Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India

Old 7th June 2010, 23:12   #2251

Originally Posted by cmdalvi View Post
i do think that there is a lot of useful info that surfaces during healthy debates, but then i think we should stop when it starts getting a little sarcastic and mean no offence to anyone here
Hi! Well, I was not trying to give any useful info but was trying to correct misinformation. That a few posts were OT did happen, but I did not start that subject here. There two major things not correct. One, that cars in Delhi with out of state regn. plates are often not upto date with their books. If I were a Dilliwalla with such a car, I would object, whether my papers were in order or not.
Secondly, the impression given was that it is OK to use old cars even if papers of these old cars were not upto date, after all some heroes have gone round the country. That was misleading, someone may refer to these posts and go ahead.
Please remember, everyone can read these posts, even the authorities, some officials too are bitten by our bug.
Humour and sarcasm add spice and a little bit of fun, see how Indrojit reacted with his disclaimer, the humour just continued. We do banter, and we do respect each other.

hey guys
I have been offered this '73 - '77 oldsmobile cutlass 2 door coupe for sale
V8, automatic
the agent insists its a '66-'71 model, but i think its a '73-'77
he didnt have a clue on the p.d , so it could be anything from 4.3 to 7.5
He insists it is in a running condition with original engine and the works
asking price : around 6.5 L any comments
Back to the main subject.
As I understand, you are looking for a muscle car, a very rare species in India. And not at all cheap. Since there are not more than around 25 genuine muscle cars like Dodge Charger's in India, you are unlikely to find one easily. Most have been picked up and never sold on, many have been scrapped, as Amitabh demolished a Camaro in a movie. From my collection of muscle cars, one came from Chor Bazar!, another from a filmwallah's lot! Another was pushed out on the road (he wants it back) and I can go on.
As debated before in another thread, we could consider American V8 engined cars with two doors as the next best thing. The 6 cylinder Mustangs are not muscle cars. So in that sense this car you picture could qualify. I personally would buy it.
About the price, well do you have any options? If you want bad, you negotiate and finish the deal immediately. When buying some cars which I wanted badly, I set a price, told the guy not to come back without the car, and many times the limit was exceeded. This Olds is ugly, but a brute, that is what muscle cars are all about. I know people who bought V8 engined 4-door cars and converted them to 2 door just to have a "muscle" high.
Now you have to decide. Do what you think is right. And the Olds is a much better thing than the Capri, even if that were to come very cheap.

Cheers harit
Old 7th June 2010, 23:39   #2252

Originally Posted by harit View Post
Hi! Well, I was not trying to give any useful info but was trying to correct misinformation. That a few posts were OT did happen, but I did not start that subject here. There two major things not correct. One, that cars in Delhi with out of state regn. plates are often not upto date with their books. If I were a Dilliwalla with such a car, I would object, whether my papers were in order or not.
Secondly, the impression given was that it is OK to use old cars even if papers of these old cars were not upto date, after all some heroes have gone round the country. That was misleading, someone may refer to these posts and go ahead.
Please remember, everyone can read these posts, even the authorities, some officials too are bitten by our bug.
Humour and sarcasm add spice and a little bit of fun, see how Indrojit reacted with his disclaimer, the humour just continued. We do banter, and we do respect each other.

Cheers harit
Agree with you on the humour and the sarcasm bit but not the first and second part. Each one to his own i would say.
Old 8th June 2010, 03:02   #2253

cmdalvi, the dealer in ahmedabad is a certain mr singh. The bimmer is a 7 series early to mid eighties, direct import orange colour 720i straight six auto. Was sold to him after more than two years of storage with a uk plate. If i am right, the car is as yet unregistered and this all happened more than a decade or more ago. the other is a Caddilac fleetwood bought from Bombay and is lying with him deteriorating with the BMW, if not sold as yet. The Bimmer lacks registeration papers and the Caddy might be wanting of the One Time tax.

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
Last heard from one Delhi Dealer about that Split Bus.

" sirjee engine nahi hain, par dont worry, mein intazaam kar doonga"
sounds familair!! i met a dealer from there once who offered me a mustng with the same option. "Aree sirji, engine wengine ka kya hai, koi bhi Ford v8 daal denge"

Originally Posted by IndrojitSircar View Post
I remember a dealer selling me one bus with everything complete. Will try and look for the pics and put them up here.
thanks, would appreciate that.
Old 8th June 2010, 03:17   #2254

I found one pic of that bus. Some VW experts can maybe say what year it could be? Here it is -
Classic Cars available for purchase-untitled1.jpg  

Old 8th June 2010, 04:00   #2255

hey guys

I have been offered this '73 - '77 oldsmobile cutlass 2 door coupe for sale
V8, automatic

the agent insists its a '66-'71 model, but i think its a '73-'77
he didnt have a clue on the p.d , so it could be anything from 4.3 to 7.5

He insists it is in a running condition with original engine and the works

asking price : around 6.5 L
any comments
Hey cmdalvi, the dealer is taking you for a ride cause this is the very car I bought 6 months ago from delhi.
Old 9th June 2010, 13:16   #2256

@ harit

cheers to the spirit there and thanks for your views, i do agree completely on the availability of muscle cars,
this olds will certainly roar more than the capri any damn day, but its ugly man
I think i need to be patient while buying a classic, something that is not exactly among my qualities, but tryin to get there

@ v -16

hey i know this guy, if i am not wrong, he is a sardarji but not Mr singh, rather mr khalsa
he does have the beamer still, actually hes got one more now other than the 7 series unregistered you are referring to, still in his garage and could never have a look yet
he has a honda prelude now along with a coupla old jeeps, i guess hes gotten rid of the caddy

@anish9000

dude, that comes as a surprise, a shock rather, i m goin to take it up with him 'coz hes majorly behind my back to go for this olds,
couldnt help noticin though, that you are located in kolkata and the agent reckons the vehicle is also in kolkata for sale, are you by any chance keen in selling it ???
BTW, how much did you buy it for?
Old 9th June 2010, 13:45   #2257

hey guys
check this out

1970 VW variant for sale @ 2.5 L

eBay India: ESTEEM/FORD ESCORT/VOLKSWAGEN VARIANT (item 220616685741 end time 04-Jul-2010 13:52:55 IST)
Old 9th June 2010, 13:53   #2258

Variant was available for years. It is sold and in Chennai. Mentioned elsewhere on the forum.
Old 9th June 2010, 13:54   #2259

@anish9000

dude, that comes as a surprise, a shock rather, i m goin to take it up with him 'coz hes majorly behind my back to go for this olds,
couldnt help noticin though, that you are located in kolkata and the agent reckons the vehicle is also in kolkata for sale, are you by any chance keen in selling it ???
BTW, how much did you buy it for?
I infact was speeking to him the other day and asked what cars he owns. When he mentioened having this car i asked him that are you selling it?
So he said no and its under restoration. Then he asked me to show him the pic and which i did and then he was just laughing his head off. I asked him to drop a post pointing it out. The car is not for sale.

A really old ad. This car has been for sale for a long time now. I think the ad i saw of it was 3 years back.

Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
Variant was available for years. It is sold and in Chennai. Mentioned elsewhere on the forum.

You are right it has been for sale for your but i didn't know it gone. Any idea whos car it is now ?

Last edited by IndrojitSircar : 9th June 2010 at 13:56.
Old 9th June 2010, 14:08   #2260

@ indrojit

Boy, these agents are one of a kind really..

@anish

thanks for the info man
Old 9th June 2010, 14:10   #2261

@ indrojit

Boy, these agents are one of a kind really..
I remeber once an agent had come for something to our place and then shot pics of a car under restoration and floated it in the market for sale. Gotta be really careful of these guys.
Old 9th June 2010, 15:46   #2262

Dont know if the VW variant is still available... I dont think it is worth 2.5L as stuff on the car will not be orignal going by what i can see from the pics.
Old 9th June 2010, 15:49   #2263

Originally Posted by allana13 View Post
Dont know if the VW variant is still available... I dont think it is worth 2.5L as stuff on the car will not be orignal going by what i can see from the pics.

Karl is right the car is sold to Chennai. I had some more pics of it will try and look for them.
Old 9th June 2010, 15:57   #2264

Originally Posted by anish9000 View Post
Hey cmdalvi, the dealer is taking you for a ride cause this is the very car I bought 6 months ago from delhi.
Gotta be really careful of these guys.
Can you guys name the dealer here? Seems to be a crook.
Old 9th June 2010, 18:21   #2265

Karl is right the car is sold to Chennai. I had some more pics of it will try and look for them.
yes that car was bought recently by a chennaite who took it first to bangalore, and the photos of its sojourn in bangalore was vividly photos sessioned in some other thread here.
Even a concourse single owner Variant is not worth a buy at 2 or 2.5 lakhs in my view