Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India

Old 13th December 2011, 22:08   #2041

re: Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Rafi had an Impala a status symbol at that time and a must have for all successful filmy persons.
Gogi phaaji, I still remember a rear portion photo of a Impala maybe owned by Jitendra or Shashikala, it had AIR CONDITIONED painted below rear no.plate just below actual no of the car .Car AC was a super super luxury in those days and even stars wanted to show off..
Old 14th December 2011, 10:44   #2042

Originally Posted by nanduchitnis View Post
.......have just reached page 12.

I dont have pictures to share right now as I dont have a scanner !

Rewind to 1954, my father was a Captain in the Indian Army and he purchased a hugh black car from a Gora outgoing Brit Officer in Dehradun for a pittance. I have a pic of that car but will scan it later.
If you would have reached page 29, you would have caught this - post.
Old 14th December 2011, 11:39   #2043

Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
Jeez OMG oh yes that is from my album !!

That kid is ME !!

Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
OMG !! That small kid is me and the big black car has my Mom and my Dad posing by the car !!!

Last edited by bblost : 14th December 2011 at 15:07. Reason: back 2 back posts. Thanks.
Old 14th December 2011, 12:27   #2044

Originally Posted by IQBAL VEERJI View Post
Gogi phaaji, ...........and even stars wanted to show off..
Many stars had Chevys, Sharmila Tagore, Waheeda Rehman, 1960 to 1965 were prominant. And yes, AC's were a rage, status symbol and a radio. Some also had record players suitable only for those small 45's. One song at a time.

Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
That was excellent Sir!!

This is another Lobby Card of a Bengali Movie. What is the name, who is the actress, and most important, which car could this be?

Cheers harit
Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-tbhp.jpg  

harit is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th December 2011, 15:27   #2045

Originally Posted by nanduchitnis View Post
Jeez OMG oh yes that is from my album !!

That kid is ME !!

OMG !! That small kid is me and the big black car has my Mom and my Dad posing by the car !!!
Hi Nandu,

Your reaction above reallly made my day !!!

To me this is "best of nostalgia"

I suppose this is what this thread is all about.

Best Regards & Drive/Ride Safe

Ram
r_nairtvm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th December 2011, 19:00   #2046

Originally Posted by harit View Post
This is another Lobby Card of a Bengali Movie. What is the name, who is the actress, and most important, which car could this be?
No idea about the actress or movie but the car looks like a 1959 (only) AUSTIN CAMBRIDGE A55 MK2 FARINA from what I can make out.

I've 4 doors complete with glasses besides many other parts from a similar car so to speak!

PS: 'hope its ok to mention here, they're open to a good home!
Old 14th December 2011, 19:08   #2047

This is Danny with a nice car in the background.
Which movie, and which car?

Cheers harit

Old 14th December 2011, 19:18   #2048

For sure this is the late 80s movie HUM where Danny acted opposite Big B. The car is American (and is Black in colour) but not sure what make from this pic.
Old 14th December 2011, 20:05   #2049

Danny in Hum, The car is a 46-47 Chrysler Windsor. The bulbous bonnet is a give-away.

Last edited by V-16 : 14th December 2011 at 20:07.
Old 14th December 2011, 20:05   #2050

Cheers harit
If I were to hazard a guess I would say '38-'39 Buick?
Old 14th December 2011, 20:17   #2051

Many stars had Chevys, Sharmila Tagore, Waheeda Rehman, 1960 to 1965 were prominant. And yes, AC's were a rage, status symbol and a radio. Some also had record players suitable only for those small 45's. One song at a time.

Cheers harit
Yes sir ji, record players, were also there & I saw them in late sixtees and very early seventies,They were made only by PHILLIPS ivory in colour and they had two round buttons on either sides to eject the record, but this record player fad died in between 1970 and 1972.Only 45 RPM un breakable records could be played on them.
The 45 RPM record had knotches in the centre with a small hole to play on regular players and to play it on the car record players you had to break that three point centre portion.And if one had to play the broken centre portion record again on the regular players he will have to fix a small plastic adopterto fill that gap..One song per side of 45 rpm record at a time,sometimes this one side had two songs on one side,this was because the time of each song was less then 3 mins.But we took it as a bonus...paying for one song and get two songs.
In 1964 my dad got a brand new Amby mark 2 and got PYE brand valve type radio,it had rotating band selector,and a small light to indicate the radio is ON.
My dad was very fond of vividh bharti, Radio Ceylone for Binaca geetmala and listening to AMIN SAYANI talking talking talking about next song to be played on this programme ("Binacageetmala ki agli BAADAAN par yeh gana suniye film ka naam hai WOH KAUN THI"!!) .
BBC news was also very popular and one more band I still dont understand why it was called SHORT BAND. This band and its stations were not very clear,and were allways with full of distorted and unclear Radio ceylone used to come on this band.
HARIT ji plss correct me if I am wrong any where ,as I am talking about my young school days times.I may have missed out something somewhere.
Rubb Rakhaa....

Last edited by karlosdeville : 14th December 2011 at 20:43. Reason: Fixing quote
IQBAL VEERJI is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th December 2011, 11:22   #2052

Originally Posted by IQBAL VEERJI View Post
Yes sir ji, record players.....Rubb Rakhaa....
Absolutely perfect, your folks must have been "Shokin", spending money on these gadgets. Remember, they were not allowed to be officially imported, you did not get proper maintainance and they were expensive for that time.

Here is a car which is a bit different from Austin Morris regulars, any clue which make this is?

Cheers harit

Old 15th December 2011, 15:42   #2053

Sometime back Virender Sehwag scored 219 runs in an ODI and he was aptly hailed and facilitated for this achievement. The benefit to him is expected to be huge as we hear that "contracts" will also flow besides the runs.
In 1931, a certain Master Rusi J Cooper played in "Lord" Harris Shield matches (we don't use the word 'Lord' anymore for these matches, or?) and was presented this album for his brilliant bowling performance by the Principal of Proprietary High School.
These are 3 pages from that album, there was only one picture of a car which I cannot identify. And one picture with a bicycle. Does anyone know anything about this Proprietary School? There is some resemblance to the Bombay International School near to Chowpatti Band Stand.
Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-tbhp1.jpg  

Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-tbhp2.jpg  

Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-tbhp3.jpg  

Old 15th December 2011, 16:26   #2054

Here is a car which is a bit different from Austin Morris regulars, any clue which make this is?

Cheers harit
That is a pre war Standard saloon, a similar car does survive in the north.
Old 15th December 2011, 16:56   #2055

The Bengali Actress i dont know of but the car looks like a Austin or Morris. The give away indicator knob on the steering boss stands out.

What about the car in Hum is it a Windsor? (i think 100% it is)