Old 30th May 2009, 21:32   #91

Originally Posted by ritayan View Post
Any idea which Austin is this.
Originally Posted by harit View Post
Hi, this is no Austin. I would say a pre war German car, probably Opel, soon to be a Canadian-Austrian car belonging to Magna. Next time have a closer look at the wheel cap if possible, zoom in on it.
That's no Austin, that's no Opel, that's no German car. She is a Renault Juvaquattre. Surprisingly quite a few have been popping up lately.
Old 2nd June 2009, 19:44   #92

Regal Consul

Originally Posted by john a milne View Post
RE the Consul - drive east on Hazra from Landsdown about 2/3 blocks and on the north side is a lumber plywood outlet. On the left side is the office, a drive in passage in the center and a show room on the right side. When you go into their driveway it opens up into a large saw mill work shop and behind and around it they have a very large covered lumberyard. Happy hunting!
Thanks to John's excellent directions, I finally found the Consul. Bhpian Ritayan was accompanying me. Since it was Sunday, the showroom/office was closed. But we told the guards that the owner himself had sent us to see the car! Access to the Consul was a formality after that!

Anyway, the thing that outright impressed me was the car's build quality. The doors seem to shut like tank hatches, the body is incredibly tough. I have seen quite a few classics, and not one can I remember which had such strong build.

Speedy mentioned somewhere that his Mk1 consul was so heavy, he needed a couple of people to just push it in/out of his garage. After seeing the Kolkata car, I have no reason to doubt it.

The interiors are also intact, though theres a huge deal of dust everywhere. The car is dying a slow death, and this is one car which doesnt deserve to!
Old 3rd June 2009, 10:57   #93

Predatorwheelz and Ritayan.

Guys could you look into the Justice Mitter family and their cars, the Duesenbergs that are said to have been in your fair city.

One of the Duesys from the pair that was in Hyderabad is said to have been broken there. Dotry to find out more

Also the 540K with was said to have been with another old family from there.

The we come to Saloo C. I had met his son, Farid way back when he was visiting Hyderabad and he had mentioned some nice cars they had. I distinctly remember him saying they had a RR Ghost Alpine Eagle.

Do try to check on these cars and let us know.
Old 3rd June 2009, 11:32   #94

the jag was sold with the farm where it was stored, electricals gone, rats i guess. Rest i guess is working. Asking price 2.5 lac. I have made an offer of 1.5 lac, mechanic not a peoblem as i have someone who mantains a s type for the last 5 years and budgeting around 3 lac to get it in shape, what say.
can anyone just let me know , which model and version is this Jaguar, i am not able to read the same in the images.Great find Rityan...
Old 3rd June 2009, 17:47   #95

Originally Posted by arjunkr View Post
can anyone just let me know , which model and version is this Jaguar, i am not able to read the same in the images.Great find Rityan...
It's a XJ6, probably a Series 3. The XJ6 were built from 1968 to 1987 with very few changes. One of the all time Classics.

I've had two over the years and found them wonderful to drive but expensive to maintain. My last one I purchased in 1999 was a 87 absolutely mint with only 27,000 miles but 18 months later had to pull the engine to replace the rear bearing as they must have become dry plus two pistons and some other minor work - the bill was almost 3 lakh!. I t became a bottomless money pit and I finally traded it in as a parts car for the dealers 87 Vandenplus V12 an identical car, year and colour and interior in great shape except needed some front end work. He was asking less than 2 lakh for it.

Just Jags, a Toronto Jag shop has over 80 Jags in the scrap yard with many of them driven in by their owners and just left as the costs of repair work is so high and they the scrap value is so low the owners don't have he heart to see them scrapped and prefer to pass them for their parts. I will take some photos of this remarkable "grave yard".

The other problem we have in Canada is the rust caused by all the salt used on the roads in the winter that rusts out the cars, which was one of my problems as I was using my XJ6 as a daily driver.

Having said all this, every time I see one on the road My Heart does pitter patter and I overlook all the frustrations I had with the running costs.

This XJ6 is the first one I have seen in India and must be quite rare.
john a milne is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd June 2009, 18:54   #96

@John , Thanks for sharing info about Jaguar.I was searching Google and Wikipedia , got more info about the same.

Note from Mods : Please try to use punctuation properly when posting. Take a look at point #2 in this thread (Expected Posting Etiquette) for details. Thanks.

Last edited by Rehaan : 3rd June 2009 at 19:17. Reason: Please see the note that has been put at the end of your post by the Support Team.
Old 7th June 2009, 15:24   #97

Yes I am serious about it. I am in the process of getting the details will update as i get more. Thanks for the help and advice.
Any update on the Jag? Price was mentioned, but what about the documentation?
BTW, yesterday I saw a banner about Jaguar at Worli Sukhsagar estate. Probably the showroom will open there. Then they will require a service center, perhaps they can then help you.
Old 7th June 2009, 21:18   #98

Originally Posted by harit View Post
Any update on the Jag? Price was mentioned, but what about the documentation?
BTW, yesterday I saw a banner about Jaguar at Worli Sukhsagar estate. Probably the showroom will open there. Then they will require a service center, perhaps they can then help you.
The owner is out of country and back on the 14th. Will have updates post that and update the thread.
Old 9th June 2009, 01:31   #99

Originally Posted by john a milne View Post
It's a XJ6, probably a Series 3. The XJ6 were built from 1968 to 1987 with very few changes. One of the all time Classics.

Just Jags, a Toronto Jag shop has over 80 Jags in the scrap yard with many of them driven in by their owners and just left as the costs of repair work is so high and they the scrap value is so low the owners don't have he heart to see them scrapped and prefer to pass them for their parts. I will take some photos of this remarkable "grave yard".

This XJ6 is the first one I have seen in India and must be quite rare.
I stopped by JUST JAGS today and took these photos. Ian, the owner, told me he has 160 Jags in his compound and is in the "Guinness book of Records" having the most Jags in the world! He would love to send them off to the scrap yard but the scrap yards are not taking any more cars here in Ontario at the moment. He explored shipping them abroad for scrap but the container costs were too high and a 40' high cube container would only take 8 cars or 12 with their tops cut off. There is a firm in Toronto that has a portable crusher who charges $75 per car.

The costs of stripping and parting them out is also very expensive here in N.A. so he is holding on to them until the market improves.

Some of the photos include customers cars that are in for repair work and notice the two XJ coupes, very rare with one being a V12.

Ian still gets 2 or 3 cars a month just dropped off at his door step!

If the India laws would permit, it would be a good business to bring them in and start a world wide Jag parts business.

Great Cars and now that Jaguar is Indian, maybe Tata would be interested in supporting the vintage and classic models.
KOLKATA - Cars waiting to be Restored or Scrapped!-img_4970.jpg  

KOLKATA - Cars waiting to be Restored or Scrapped!-img_4973.jpg  

KOLKATA - Cars waiting to be Restored or Scrapped!-img_4968.jpg  

KOLKATA - Cars waiting to be Restored or Scrapped!-img_4952.jpg  

KOLKATA - Cars waiting to be Restored or Scrapped!-img_4964.jpg  

KOLKATA - Cars waiting to be Restored or Scrapped!-img_4965.jpg  

KOLKATA - Cars waiting to be Restored or Scrapped!-img_4966.jpg  

KOLKATA - Cars waiting to be Restored or Scrapped!-img_4967.jpg  

KOLKATA - Cars waiting to be Restored or Scrapped!-img_4962.jpg  

KOLKATA - Cars waiting to be Restored or Scrapped!-img_4955.jpg  

KOLKATA - Cars waiting to be Restored or Scrapped!-img_4953.jpg  

john a milne is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th June 2009, 02:37   #100

Oh my God! That is the meccah of Jags!!
I wonder what his daily drive / personal ride is though!
Old 9th June 2009, 07:06   #101

There's a rare XJ12 Coupe in that collection. Nice find, John.
Old 9th June 2009, 07:16   #102

Originally Posted by MARCUS_520i View Post
Oh my God! That is the meccah of Jags!!
I wonder what his daily drive / personal ride is though!
He has a few favorites, one that he keeps in his garage is a stretched XJ6 in white that he hires out for events. When it's back I will post it. He is asking about 6 lacks for it.
Old 9th June 2009, 08:47   #103

Here are two of my favorite cars that we have enjoyed.
Our 1968 Mark 11 that we just parted with after 30 years and our 1987 XJ6 that burned a hole on my pocket and found a new home two years ago.

Lots of great memories.
KOLKATA - Cars waiting to be Restored or Scrapped!-one-donlea-exterior-018.jpg  

KOLKATA - Cars waiting to be Restored or Scrapped!-one-donlea-exterior-028.jpg  

Old 9th June 2009, 09:11   #104

John, in India most of those cars would be considered 'excellent' condition!

Right next door to me lived one Mr. Adi Billimoria, auto enthusiast and racer of yore. He had a most evocative V 12 coupe, also in red. Up close it looked brilliant. In the 5 odd years that it was there next door I never saw it move, but it was immaculate. After he passed away it exchanged many hands, wonder where it is now.

Anyways, back on topic.
karlosdeville is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th June 2009, 09:59   #105

What are those two E types doing there ? are they in for repairs ?
If I was you I would pick one of them up specially the green one with teh webasto roof.

Don't let these cars get anywhere nere that portable crusher you mentioned.