouble free, it has required more TLC than the BMW in term of small niggles, the cost of which add up). I strongly support going through the certified pre-owned route, which though expensive, sometimes comes with the dealer warranty. Not acquainted with the 3.0 diesel though, but that may require stretching your budget a far bit.

Jeep Compass has had a lot of reliability concerns, but I guess that depends on your luck.

I wish you thousands of kilometres of sheer driving pleasure, no matter which way you go.
redeff is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th April 2023, 08:43   #17

If you are looking at Fun to Drive then go for BMW 530D/ 320D/ 2015-16 Jetta HL AT in that order depending on budget. A simple remap on Jetta costing 25K will take it to 170 BHP. As for reliability I have a preowned Jetta bought at 40K done now crossing 1.1 lac. Car was very well maintained by previous owner and now me. No reliability issues touch wood except usual Jetta replacement of water pump Timing belt etc.
Old 19th April 2023, 08:48   #18

Originally Posted by Shreyfiesta View Post
I Pre-LCI 320d have problems with camshaft tensioners and chain, this is identifiable by a ringing noise from the engine. Post-2016 facelift cars comes with improved suspension and steering, but it's not possible to find such LCI cars in your budget. .
Could you please elaborate on Pre/ Post LCI. The model year, changes and how to identify etc. Does it apply to petrol F30 also?? Thanks
Old 19th April 2023, 10:50   #19

Originally Posted by MADMAX111 View Post
Could you please elaborate on Pre/ Post LCI. The model year, changes and how to identify etc. Does it apply to petrol F30 also?? Thanks
LCI is the BMW term for facelift. F30 3 Series received its first facelift in India sometime in early-2016. On the cosmetic side, this LCI version has LED headlamps standard on all trims, full LED taillamps, broader side air intakes in front apron etc. Besides these changes, post-2016 cars were pretty much identical to pre-LCI from outside. Inside the cabin, LCI version had centre console finished in glossy black and some extra chrome bits on air vents, window controls etc. If I remember correctly, the top-spec trims had ambient lighting too (not sure about this). Post-LCI 320d cars had B47 engine over the N47 engine. The B47 was a few kilos lighter than the N47 unit seen in pre-LCI diesel cars. LCI had vacuum-operated bypass valves, which allowed higher proportion of uncooled exhaust gas to be fed into the engine while it was warming up. Most importantly, BMW had changed the suspension to a 5-link format in LCI from 3-link.
Shreyfiesta is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th April 2023, 08:24   #20

Since I own all the options you’ve mentioned above, I can confidently suggest you what option you should actually go for. In my opinion, the Jetta/Octavia TDI makes far more sense than the 320d. To me both of these cars are anyday more fun than the 3 series I own and I’ve always found it far more fun than the Octavia 1.8 TSI, there’s no torque in those TSIs, whereas I’m a big fan of the torque the 2.0 TDI offers. These cars are insane after a simple tune. My Octavia is currently at a stage 2 setup, and is quicker than a stock Octavia VRS, and is unimaginably efficient. These cars are more efficient than 320d, I’m currently getting anywhere between 11-14 kmpl in the city and easily around 22-25 kmpl on the highway stretches on my Octavia TDI after the stage 2 setup. It’s anyday more practical than the 320d as well, it’s more spacious, has a bigger boot (Octavia has 590 litres, bigger than the 5 series). I can safely 2.0 TDI is the best 2.0 diesel around, with that amazing DQ250 gearbox/manual, whatever may be your choice, practical/frugal/efficient, crazy mod/tune potential, and both these cars look killer imho. A simple ECU remap alone can take these cars to 180-190hp and 400nm of torque, they’re a different breed after the remap, you should experience it yourself.

Jetta has better build quality, way better suspension than the Octavia translating to better ride quality. Wherein Octavia is a bit faster, and more fun to drive than the Jetta, is a fresher car from the inside and outside, and a lighter car too.

Or if you want the best diesel engine, in my opinion, which is far more enjoyable than any of the TSIs we have in offer here, go for the 530D man. Nothing comes close. It’s a car that makes a difference, which will show you the true grunt of the 3.0 in-line 6 diesel from Bavaria, which is a very scary car, very fast. Pulls better than a train throughout the rev range, silly triple digit speeds are nothing for that car, may it be any gen E60/F10/G30. You can still get a F10 530D for a very reasonable price in the market. I’d suggest search for that, get the right deal, drive home the best diesel ever, the 3.0 in-line 6 diesel, the 530D.

Last edited by dieselhead01 : 30th April 2023 at 08:31.
dieselhead01 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 9th May 2023, 02:14   #21

Originally Posted by Jangra View Post
I suddenly have an itch to own a diesel fun machine while I still can
Same boat! Please let me know how your search goes.

A relative of mine was looking to sell his well maintained, low milage, 5 year old Octavia TDI. After a short test drive on the highway, my wish to own a (dying breed) of well handling powerful diesel car reignited.

I too am looking to buy a car for about 15 lakhs + few if I find the right one. Few questions to the forum after reading this thread.
  1. How good is a BMW 3 series compared to Octavia TDI. How much of a factor is rear wheel drive in driving dynamics and "fun" part of experience?
  2. BMW 3 series is considered a better handler than 5 series, so isnt 320d a preferred enthusiast car?
  3. Which year models of BMW 3 or 5 series should I prefer (If there are options)

There was a news article about a proposal to ban diesel cars in all cities. What do you think about this?
After this news, Head says its nuts to buy a used expensive diesel right now, but the heart wants it even more!
Old 10th May 2023, 01:45   #22

Need a little help/advice.

I found a couple of 5 series that seem well maintained with full service history. Both seem reasonably priced.

Option1 - 520D, 2013 model, 2nd owner, ~40k mileage (asking ~14l)
Option2 - 525D, 2012 model, 2nd owner, ~60k mileage (asking ~14l)
Option3 - Octavia TDI, 2018 model, 1st owner, ~20k mileage (slightly higher priced)

I was actually looking for a 320D, but would 520D be a better option?
Would maintenance costs of 520D be very different from 320D?

Preemptively answering "Why not 530D?"
1. I dint find a good one yet.
2. I plan to use it as a daily driver so maybe 2.0 engine is better suited. Not sure yet, TD's will help make up my mind.

In case I decide on Option2 (3.0 engine), Is 525D similar to 530D? are there any major mechanical differences?

I am also little unsure how a 5 year old Octavia matches upto 10 year old BMW's. Maybe test drives will help.
Old 15th May 2023, 19:08   #23

Originally Posted by speedracer05 View Post
Need a little help/advice.

I found a couple of 5 series that seem well maintained with full service history. Both seem reasonably priced.

Option1 - 520D, 2013 model, 2nd owner, ~40k mileage (asking ~14l)
Option2 - 525D, 2012 model, 2nd owner, ~60k mileage (asking ~14l)
Option3 - Octavia TDI, 2018 model, 1st owner, ~20k mileage (slightly higher priced)

I was actually looking for a 320D, but would 520D be a better option?
Would maintenance costs of 520D be very different from 320D?

Preemptively answering "Why not 530D?"
1. I dint find a good one yet.
2. I plan to use it as a daily driver so maybe 2.0 engine is better suited. Not sure yet, TD's will help make up my mind.

In case I decide on Option2 (3.0 engine), Is 525D similar to 530D? are there any major mechanical differences?

I am also little unsure how a 5 year old Octavia matches upto 10 year old BMW's. Maybe test drives will help.
Hey, I think I could answer your question here from my personal experiences. I feel that the Octavia TDI is one of a kind. My Octavia/Jetta feels zestier than my 320d. It’s slightly slower than a stock 320d in terms of performance, and definitely quicker than a stock 520d in a straight line. I feel the Octavia has so much drama and aggression in the way it pulls, and one small remap can do wonders with this engine. My Octavia currently runs on a stage 2 remap, does about 14.7 seconds to the 1/4 mile, which was quicker than a stock Octavia VRS we tested on the same day with a dragy. The Octavia is any day more practical than a 320d, in terms of space (590 litres of boot space in Octavia), efficiency, and easier to maintain than a beamer.

But, this is only if you’re taking 2.0 diesels into consideration. As we own a 530d, which is tuned too, a stage 2, I can safely say, no diesel comes even close to a 530d, may it be any gen. There’s no comparison of any of the cars you’ve listed above with the 530d. Yes there is a huge difference between 525d and 530d in terms of performance. The 530d is much quicker than the 525d, even if both comes with similar engines, the 530d has 42hp and 110nm more, the way the 30d pulls is far different than a 25d. 525d is a brilliant car but the 530d is a different kind of experience and if you’re someone who can afford that, then look no more, no other diesel comes close. The 530d is efficient too, despite being a powerhouse. 0-100 in 6 second region for F10 and E60 stock, 5.5-5.7 seconds for the G30, even in stock shows how 530d is even comparable to the modern day turbo petrols, surpassing a lot of them. 530d tops the list, it is the best out of your options, as it is also a good daily driver.

So cut off option A and B, buy the Octavia I would say, 520d wouldn’t be much special to drive, 525d might be tempting but again you would feel disappointed when a 530d owner passes by, the Octavia would be apt, doing pretty damn well in its ballpark, and with a remap that 2.0 TDI is something else.

Best choice to go for (if you are willing to): take the risk and go for the best: 530d (F10 gen would be more than enough). These are examples that ‘FUN’ can also be had with ‘DIESELS’.

Last edited by dieselhead01 : 15th May 2023 at 19:17.
Old 16th May 2023, 03:37   #24

Originally Posted by dieselhead01 View Post
So cut off option A and B, buy the Octavia I would say
Yup just bought the 2018 octavia. Some observations from my short exploration -
  1. I have driven 330i in the past and test drove 325d last weekend. BMW steering and handling is phenomenal, remains a dream car.
  2. Pre 2014 5 series has horrible ground clearance, not usable in the city
  3. Octavia is a far more practical, fast, fun car. I am sure the huge boot will come in handy some day
Now time to put some miles on the car before government pulls a blanket ban on diesels

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com