Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India

Old 27th July 2011, 11:46   #1771

re: Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars

Originally Posted by anjan_c2007 View Post
This should be a Morris 8 as the gear lever for the Austin 8 in the picture does not match.
Attachment 530615

Attachment 530618
Also note that Austins 8 and even the 10 had twelve almost round holes on the periphery of the wheel discs (second picture).
Attachment 530620
The gear lever of the Morris 8
Attachment 530621
The wheel disc of the Morris 8 wherein similar holes are tough to count in this picture but may also be 12.The picture below confirms that the Morris 8 too had 12 such holes.
Attachment 530631
Picture source www.petergoodearl.com

The tyre size is the same for the Morris 8 and the Austin. The only difference is that the Morris 8 rim has 6 holes for the wheel nuts and the Austin has 4
Old 4th August 2011, 22:50   #1772

Found these very nice period pics. of a Standard Super 10 and a mk1 Herald () online!

Source: Shilo When I Was Young: The cars that drove us

The Herald would've been a 1963 car as one of my family friends (the lady whose childhood pic. I'd recently posted with the MSY 2566 fiat) had a '63 Fiat in the '80s that they also brought from Madras and it had the regn. MSS 672. So MSS 180 would've been slightly before it. But this car is definitely not before 1963, going by the monotone white colour and also the "Standard" badge is fitted at a slant in the bootlid recess (earlier Heralds were all 2-tone only, with Black as the only exception and had the badge fitted above the numberplate light)

Source: https://picasaweb.google.com/ramkish...04958822880514

Last edited by Stanher : 4th August 2011 at 23:12.
Old 5th August 2011, 18:49   #1773

Fresh after their Shadi?
Please coment on the car, have not figured it out.
Any idea where this church could be? Not much seen to help.
Any comment on the "drivers" (?) cap? Upto the early 1970's I have often seen drivers with this type of a cap.
And I wonder if those smiles are still in place

Cheers harit
Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-family-003.jpg  

Old 5th August 2011, 19:39   #1774

Originally Posted by harit View Post
Fresh after their Shadi?
Please coment on the car, have not figured it out.
Any idea where this church could be? Not much seen to help.
Any comment on the "drivers" (?) cap? Upto the early 1970's I have often seen drivers with this type of a cap.
And I wonder if those smiles are still in place

Cheers harit
Could be a Dodge Kingsway or a Plymouth Savoy going by the rear door
design ? Thats after all the only component here that affords a good visibility.
Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-vlcsnap2010091019h44m51s78.png.jpg

Last edited by anjan_c2007 : 5th August 2011 at 19:41.
Old 5th August 2011, 23:38   #1775

Hi friends, today I located some of very rare old photos of me working on my HONDA CBR 250cc UK model (I thoght so in those days).I got this bike from Kishan Rao in those days.in the year maybe 1972.

It was initially tuned by Abdul Samad of Crowford Market.He was very popular inthose days.He used to participate in races of two wheelers in those days at Juhu airstrip.
He fixed the fairing etc ,it was pride to have a fairing on the bikes and they were very rare.The youngsters got more inspired by seeing the movie MAD MAX part1.
Then I got to know the tricks and started doing things myself on it (see myself tinkering on it in the year 1973 in side my Mahim office compound).

Then next in the line was a four door Herald MRF.0000.(forgot the digits).Its me and wife in the year 1980.It was moderately modded by me by fixing extra Bajaj 150 head lights Amby grille etc.hehehehe.

Myself on my Kinetic honda maybe in the year 1991. Sorry guys digital cameras not yet come in the markets.

Then there are photos of our SUMO ,I promised to every one, I modded rear resembling Pajero..Altered number plate location,removed the stepony bracket,rear wiper fixed with washer (Wiper motor of a mini truck from chore bazar).Colour and three tone patterns were my idea.

Ask me about why black and white photos, reason is COLOUR photography in those days was super luxury. We had Yashika 635 camera with twin lenses and a flip type view finder which was about 1.75 kg in weight and had option of 120 rolls or 35mm rolls.My dad had got this camera brand new for 575/- in 1967.
120 rolls were giving out 10 to 12 photos and 35 mm rolls were giving 36 photos.
Then these exposed colour rolls were sent to KODAK at prabhadevi for developing and printing,who were only compony doing this color developing and Printing job in India in those days. We all used to wait like as if waiting for something very special for one month or so.

People opted for Black and white for quick delivery at local photographer levels and their dark rooms giving out bst results same day delivery.

Last but the least is photo of myself and wife in our heavily modded Chevy Nova I think.registered in 1980 or so ..
Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-honda.jpg  

Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-heraldd.jpg  

Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-kinetic.jpg  

Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-sooom.jpg  

Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-sumo.jpg  

Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-gogo.jpg  

IQBAL VEERJI is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 6th August 2011, 00:51   #1776

Originally Posted by IQBAL VEERJI View Post
Then next in the line was a four door Herald MRF.0000.(forgot the digits).Its me and wife in the year 1980.It was moderately modded by me by fixing extra Bajaj 150 head lights Amby grille etc.hehehehe.
Nice pics. sirjee!
I didnt know that you had a 4-door Herald as well!! I remember you mentioning that you had a dark green 2-door (MRZ?) from around 1978-80? You had an accident in it due to the rear axle breaking apart and were forced to sell it then?
Any pics. of that car as well?

Last edited by Stanher : 6th August 2011 at 00:53.
Stanher is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th August 2011, 08:51   #1777

Originally Posted by Stanher View Post
Nice pics. sirjee!
I didnt know that you had a 4-door Herald as well!! I remember you mentioning that you had a dark green 2-door (MRZ?) from around 1978-80? You had an accident in it due to the rear axle breaking apart and were forced to sell it then?
Any pics. of that car as well?
Thanks a lot.No Boss, no pics of that car but even this car this is the only pic I got hold of.
This car was far far better then the 2 door one .
But Stan I somehow did not like the low seating position of Herald and sold this also off.
The 2 door version was around the year 73 or 74 as far as I remember.Stan what comments you will give for my Chevy..????
Old 6th August 2011, 10:20   #1778

But Stan I somehow did not like the low seating position of Herald and sold this also off.
Stan what comments you will give for my Chevy..????
Chevy tho changa hai sirjee!

The Herald's seating position can actually be adjusted, in 36 different positions as per this period ad:

Stanher is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th August 2011, 11:34   #1779

Could be a Dodge Kingsway or a Plymouth Savoy going by the rear door design ? Thats after all the only component here that affords a good visibility.
Yes, I think that you are right, 1956/7 Dodge/Plymouth. Typical wedding car in white. And that is a nice picture you put up, you could have posted this picture earlier, na?

Hi friends, today I located some of very rare old photos of me working ........side my Mahim office compound).

Then next in the line was a four door Herald MRF................modded by me by fixing extra Bajaj 150 head lights Amby grille etc.hehehehe.

Myself on my Kinetic honda maybe in the year 1991.
Then there are photos of our SUMO ,I promised to every one, I modded rear resembling Pajero...............
Ask me about why black and white photos, reason is COLOUR photography in those days was super luxury. We had Yashika 635 camera with twin lenses and a flip type view finder which was about 1.75 kg in weight and had option of 120 rolls or 35mm rolls.My dad had got this camera brand new for 575/- in 1967. 120 rolls were giving out 10 to 12 photos and 35 mm rolls were giving 36 photos. Then these exposed colour rolls were sent to KODAK at prabhadevi for developing and printing,who were only compony doing this color developing and Printing job in India in those days. We all used to wait like as if waiting for something very special for one month or so. People opted for Black and white for quick delivery at local photographer levels and their dark rooms giving out bst results same day delivery.
Last but the least is photo of myself and wife in our heavily modded Chevy Nova I think.registered in 1980 or so ..
Sirjee, velly good
Your photos should be scanned and preserved, I see one photo is torn. And then please put them in an album properly, for suceeding generation to see and enjoy. You were certainly a car/bike buff at that time. The modded Herald is typical, I am sure that after a while the front grill and bumper would have dropped off. The built quality was poor.
Please post a picture of the completed Pajero/Sumo.
The Chevy is not a Nova, but a Chevy Studio. I have pictures of similar props which were quite popular. Will put up next week.
About photography, the old days were terrible. Our socialistic minded government of India created a company called Hindustan Photo Films Ltd located in Ooty (how relaxing) a typical government white elephant. First they just repackaged films (I think from ORWO, former East Germany). If I remember, there was a project to make colour films, no result and now anyway obsolete. And Kodak used to run their plant processing colour films once in 2/3 months after collecting reels. I used to ask visitors to bring films from abroad and send back for processing. , but those were frustrating times.

The next picture is a Parsi Fire temple, I suspect it is the one near the corner of Princess street, coming from Metro Cinema. The passing car is likely an Amby, slight chance it is a Hillman, and a horse carriage just went by.

Cheers harit
Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-parsi-family-008.jpg  

Last edited by harit : 6th August 2011 at 11:37.
harit is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th August 2011, 14:59   #1780

Yes, I think that you are right, 1956/7 Dodge/Plymouth. Typical wedding car in white. And that is a nice picture you put up, you could have posted this picture earlier, na?
Cheers harit
Thanks harit, Thats not from my album but a borrowed picture.
The next picture is a Parsi Fire temple, I suspect it is the one near the corner of Princess street, coming from Metro Cinema. The passing car is likely an Amby, slight chance it is a Hillman, and a horse carriage just went by.

Cheers harit
This one is a Hillman Minx taxi. These were so popular in Mumbai in the earlier days.
Old 6th August 2011, 18:12   #1781

Thanks harit, Thats not from my album but a borrowed picture.
This one is a Hillman Minx taxi. These were so popular in Mumbai in the earlier days.
Please do borrow some more pictures and put up with permission
Yes. I also thought of Hillman later on. Camera was focussed on the temple, not the car.

Here is another family picture, the car is well covered, but maybe a Roote's product like Sunbeam, Hillman etc.

Cheers harit
Nostalgic automotive pictures including our family's cars-scan0211a.jpg  

Old 6th August 2011, 20:02   #1782

Originally Posted by Stanher View Post
Chevy tho changa hai sirjee!

The Herald's seating position can actually be adjusted, in 36 different positions as per this period ad:

‪heraldmov.mp4‬‏ - YouTube
Stan ji, in that case I am the biggest fool in the world .Had I not sold that beauty to a idiot who smashed it very next day into a BEST bus ,Iwould have been restoring it number of times till now.
Iwas just not happy with seats which looked like sitting on the road.
Old 6th August 2011, 20:20   #1783

Sirjee, velly good
Your photos should be scanned and preserved, I see one photo is torn. And then please put them in an album properly, for suceeding generation to see and enjoy. You were certainly a car/bike buff at that time. The modded Herald is typical, I am sure that after a while the front grill and bumper would have dropped off. The built quality was poor.
The Chevy is not a Nova, but a Chevy Studio. I have pictures of similar props which were quite popular. Will put up next week.
About photography, the old days were terrible. Our socialistic minded government of India created a company called Hindustan Photo Films Ltd located in Ooty (how relaxing) a typical government white elephant. First they just repackaged films (I think from ORWO, former East Germany). If I remember, there was a project to make colour films, no result and now anyway obsolete. And Kodak used to run their plant processing colour films once in 2/3 months after collecting reels. I used to ask visitors to bring films from abroad and send back for processing. , but those were frustrating times.

Cheers harit
Yes sir , it is indeed Hillman Minx, They were very popular amongst taxi wala of bombay.The authorised dealers for Hillman were Dadajee Dhackjee.Regards....

Sirjee, velly good

Cheers harit
No sir, this fire temple must be somewhere else because the one you are mentioing has main gate quite inside and away from the main road and has a huge compound to park cars, unlike this one in the picture.
You may find some classics in this compound along with regular Marutis,skodas,fiats etc.

Last edited by karlosdeville : 6th August 2011 at 23:00. Reason: Consecutive posts
Old 6th August 2011, 20:40   #1784

Hi friends, today I located some of very rare old photos of me working on my HONDA CBR 250cc UK model (I thoght so in those days).I got this bike from Kishan Rao in those days.in the year maybe 1972.

Myself on my Kinetic honda maybe in the year 1991. Sorry guys digital cameras not yet come in the markets.

Then there are photos of our SUMO ,I promised to every one, I modded rear resembling Pajero..Altered number plate location,removed the stepony bracket,rear wiper fixed with washer (Wiper motor of a mini truck from chore bazar).Colour and three tone patterns were my idea.

Thanks Sirji for the lovely, old pictures-the last one is hilarious. In exhibitions, melas and some photo studios there used to be such sets with a big car a palatial "Kothi" and so on and people would pose.I guess these have become extinct but may be in villages and small towns these are still in vogue.
anjan_c2007 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 6th August 2011, 20:56   #1785

Thanks Sirji for the lovely, old pictures-the last one is hilarious. In exhibitions, melas and some photo studios there used to be such sets with a big car a palatial "Kothi" and so on and people would pose.I guess these have become extinct but may be in villages and small towns these are still in vogue.
Yes Anjan sir ji, They still exist in melas and fairs in north India where nowadys only villagers are getting photographed them selves, but unlike cardboard cars they have real run down Maruti 800,Esteems,Vans etc.

Imagine a old chacha ji sitting in driving seat of a Esteem dressed in a dirty dhoti kurta and grinning away with those dirty teeth.