re: Classic Cars available for purchase

Originally Posted by Bulldogji View Post
Karl,
Do you think there is something amiss? Hint, the gear shift lever
Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
I should think many things are amiss, and naturally the new owner would need to do some work to bring the car to his taste. But at 1.2 lakhs it seems worth taking a more serious look. Cheaper than many Fiats today

I must admit I know nothing about the intricacies of Morris Minors, but I'm told many were fitted with Standard Herald engines and gearboxes and maybe that's what you are referring to? Though I think Minors too had cranked levers similar to this.

Here is a Herald gearbox in a Minor, with the shorter straight shift lever

Attachment 1356448
Hi Sirs,

Out of curiosity, what do you think is amiss with the gear shift lever? because, the earlier side valves from the series mm between 1948-52 to my knowledge have a similar gear shift lever which comes out from the front of the vehicle with a curve on them. The later models which followed after 1953 onwards have a straight long shifter lever.

Kindly correct me if i am wrong.

Thank you,

Srinand.
Old 3rd April 2015, 06:52   #4637

Originally Posted by srinand View Post
Hi Sirs,

Out of curiosity, what do you think is amiss with the gear shift lever? because, the earlier side valves from the series mm between 1948-52 to my knowledge have a similar gear shift lever which comes out from the front of the vehicle with a curve on them. The later models which followed after 1953 onwards have a straight long shifter lever.

Kindly correct me if i am wrong.

Thank you,

Srinand.

Looks like it's had a heart transplant . That's how the gear lever is positioned

kasli is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th April 2015, 16:14   #4638

w126 RHD manual transmission

http://olx.in/item/mercedes-benz-280...tml#88bf3a7f09
Old 4th April 2015, 16:29   #4639

http://olx.in/item/antique-car-with-...tml#cc90cd67f1
note the asking price. too good to be true.otherwise it could be a bargain!!!
Old 6th April 2015, 22:40   #4640

[quote=vinay kamath;3649976]http://olx.in/item/classic-beetle-19...tml#b32bbd28ff
( her owner happens to be my namesake )

Can anyone pitch in what would be a appropriate price for this car.

Ameet
Old 7th April 2015, 11:10   #4641

A rare chance to get the original Standard 20 (first gen) van

Classic Cars available for purchase-44870587_1_1000x700_oldvintagevanchennai.jpg

http://olx.in/item/old-vintage-van-I...tml#4d87af8569

I don't see another coming one on sale for a long time!
karlosdeville is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th April 2015, 12:01   #4642

Originally Posted by ajay99 View Post
Ajay, please note one thing.

Look at the interiors a bit- *closely*. And look at the car's exterior- the car looks like an Austin.

But- those interiors. Surely that ain't a *mere* Austin!

'Tis a 1956 Dodge Kingsway. Confirmed by the dash. Look at how the windscreen is folded in the front. And look at the rear seat as well.

Dodge, isn't it?

Two different cars.

As a certain GTO once told, if anything is too good to be true, it probably is!

Originally Posted by vinay kamath View Post
http://olx.in/item/classic-beetle-19...tml#b32bbd28ff
3 lakhs would be good enough!

Last edited by FINTAIL : 7th April 2015 at 12:04.
Old 7th April 2015, 20:25   #4643

Originally Posted by ajay99 View Post
Originally Posted by FINTAIL View Post
Ajay, please note one thing.

Look at the interiors a bit- *closely*. And look at the car's exterior- the car looks like an Austin.

But- those interiors. Surely that ain't a *mere* Austin!

'Tis a 1956 Dodge Kingsway. Confirmed by the dash. Look at how the windscreen is folded in the front. And look at the rear seat as well.

Dodge, isn't it?

Two different cars.

As a certain GTO once told, if anything is too good to be true, it probably is!

3 lakhs would be good enough!
The advertisement is posted by some prankster. It cannot be an Austin A 40 with a Dodge Kingsway dash - all this for a mere Rs 40 K. It is fraudulent I believe.
anjan_c2007 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th April 2015, 20:29   #4644

Originally Posted by anjan_c2007 View Post
The advertisement is posted by some prankster. It cannot be an Austin A 40 with a Dodge Kingsway dash - all this for a mere Rs 40 K. It is fraudulent I believe.
One really cannot be sure.

A petrol Dodge Kingsway for 40K- I'm running to get it!

Last edited by FINTAIL : 7th April 2015 at 20:30.
FINTAIL is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th April 2015, 12:50   #4645

Originally Posted by anjan_c2007 View Post
You are correct anjan it's a fake ad. don't waste time guys...
Old 9th April 2015, 21:10   #4646

Originally Posted by HimuraKenshin View Post
Hi Everybody,
Im in desperate need of a PP.
The year of manufacture doesn't matter.
The ones ive seen for sale in mumbai either don't have the paperwork in order or the sellers demand exorbitant prices.
I want to purchase one, restore it and give to my girlfriend, hence any leads would be appreciated.
The car should be in Mumbai.
http://olx.in/item/fiat-premier-padm...tml#775fef2690

(Rs 28,000)

http://olx.in/item/vintage-fiat-1100...tml#b117505129

(Rs 50,000)
Old 11th April 2015, 01:12   #4647

Seeking a 1930 Rolls-Royce Phantom-II rolling chassis or a bare frame, if there's any for sale or any leads, please PM me, many thanks!
Old 11th April 2015, 11:28   #4648

[quote=ameet_pv;3679817]
Originally Posted by vinay kamath View Post
http://olx.in/item/classic-beetle-19...tml#b32bbd28ff

Can anyone pitch in what would be a appropriate price for this car.

Ameet
Car appears to be in good original condition from the photos(but appearances can be deceptive).If the mechanicals are also in perfect condition anything around 6 to 7 lakhs will be a good buy from both seller and buyer perspective
ajay99 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th April 2015, 20:00   #4649

http://olx.in/item/1947-model-royal-...tml#fb974be83f

http://olx.in/item/original-1955-fia...tml#ccc725b8fc

COIMBATORE
http://olx.in/item/standard-10-1954-...tml#d55c96a8b7

HYDERABAD
http://olx.in/item/standrd-10-1954-I...tml#27c840bb11

http://olx.in/item/fiat-classic-ital...tml#27c840bb11

http://olx.in/item/1951-modal-mores-IDUcVol.html

http://olx.in/item/old-model-bsa1951-IDUhzgh.html

http://olx.in/item/1951-vintage-matc...e-IDT3Lbt.html

http://olx.in/item/original-1955-fia...tml#ccc725b8fc

Last edited by vinay kamath : 11th April 2015 at 20:02.
vinay kamath is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th April 2015, 23:43   #4650

http://olx.in/item/1982-mercedes-ben...tml#22fe88e09e
vinay kamath is offline   (1) Thanks