Old 22nd November 2013, 14:09   #3991

re: Classic Cars available for purchase

Originally Posted by parthmehd View Post
the car does look unmolested on the outside
I don't mean to digress here or offend anyone but the car is far from 'unmolested' on the outside- the front grille has been changed, headlamps and mounts modified, tail-lamps non-original, to name a few.
Stanher is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2013, 22:05   #3992

Originally Posted by parthmehd View Post
Another Morris 8 two door for sale !

Got these pictures on whatsapps from a guy who claims to be running a car spa in Ahmedabad. I have don't know him and have never met him and am quite clueless how he got my number, so I would suggest that anyone interested may please deal with a bit of with care, though there is no real reason to suspect anything !

But the car does look unmolested on the outside, so I thought I would post the photos online if someone wanted to pick her up. Claimed to be a 2 owner car. Asking is 3.5 lacs. The phone number of the car spa guy is 09376121248.

Parth
Originally Posted by Stanher View Post
I don't mean to digress here or offend anyone but the car is far from 'unmolested' on the outside- the front grille has been changed, headlamps and mounts modified, tail-lamps non-original, to name a few.

No offence taken ! I am glad you pointed it out for everyone's benefit and in fact I am thankful that you corrected my mistake !

Another friend also asked me to take a closer look at the seats, which show through the closed window. The steering wheel also looks like its been modified !

Looks like nothing has remained "unmolested" as I first described it. Sorry, should have looked closer !

Parth
Old 24th November 2013, 12:07   #3993

There is advrtesiment in olx bangalore for a white beetle for sale

http://bangalore.olx.in/vintage-beet...-iid-560611968
kishorelal is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th November 2013, 14:25   #3994

Originally Posted by kishorelal View Post
There is advrtesiment in olx bangalore for a white beetle for sale

http://bangalore.olx.in/vintage-beet...-iid-560611968
If I am not mistaken this looks like the beetle shown here in these posts
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/post-w...ml#post2997747
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/post-w...ml#post2999188
One can see the owner is quoting a cool 5 lakh plus premium on his acquistion price within an year!!!!
Old 24th November 2013, 16:53   #3995

And we are taking pictures at weird angles just hide the number plate.
Old 24th November 2013, 19:06   #3996

Originally Posted by ajay99 View Post
If I am not mistaken this looks like the beetle shown here in these posts
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/post-w...ml#post2997747
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/post-w...ml#post2999188
One can see the owner is quoting a cool 5 lakh plus premium on his acquistion price within an year!!!!
ROI's on VeeDub's seems to be higher than any other investments presently. Seems to be a great business model...buy beetle at 4 lacs and sell it for 9 after spending some lose change in getting it spruced up as in Bombay they call it "Thook Pati". Amazing that such mediocre bugs with parts from every possible year onto it and the owner still expects 9 for it.
67Bug is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th November 2013, 19:43   #3997

Originally Posted by 67Bug View Post
ROI's on VeeDub's seems to be higher than any other investments presently. Seems to be a great business model...buy beetle at 4 lacs and sell it for 9 after spending some lose change in getting it spruced up as in Bombay they call it "Thook Pati". Amazing that such mediocre bugs with parts from every possible year onto it and the owner still expects 9 for it.

Car belongs to Ravi, a good friend of mine. Agree on the price part, its indeed exaggerated. But the car is original in most aspects, I can say, the things that are a mis-connect with that car is ( Dashboard Switches, Indicator stalk and missing ORVM's, mis fit body chrome moldings )

Originally Posted by Automaton View Post
And we are taking pictures at weird angles just hide the number plate.
Here are some better pics of the same car.
Classic Cars available for purchase-imag_2384.jpg  

Classic Cars available for purchase-imag_2388.jpg  

Classic Cars available for purchase-imag_2394.jpg  

Classic Cars available for purchase-imag_2395.jpg  

Classic Cars available for purchase-imag_2389.jpg  

PAVAN KADAM is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 25th November 2013, 12:50   #3998

Originally Posted by 67Bug View Post
Amazing that such mediocre bugs with parts from every possible year onto it and the owner still expects 9 for it.
Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
Car belongs to Ravi, a good friend of mine.
I know the owner too, and with due respect to him and his right to quote whatever price he sees fit, I won't comment on the price.
Perhaps he has been promised a better car at a better price, or perhaps he has been advised that this is the market value.
Whatever the reason, that is for him to know.

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
the things that are a mis-connect with that car is ( Dashboard Switches, Indicator stalk and missing ORVM's, mis fit body chrome moldings )
VW buyers today are a discerning lot. Of late, I've seen more people than ever before, who are in the know, when it comes to lack of originality and mismatched parts on VWs.

I think this is a positive phenomenon, as it means that VWs nowadays are better looked after than ever before, and to be honest, the rising value of VWs has given owners/collectors/dealers/investors the needed confidence to invest more in bringing their car upto spec.

Any discerning buyer who looks at these pics would quickly point out that most of the dash, the speedo, glovebox, fuel gauge, gear lever, steering cum ignition lock etc are pre 67, while the car is a 68.
This would inspire lesser confidence in a buyer, thinking of making an offer, even though as you say you have verified the Chassis number.

If it were me, and if I were selling a car, I'd ensure that most, if not all parts are up to spec before putting up pics. If nothing else, I'd at least wallow in the satisfaction of having re-instated value to a car (and I don't mean just monetary value).
thebulletboy is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 25th November 2013, 19:34   #3999
NKR

Hi to all,

First of all Thanks to Mr Ajay (ajay99) for helping and guiding me.
secondly would any of you be able to inform me of any pontons/fintail/w114 for sale.

Thanks and regards

NKR
Old 6th December 2013, 06:16   #4000

A friend of mine is interested in acquiring a vintage, pre 1939, British car. Budget is 6-8 lacs. Restored cars preferred. Details may be sent by e mail to me
Old 6th December 2013, 17:10   #4001

Originally Posted by C.S.ANANTH View Post
A friend of mine is interested in acquiring a vintage, pre 1939, British car. Budget is 6-8 lacs. Restored cars preferred. Details may be sent by e mail to me
There is a restored 2 door sedan of British marque available.It is 1936 model.
ajay99 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th December 2013, 18:34   #4002

An Essex to be auctioned next weekend.
This is a Pune car, owners were a very aged couple. They will wonder at the price. I met them in 1981. The car was picked up and circulated, maybe now in Delhi?

Cheers harit
Classic Cars available for purchase-essex-auction.jpg  

harit is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th December 2013, 22:50   #4003

Originally Posted by Stanher View Post

Just passing on the info.:
Our fellow team bhpian (late) Suren181's 1957 Fiat 1100 elegant (which many of us are familiar with) is up for sale now, as the family would be unable to maintain it in his absence. The car was fully restored, mechanically and bodily, back in 2007 with most of the original stuff intact.
Update: 'had been in touch with suren's son yesterday- he says the family has changed their mind and are hence not selling the car.

Mods may delete my post with the ad/pics. of the car if found necessary.
Stanher is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th December 2013, 00:07   #4004

Originally Posted by harit View Post
An Essex to be auctioned next weekend.
This is a Pune car, owners were a very aged couple. They will wonder at the price. I met them in 1981. The car was picked up and circulated, maybe now in Delhi?

Cheers harit
Yes the car is indeed in Delhi. Here it is at the 2012 edition of the Statesman rally.

Classic Cars available for purchase-dsc07994-copy.jpg
Old 7th December 2013, 14:47   #4005

2 classics for sale in BANGALORE
http://bangalore.olx.in/morris-1000-...-iid-574745319

http://bangalore.olx.in/fiat-500-194...-iid-574746022

a morris minor for sale in Kerala. No comments on the price.But the owners claims of originality is really befooling

http://thrissur.olx.in/1951-model-ma...-iid-574933473

Last edited by ajay99 : 7th December 2013 at 14:52.
ajay99 is offline   (1) Thanks