Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India

Old 22nd January 2013, 21:50   #3616

re: Classic Cars available for purchase

Originally Posted by ajay99 View Post
with regard to the Vauxhall Wyvern which is quoted at many times the usual market quotes. By the way that looks like a later model vauxhall .is it not?
This is an early 50s ('52-53) not a Wyvern but a Velox- tis a 6 CyL. (Wyvern is 4) but both have very negligible differences from the outside AFAIK. The Velox can be identified externally by the additional chrome 'lip' with the VAUXHALL lettering embossed on it, just on the centre edge of the bonnet below the Vauxhall emblem:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/jjs77/7229189602/

Compared to which the Wyvern had a 'plain' front end:

Last edited by Stanher : 22nd January 2013 at 21:55.
Old 25th January 2013, 17:23   #3617

Originally Posted by Stanher View Post
This is an early 50s ('52-53) not a Wyvern but a Velox- tis a 6 CyL. (Wyvern is 4) but both have very negligible differences from the outside AFAIK. The Velox can be identified externally by the additional chrome 'lip' with the VAUXHALL lettering embossed on it, just on the centre edge of the bonnet below the Vauxhall emblem:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/jjs77/7229189602/

Compared to which the Wyvern had a 'plain' front end:

There is a similar one here in Banglaore unsold for the past couple of years. Owner is asking 3L but no takers...
Old 25th January 2013, 22:23   #3618

Originally Posted by car love View Post
There is a similar one here in Banglaore unsold for the past couple of years. Owner is asking 3L but no takers...
Whats the condition of the car? Any pics. of it?
Old 25th January 2013, 22:44   #3619

The Velox can be identified externally by the additional chrome 'lip' with the VAUXHALL lettering embossed on it, just on the centre edge of the bonnet below the Vauxhall emblem:
Also, the two cars seem to have different turn indicators. The rusted piece of automobile has two round lights below the headlamp, while the refurbished car has just one. Does that have something to do with the identification too?
Old 25th January 2013, 22:55   #3620

Originally Posted by aravind.anand View Post
Also, the two cars seem to have different turn indicators. The rusted piece of automobile has two round lights below the headlamp, while the refurbished car has just one. Does that have something to do with the identification too?
The orange ones on the rusty car are non-original add-ons 'far as I can tell.
Old 26th January 2013, 10:47   #3621

Whats the condition of the car? Any pics. of it?
Here is the link:
http://klondajk.in/advertisement/vin...ngalore/114517
Old 26th January 2013, 12:01   #3622

Check this guys greed or shall we say idiocy..?
http://agra.olx.in/this-vintage-car-...-iid-467109901
car love is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th January 2013, 14:50   #3623

Check this guys greed or shall we say idiocy..?
http://agra.olx.in/this-vintage-car-...-iid-467109901
I would say that it is neither greed or idiocy, but "'benightedness''.
As per the ad this is their family heirloom and some mechanic or novice dealer must have told them that since it is an "'antique"' object it will fetch millions. I have come across similar examples in Kerala also ,where a guy was quoting Rs.5 lakhs for his family owned Landmaster in ru(i)n down condition,he even went to the extent of saying that he had an offer for Rs.4.75 lakhs!!! Another person a well educated Dental surgeon had demanded Rs.20 Lakhs for his 1948 Vauxhall which had alloy wheels and lot of mod jobs!!
But according to some forum members even if somebody asks a crore for a Mark1 ambassador no one should not criticise it because since he is the owner he can ask any price.
ajay99 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th January 2013, 22:51   #3624

Sorry but this is a later model (mid 50s) to the one in my pics. as can be made out from the front end.

Incidentally, this car has been Dieselised, as mentioned the fuel type. No wonder I guess that it hasnt found any buyers.
Old 31st January 2013, 19:20   #3625

Few cars advertised for sale which appear to be reasonably priced

http://mangalore.olx.in/england-rela...-iid-474935854

http://indore.olx.in/hm-landmaster-1...-iid-477774297

http://kayamkulam.olx.in/volkswagen-...-iid-477795668
ajay99 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st January 2013, 21:41   #3626

Originally Posted by ajay99 View Post
Few cars advertised for sale which appear to be reasonably priced

http://mangalore.olx.in/england-rela...-iid-474935854
I'm almost tempted for the Beetle!! If only I had more space...!
Old 1st February 2013, 13:50   #3627

Me too! But there is no number to call or an email address to send an email directly. Have to go through OlX's system and wait for the person to reply. Does anyone have a contact number of the seller?
Old 1st February 2013, 14:33   #3628

Originally Posted by kevinephraim View Post
Me too! But there is no number to call or an email address to send an email directly. Have to go through OlX's system and wait for the person to reply. Does anyone have a contact number of the seller?
And by the time you get the reply or contact information, the car is already gone . I had a similar case few jears back with a Willys Jeep MB, 20 grand asking (not in sound condition) in Simogha, and by the time I could contact the jeep is gone.
Old 1st February 2013, 15:17   #3629

Guys, looks like the Beetle sale advert is a spam just to check for responses. I wouldn't waste my energy in that.

The Landmaster with the morris engine looks rather good. and reasonable too, if anyone has the time space and money to save this car it would be great.
Old 2nd February 2013, 17:29   #3630

Why dont you try for this which is something closer to you
http://hyderabad.olx.in/standard-10-...-iid-478436179