Old 19th March 2009, 14:36   #76

Originally Posted by girishpv View Post
Harit SIR,

Is this one you are talking about ?

Previously he was asking 3.0 Lakhs, around 18 months ago, one of my friend offered him around 2 Lakh, he refused that offer and now wants 23 Lakhs.....

Vintage car for sale 1930 model - Chennai - Cars
23 lakhs??!!

I first thought it was a typo by you for 2.3 lakhs........until I saw the figure mentioned in the site!

Who does he think will pay him that much, for a car like this??

'become a common notion nowadays for some people that just because they have an old pre-war car with spoked wheels (not in this case though), huge fenders and crankstart handles, they can get the moon for it!
- Sorry if I'm hijacking this thread but I'm equally, if not more, attracted by that mk2 Herald in the background in one of the pics.! even though that too, like this car, is far from original/mint!

Does your friend have any pics. of that car also, girish??

Last edited by Stanher : 19th March 2009 at 14:39.
Old 19th March 2009, 16:14   #77

@Stanher,

I was also under impression that he wants 2.3 L, my friend sent him mails couple of times, but no reply.

, I was expecting your quick response regarding Herald.......

Sorry friend, no photo's.

regards
Old 19th March 2009, 16:32   #78

Originally Posted by Stanher View Post
23 lakhs??!!

I first thought it was a typo by you for 2.3 lakhs........until I saw the figure mentioned in the site!

Who does he think will pay him that much, for a car like this??
Look at the badge on the radiator, it's not a hillman, it's a FERRARI!!!!!!

Surely 23 lakhs is not unreasonable for this early Ferrari

Aditya

Ps. The herald seems to sport Padmini tail lamps.

Last edited by TractionAvant : 19th March 2009 at 16:52.
Old 19th March 2009, 17:32   #79

Originally Posted by TractionAvant View Post
Look at the badge on the radiator, it's not a hillman, it's a FERRARI!!!!!!

Surely 23 lakhs is not unreasonable for this early Ferrari

Aditya

Ps. The herald seems to sport Padmini tail lamps.
And will you buy my Cartier watch freshly minted in China at Cartier prices?
The Hillman owner better revert to Hillman badge, or the car may be crushed as fakes are often crushed by a road roller for the camera/press.
Old 19th March 2009, 17:42   #80

Originally Posted by harit View Post
And will you buy my Cartier watch freshly minted in China at Cartier prices?
The Hillman owner better revert to Hillman badge, or the car may be crushed as fakes are often crushed by a road roller for the camera/press.
We could see if he will exchange his 'Ferrari' for the 'Cartier'

On a serious note, what was he thinking ?????????

Aditya
Old 19th March 2009, 17:55   #81

Re: Hillman open tourer,

This car seems to have so many alterations and lot of originality lost
and price was not reasonable.

My uncle in Hyd, used to have similar Hillman open top grey fade colour
with black mudguards until 70's. Then some party from Bombay purchased
it and took to Bombay by road, in addition to this they purchased some other cars from our family, Jaguar, Mercedes, Austin-7 Ruby, Dodge 1928's model Uncle told me it has magnetic system, I was too small to know
much about it.

Hi Mr.Bhasin,

Thanks for sharing your Hillman Minx 1939 pics.

Hi Mr.Harit,

Would love to visit and meet you if possible and see your superb collection. Meantime if possible, can we have pics of your collection,
we have bits of knowledge about your cars.

Thanks & regards,
Old 23rd March 2009, 18:15   #82

Soon

Originally Posted by vintagepoint5 View Post
Hi Sudeepdua,
Can you post pictures of your car, model details etc. I am interested to see oldest Hillman models still can be seen in India.
Hi ,
I would certainly do that very soon . its a 1948-49 same as one which cyrus has restored or probably restoring . I would update the forum with the with all the details and pictures. Right now I am trying to procure original users manual which the car is supposed to be shipped with.

Best Regards
Sudeep
Old 23rd March 2009, 18:21   #83

Originally Posted by sudeepdua View Post
Hi ,

This is Sudeep from Chandigarh right now based in pune and I have inherited an Hillman Minx Mark 2 1948 (imported from UK) . This was owned by my grand father and right now the car is in a very bad state . The bodywork of the car needs to be redone and the same i believe with the mechanicals . I want to restore this legacy to its original glory and need guidance for that . Can you help me on this ? I can post more pictures of the same here .

I would be more than thankful

Sudeep
A conservative estimate without actually seeing or examining the car would be around 4 lacs for a complete restoration provided that all the components are there and they are original..
Old 30th March 2009, 11:56   #84

I am sending 2 pics of a 1939 Hillman owned by Mr K S Singh during 40th SVCCI.I helped in the restoration of this car and got the leather upholstery made under my supervision.The car won the best restoration Trophy in that rally.This car was lying for 25 years in a corner of East Patel Nagar market in front of Mr Kalsi's house.Another pic of my Hillman is also attached.
Hillman Minx-ksc1.jpg  

Hillman Minx-ksc5.jpg  

Hillman Minx-hillman.jpg  

Old 30th March 2009, 17:24   #85

Hi Bhasin54,

Thanks for sharing nice pictures of two Hillman Minx black and maroon. Can you please post if possible dashboard & interiors pictures, backside view and engine bay from right and left side.

Dashboard design has been changed from 1938, before it has oval shape meters, radiator grill also changed from 1938, dicky opening was improved from previous model, where it is open from backseat.

Old 1st April 2009, 15:02   #86

Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
I know this is a later model, but I was so smitten by it that I must put these up here.

Hey, This is the car we got from Bareily and restored just before this picture was taken at the Rally in Mumbai. The car is a 1951 model, 4 cylinder side valve engine of 10.5 HP. I have a picture of the car as we got it but being new to this site I dont think I am allowed to upload it.
Old 1st April 2009, 15:25   #87

Originally Posted by cvette View Post
I have a picture of the car as we got it but being new to this site I dont think I am allowed to upload it.
Please go through this link for instructions on uploading photos.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/announ...-team-bhp.html

We look forward to many more contributions from you.
Old 3rd April 2009, 15:23   #88

Attached are pictures of the Hillman before and after restoration. The car belonged to a garage owner in Rae Bareilly who had made a very poor attempt at replacing the corroded sections of the body, possibly to get a better price for the car. However, in doing so he had ruined the body alignment which in a convertible is all the more difficult to get right. A lot of parts were missing as well and we were lucky to have another somewhat similar car around whose parts we could use as formers and replicate parts for our own car.
Hillman Minx-cimg0644.jpg  

Hillman Minx-hillman-001.jpg  

Hillman Minx-hillman-007.jpg  

Old 7th April 2009, 17:22   #89

Originally Posted by cvette View Post
Attached are pictures of the Hillman before and after restoration. The car belonged to a garage owner in Rae Bareilly who had made a very poor attempt at replacing the corroded sections of the body, possibly to get a better price for the car. However, in doing so he had ruined the body alignment which in a convertible is all the more difficult to get right. A lot of parts were missing as well and we were lucky to have another somewhat similar car around whose parts we could use as formers and replicate parts for our own car.
It really has turned out well, looks so elegant. I understand a convertible Minx should be very rare. How many more survive in India?
Old 7th April 2009, 18:08   #90

bhasin54 a very good example of the 1939 pre WWII Minx. Liked the restoration job.
cvette
Hillman Minx convertible- I think that is one of the rare ones surviving in our country.The restoration job is ok but for the facts you have mentioned.Look at the brand new original front parking lights.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com