Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India

Old 17th December 2008, 14:07   #1

A Private collection from Cochin

Fellow Bhpians,

This is Arun from Cochin (a newbie for this portal). I was just browsing through and found out this thread. Its a heart breaking scene of these beauties rusting out. BTW I'm not a vintage cars fanatic nor have any idea about the specs and even the model names. Couple of days before I've visited someone's garage. Its actually a graveyard for these beauties. Actually this graveyard is just about 300 mtrs from my home. He is well known in Cochin for his vintage car collection. Its heard that he owns almost 45 vintage cars and counting. The moment I entered the gate, my dream machine was lying out there.The mighty Willys. Its in a pretty good shape but need some restoration process to get back into his old charm. I'm posting some pictures, just for the sake of it.There was a plymouth which seems to have a great attitude but its right wheel is not in good condition;she was actually resting in a log of wood.( can be seen in the picture). Sorry for the poor quality pictures. It was dark and my mobile cam's got only 2MP. Please post your valuable suggestions and kindly note any mistakes of me. That will be much appreciated. Here comes the pictures..

A Private collection from Cochin-pix5.jpg  

A Private collection from Cochin-pix6.jpg  

A Private collection from Cochin-pix7.jpg  

A Private collection from Cochin-pix8.jpg  

A Private collection from Cochin-pix9.jpg  

A Private collection from Cochin-pix10.jpg  

A Private collection from Cochin-pix4.jpg  

A Private collection from Cochin-pix2.jpg  

A Private collection from Cochin-pix3.jpg  

A Private collection from Cochin-pix1.jpg  

Last edited by Technocrat : 17th December 2008 at 16:24. Reason: Only two smilies per post allowed
Old 17th December 2008, 15:17   #2

Welcome aboard, Arun!
Wow, awesome pics.! That plymouth would never fail to impress!

Although, this looks more like a part of someone's private collection, and none of them seem to be rusting in pieces to me at the moment!

So this could be moved to a more appropriate thread?
Old 17th December 2008, 17:49   #3

I read somewhere that Nest owner is having huge collection of Vintage cars.
Old 17th December 2008, 23:01   #4

Wotta collection, Arun - thanks for the pics. The Wolseley looks grand !
Old 17th December 2008, 23:18   #5

Most of the cars need just a little bit of TLC,and they would look much better. Love the lot,though.
If you get a chance,do get some pics of the interiors.
Old 17th December 2008, 23:28   #6

Originally Posted by Nitin View Post
Most of the cars need just a little bit of TLC,and they would look much better. Love the lot,though.
If you get a chance,do get some pics of the interiors.

Well I'll try next time dude..its just 300 mtrs away.BTW good to hear from you.

Cheerscheers:
Old 17th December 2008, 23:39   #7

I love that Wolsley!! Hope I can get my dad's car back!! And i Also love that Mini!!
Old 17th December 2008, 23:43   #8

Originally Posted by pgginish View Post
I read somewhere that Nest owner is having huge collection of Vintage cars.
I think its the same collection!
Old 18th December 2008, 00:00   #9

Is that his collection or is it for sale or something?
Old 18th December 2008, 00:04   #10

It's the Nest's Collection and I don't think it's for sale. At least not yet
Old 18th December 2008, 00:12   #11

Ha ha,if its indeed of Nest's then i wont be able to afford any!!
Old 18th December 2008, 00:22   #12

Good spot Arun.

BH.
Old 18th December 2008, 09:29   #13

Nice pics, arun. Expect more pics soon. The Plymouth is truly an eye-catcher.
Old 18th December 2008, 17:08   #14

Nest's garage is at Aluva. There was an article about their collection in Manorama Sunday Supplement.
Old 18th December 2008, 19:29   #15

Originally Posted by arungee6 View Post
Fellow Bhpians,

This is Arun from Cochin (a newbie for this portal). I was just browsing through and found out this thread. Its a heart breaking scene of these beauties rusting out. BTW I'm not a vintage cars fanatic nor have any idea about the specs and even the model names. Couple of days before I've visited someone's garage. Its actually a graveyard for these beauties. Actually this graveyard is just about 300 mtrs from my home. He is well known in Cochin for his vintage car collection. Its heard that he owns almost 45 vintage cars and counting. The moment I entered the gate, my dream machine was lying out there.The mighty Willys. Its in a pretty good shape but need some restoration process to get back into his old charm. I'm posting some pictures, just for the sake of it.There was a plymouth which seems to have a great attitude but its right wheel is not in good condition;she was actually resting in a log of wood.( can be seen in the picture). Sorry for the poor quality pictures. It was dark and my mobile cam's got only 2MP. Please post your valuable suggestions and kindly note any mistakes of me. That will be much appreciated. Here comes the pictures..

Hai arungee MR JAHANGIR is a good friend of me he is got a few of the beauties most of his cars was soldby me