Old 24th July 2013, 19:50   #2776

Re: Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars

Originally Posted by anjan_c2007 View Post
Posted by a FB friend. the post reads as under :

"My FIAT Millecento 1960 model. Original Factory Cushions, original Top head linings, original white door rubber beddings,magneti marelli starter, coil, delco, long horn,engine smooth as the ghost who walks.. — at Bibvewadi Grandfathers home."

Attachment 1111077

Attachment 1111078

Another family car picture from him:

Attachment 1111079

So olden, so golden, so original, it takes us back to those good old times!
I think it should be 1959 Millicento because 1960-1962 were the years of the Fiat select.There are many young fiat enthusiast who still dont believe the existence of this particular model
ajay99 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th July 2013, 11:43   #2777

Originally Posted by ajay99 View Post
I think it should be 1959 Millicento because 1960-1962 were the years of the Fiat select.There are many young fiat enthusiast who still dont believe the existence of this particular model
And then apart form badging was there other differences?? May be they got the earlier logo's imported and later had the FIAT1100 badging locally done.
manishalive is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th July 2013, 16:57   #2778

Originally Posted by manishalive View Post
And then apart form badging was there other differences?? May be they got the earlier logo's imported and later had the FIAT1100 badging locally done.
According to old timers few minor differences were there.Why dont the fiat experts do some research on it
Old 25th July 2013, 17:45   #2779

Originally Posted by manishalive View Post
According to old timers few minor differences were there.
I believe the differences were the Millecento badging front and rear (also seen Fiat 1100 front badging). Additionally the cable operated starter, L shaped bootlid lock, large cylindrical air cleaner (all carried over from the dukkar) could be possibilities. Additionally the 'FIAT' script badge around the ignition key. I cannot confirm, but this is what I've gathered. Cannot even recall from where I gathered, its just heresay Incidentally I recently bought one, single owner, but extremely rough (many would say completely not worth restoring). Many cosmetics missing, so not a good reference, but another piece in the puzzle.
karlosdeville is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th July 2013, 18:10   #2780

Please see this archival video from BARON collection
there is one royal vintage car at the place where the aircraft lands
http://karachi.s-asian.cam.ac.uk/arc...ms/baron1.html
I can't see the film, just a black spot. Any idea how to check it out?

Aren't the 4 posts OT

Here are some seasonal photos, not much has changed in basic infrastructure to prevent floods.

Cheers harit
Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-monsoon1.jpg  

Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-monsoon2.jpg  

Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-monsoon3.jpg  

harit is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 25th July 2013, 18:45   #2781

Originally Posted by harit View Post
Cheers harit
just click on the link. On the web page you see a round bluish spot on the left side.A video screen will come within a minute or so.
Old 25th July 2013, 20:03   #2782

Aren't the 4 posts OT

Here are some seasonal photos, not much has changed in basic infrastructure to prevent floods.

Cheers harit
The cars with their bonnets open are american and the location looks like Cenna Creek road,of early 1950.The same bridge was existing till late 1980.

Sorry, took a little longer than I thought. Here are some more.
One must be a proud owner, the other group actual users.
Traffic scenes, Fiats dominating. Two similar photos are not same, there may be a few seconds difference. I suspec this is Mohammad Ali Road and Pydhonie junction. The third pic somewhere in Kalbadevi?
Harit ji, kindly tell me the complete Regd no.of the Fiat car in the first photo.
Looks like 1965 Fiat, MRZ 31XX. Please disclose xx as our Amby 1965 was MRZ 3129.

Last edited by karlosdeville : 26th July 2013 at 09:32. Reason: Consecutive posts
Old 25th July 2013, 21:40   #2783

'came across this pic. randomly on the "hindu" (newspaper) website the other day, can't find the page again sorry!
It was an article about rallying in Southern India, with particular reference to the then Champion S. Karivardhan ('kari')...not sure if this is him though. Car appears to be a '65 1100 Delight, going by the grille.

Also check out the nice yank tanks in the background!

Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-kari.jpg

Last edited by Stanher : 25th July 2013 at 21:50.
Stanher is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 26th July 2013, 01:37   #2784

Originally Posted by Stanher View Post
'came across this pic. randomly on the "hindu" (newspaper) website the other day, can't find the page again sorry!
It was an article about rallying in Southern India, with particular reference to the then Champion S. Karivardhan ('kari')...not sure if this is him though. Car appears to be a '65 1100 Delight, going by the grille.

Also check out the nice yank tanks in the background!

Attachment 1116649
Thanks! The picture is that of the late G.K. Rajagopal

http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper...cle1464266.ece
travancore is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th July 2013, 22:19   #2785

About Stanher, he is smart to take such interest in economy cars because before you know it all Standard Heralds would have rusted away. So they become rare like the Badal
Harit, sorry meant to reply to this post of yours earlier but later on forgot!
Reg. Heralds rusting ,well, not all of them would have. Maybe the ones in your neck of the woods (so did Fiats, which were more common there! ) and other coastal areas but they did survive relatively well otherwise. Unofortunately many did still get scrapped then due to lack of demand! :(

Last edited by Stanher : 26th July 2013 at 22:21.
Old 28th July 2013, 14:02   #2786

Cars opposite the State Bank of Hyderabad, Abids.
Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-abids.jpg  

Vintage Khan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th July 2013, 07:17   #2787

I'm uploading picture of a Mercedes owned by Pandit Bhimsen Joshi. I saw this picture in the FB album of a person who I believe is close to movie industry and an ardent lover of music.

I have seen a few more pictures of other imminent personalities and their cars in this person's FB album. I'm not sure if I can post those pictures.

Jose
Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-mercedes-car-pandit-bhimsen-joshi-owned.jpg  

josejoseph is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 29th July 2013, 09:26   #2788

Originally Posted by Vintage Khan View Post
Cars opposite the State Bank of Hyderabad, Abids.
That's a lovely shot, thanks.

We can see a 1930s/40s Wolseley, two tone. A very similar car was posted by Wasif from his family albums (albeit Madras registered). I wonder, could they be the same?

Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-wolseley01.jpg
karlosdeville is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 5th August 2013, 22:23   #2789

That's Dev Anand. Can you identify the cars?

Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-dev_anand.jpg

Jose
josejoseph is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th August 2013, 23:56   #2790

Originally Posted by josejoseph View Post
That's Dev Anand. Can you identify the cars?
Triumph 1800 roadster, 1946-48.

Posted in another thread earlier:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/vintag...ml#post3171183
Stanher is offline   (1) Thanks