Old 8th January 2015, 20:02   #1396

Re: Vintage & Classic car parts info

Originally Posted by Bulldogji View Post
Dear Mr Jatti,

Mr Arora of arora glasses Delhi makes very good laminated glasses if you give him either the old glass or a plywood template.

Many years ago he had made glasses for me which fit perfectly. If I can find his number I will post it, its been a long time. You could ask or try to search on the net. Being in Delhi yourself, transport damage risk would be minimal.

I used Agarwal packers who insured and delivered without a problem
Thank you very much. Most of the windscreen manufacturers nowadays have acquired automated plants and they are not interested in making a one off windscreen. However, shall appreciate if you could kindly see if you can locate the contact details of Arora Glasses. Thank you once again.
Old 11th January 2015, 21:16   #1397

The ultimate jumble sale
Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154415-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154430-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154437-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154443-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154453-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154502-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154515-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154522-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154530-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154539-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154549-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154646-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154707-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154716-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154725-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154736-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154748-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154757-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154806-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154813-small.jpg  

vintageman is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 11th January 2015, 21:24   #1398

All that is required to assemble a vintage car
Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154824-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154834-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154840-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154850-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154858-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154907-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154921-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154929-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154940-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154951-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_154956-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_155004-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_155022-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_155033-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_155040-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_155050-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_155100-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_155130-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_155108-small.jpg  

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-20141207_160026-small.jpg  

vintageman is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 12th January 2015, 19:06   #1399

Originally Posted by vintageman View Post
All that is required to assemble a vintage car
are these for sale...where is it????
Old 14th January 2015, 21:59   #1400

Originally Posted by FINTAIL View Post
The headlamps appear to be original. What make are they of, BTW?

The rims, are not. You know how to make them...err...original.
Thanks for the tip about the rims, Fintail!

And here's my next query... And it's a real poser!!!

3 senior mechanics who have worked on 1957 FIAT Elegants when they first came into the market, and 1 old taxi driver, have all told me with complete confidence that the speedometer was of the round dial with moving needle type (2 units - as in the previous FIAT model). And not the sliding ribbon (patti) type, as is more commonly believed.

They also told me that most of the original Elegant owners got their speedometers changed to the later type (pattiwala type) when it was introduced in a later version. Their observation is that it was something of the done thing in those days to have one's old car 'upgraded' using grilles, handles, (in this case, speedometers!), etc. of newer models. These mechanics had all themselves done many such 'upgradations'.

Only one of these mechanics was ready to concede that Elegants that came out at the fag end of 1957 (Nov - Dec) may have come originally with the patti speedometer.

Of course, these are all very old gentlemen, so one could question their memories. On the other hand, these are all people who have themselves worked on Elegants when they first arrived and are speaking from their own experience.

So what should we conclude?

Is there any pattiwala 1957 FIAT Elegant around that has remained with its original owner (not her/his relative) who can vouch that she/he has not altered the speedometer at all?

As we all know, the mole has kept a 1957 FIAT manual on this forum and it shows the pattiwala speedometer. BUT is this the manual of a 1957 FIAT Elegant that was manufactured in India? If yes, is this a post-November 1957 document?

Eagerly awaiting your comments!!! Thanks.
Old 15th January 2015, 11:34   #1401

Dear Parth (elegant pig) - hello after a very long time. I hope that the work on your car is progressing smoothly. 1956 cars came with round meters and the moustache grille. 1957 and onwards cars came with the patti meter and the center light grille. The front panels of 1956 and 1957 cars are also different.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th January 2015, 14:17   #1402

Originally Posted by Elegant Pig View Post
Only one of these mechanics was ready to concede that Elegants that came out at the fag end of 1957 (Nov - Dec) may have come originally with the patti speedometer.

So what should we conclude?

Is there any pattiwala 1957 FIAT Elegant around that has remained with its original owner (not her/his relative) who can vouch that she/he has not altered the speedometer at all?

Eagerly awaiting your comments!!! Thanks.
Dear Parth,

The Elegents came with pattiwala meter as far as what I have come to know This meter was similar to the one found in Selects / Super selects except that there was no water temperature gauge. I do have one elegent meter along with the cover with me.

The round meters were only applicable to millicento that came till 56 / 57 mid (the dates are not available). Tough it was common to see that an old model year part was used on new model (like air filter of elegent on a select). But there was a sheet metal difference between the dashboard of millicento and elegent negating the use of old meters.

The Elegent Meter -

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-dsc08346.jpg

The Select Meter -

Vintage & Classic Car Parts-dsc06705.jpg
manishalive is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st January 2015, 22:45   #1403

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
Dear Parth (elegant pig) - hello after a very long time. I hope that the work on your car is progressing smoothly. 1956 cars came with round meters and the moustache grille. 1957 and onwards cars came with the patti meter and the center light grille. The front panels of 1956 and 1957 cars are also different.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Dear Mr. Dhabhar,

Thank you for clarifying the matter. And sorry about the delay in responding.

What part of the car is the 'front panel'? (Guess I need a crash course in car-anatomy!)

Btw, do you know anyone who might have the original Indian manual of the 1957 FIAT Elegant?

Warm regards,

Parth (Elegant Pig)

Originally Posted by manishalive View Post
Dear Parth,

The Elegents came with pattiwala meter as far as what I have come to know This meter was similar to the one found in Selects / Super selects except that there was no water temperature gauge. I do have one elegent meter along with the cover with me.

The round meters were only applicable to millicento that came till 56 / 57 mid (the dates are not available). Tough it was common to see that an old model year part was used on new model (like air filter of elegent on a select). But there was a sheet metal difference between the dashboard of millicento and elegent negating the use of old meters.

The Elegent Meter -

Attachment 1328674

The Select Meter -

Attachment 1328675
Dear Manish,

Thank you for the many helpful inputs! I keep discovering how little I know about these things. Feel so glad that you all are there to guide me. :-)

Parth (Elegant Pig)

Last edited by karlosdeville : 22nd January 2015 at 09:56. Reason: Consecutive posts
Old 22nd January 2015, 19:15   #1404

Mark1 ambassador clock for sale here
http://olx.in/item/vintage-ambassado...k-IDSzAGn.html
Old 23rd January 2015, 10:39   #1405

I urgently need a Fiat S1 Engine + GB + Shaft + rear differenetial ASAP.

Raab rakha.
Old 23rd January 2015, 10:45   #1406

Originally Posted by ariesonu View Post
I urgently need a Fiat S1 Engine + GB + Shaft + rear differenetial ASAP.

Raab rakha.
What are you up to. Are you going to plonk this in the elegant???
Old 23rd January 2015, 11:02   #1407

Originally Posted by manishalive View Post
What are you up to. Are you going to plonk this in the elegant???
PLEEEZ get me my wishlist and then keep your fingers crossed.

Raab rakha.
P.S.: I don't have any ELEGANT.
Old 27th January 2015, 21:04   #1408

VW type 3 part

Rare NOS genuine VW Type 3 door hinge plugs
found in a shop here
Vintage & Classic Car Parts-wp_20150126_12_34_12_pro.jpg  

ajay99 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th February 2015, 14:20   #1409

I have a (1956) Fiat 1100 Engine + Radiator + GB + Rear Diff for sale. Engine will come without CARB & ALTERNATOR.
All are from same car.

Interested people can send me PM for price breakup.

Raab rakha.
Old 9th February 2015, 19:35   #1410

Originally Posted by ariesonu View Post
I have a (1956) Fiat 1100 Engine + Radiator + GB + Rear Diff for sale. Engine will come without CARB & ALTERNATOR.
All are from same car.

Interested people can send me PM for price breakup.

Raab rakha.
Bhai Picture please, I need a radiator for my Car (if your radiator is the correct one).