Old 14th April 2010, 23:22   #2146

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
Eeew.....!

Low bonnets never existed in 1952.

This one is contraptions of lots of mix and match of different jeeps. And even the engine swap. Sad wheels.

Unless he's selling it for less than 75K, its not worth the money.
A better one is for sale @ Old Madras Road & 100 feet road Junction in Bangalore Probably a willys. Try for pictures when I get back.
Old 14th April 2010, 23:25   #2147

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
Eeew.....!

Low bonnets never existed in 1952.

This one is contraptions of lots of mix and match of different jeeps. And even the engine swap. Sad wheels.

Unless he's selling it for less than 75K, its not worth the money.
Low bonnets Willys') were indeed being made in 1952. please check this link:

1952 Willys Jeeps - Google Search
As regards the parts swap , yes these are facts.
Old 15th April 2010, 14:54   #2148

This 1952 low bonnet Jeep (is it a Ford?) with some exterior mod jobs and powered by the ISZ 1800 petrol engine is available for sale at Nagpur.
The seller is my mechanic, who is also a garage owner.I am not aware of the finer details which he may be able to tell better.
I can pm his number and email id to anyone interested.
If it is Babubhai (the guy who has a pillarless black Impala), then better beware. I have got an information that he sell restored beauties with lots of alterations but charges the sum for an original classic. Does anyone have anyother feedback?
Old 15th April 2010, 19:16   #2149

Originally Posted by wartikars View Post
If it is Babubhai (the guy who has a pillarless black Impala), then better beware. I have got an information that he sell restored beauties with lots of alterations but charges the sum for an original classic. Does anyone have anyother feedback?
True its Babubhai. But we are all independent thinking and matured people with an idea of the market.If the price is not upto our liking we can always negotiate to bring it down to the realistic level or else reject the offer.
Old 16th April 2010, 17:35   #2150

Originally Posted by manishalive View Post
A better one is for sale @ Old Madras Road & 100 feet road Junction in Bangalore Probably a willys. Try for pictures when I get back.

i have been there, that guy tells that all the engine swaps and it has moved from LHD to RHD.

and he is quoating 3.5 Lakh
Old 19th April 2010, 17:09   #2151

I have come across few cars depending on the condition mostly original and working.
Buick Super 8 20 to 40 lakhs
Chevy 1970 1 to 4 lakhs
Austin 7 1938 10 lakhs (had been in vintage rallies)
Morris Minor convertable 3 to 4 lakhs
VW Rabbit 1 to 4 lakhs
Old 19th April 2010, 19:10   #2152

Are these for sale ????

Will be intrested to see pics of the VW......
Old 19th April 2010, 19:14   #2153

Cars for sale

Originally Posted by CarCzar View Post
I have come across few cars depending on the condition mostly original and working.
Chevy 1970 1 to 4 lakhs
VW Rabbit 1 to 4 lakhs
I would like get more information on these cars. I might be interested once the condition, year, price, etc. is ascertained. Please send me the details.
Old 19th April 2010, 19:24   #2154

Originally Posted by CarCzar View Post
Chevy 1970 1 to 4 lakhs
VW Rabbit 1 to 4 lakhs
Nice to hear that.
Are the cars available in HYD. Can you share some more info plz.
Old 23rd April 2010, 09:13   #2155

Originally Posted by anjan_c2007 View Post
True its Babubhai. But we are all independent thinking and matured people with an idea of the market.If the price is not upto our liking we can always negotiate to bring it down to the realistic level or else reject the offer.
but as a fellow Team-BHPian, I thought to caution our friends. Thats the reason I had asked if anyone has any feedback.
Old 23rd April 2010, 09:57   #2156

members looking out for Lamby or lambretta Chasis , Quiet sure they should be one just lying around at some members place ,
as found a lambretta which is in two halves would like to restore it so looking out for one .Do let me know or some source .
Old 23rd April 2010, 20:37   #2157

Anjan the Jeep looks like similar to being a Dhabwali/Mayapuri job. In 1952 MBs were not made. (by MB i am referring to the sunk in style of headlamps and parking BO lamps) as is shown in this one. Its probably an early Willy's CJ as MBs were not made during 50s. also the Ford did not make any other Jeep than the MB type as shown. Maybe this is a Ford, but then its not a 1952 certainly as in 1950's there was no Ford.

Better leave it. its a Kitsch Jeep.
Old 23rd April 2010, 22:29   #2158

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Anjan the Jeep looks like similar to being a Dhabwali/Mayapuri job. In 1952 MBs were not made. (by MB i am referring to the sunk in style of headlamps and parking BO lamps) as is shown in this one. Its probably an early Willy's CJ as MBs were not made during 50s. also the Ford did not make any other Jeep than the MB type as shown. Maybe this is a Ford, but then its not a 1952 certainly as in 1950's there was no Ford.
Better leave it. its a Kitsch Jeep.
Thanks for the feedback.Moreover its fitted with an Isuzu 1800 petrol engine.Maybe its Ok for someone who likes to freak out with such jeeps but not for true blue vintage/classic lovers like us.
Old 24th April 2010, 11:16   #2159

1942 to 1944-45 Ford GPW

Gogi Bhai,

This one is a 1942 to 1944-45 Ford GPW. That's because only wartime Ford GPWs and Willys MBs had recessed headlamps. The major difference between the GPW and MB was the front cross member. While the MB had a circular pipe, the GPW had a rectangular cross member. The pictures clearly show a rectangular cross member.

This is not a CJ because of the recessed headlamps and also CJs didn't have a glove compartment on the dash. Also the CJs had a tail gate.
The basic difference between the WWII Fords and Willys engines and the post war Willys engine was the use of timing chain in the former while the post war civilian models had timing gears.

Inspite of the rims and engine, this GPW is not a bad deal for 75k, as suggested by Pavan Kadam, because the original side valve engine would cost around 50k and keeping aside another 75k for other works, the restored GPW would cost around 2L, which I think is reasonable.

BTW the radiator on this is also not genuine. The Ford script on windscreen and grill is also after market as the US Army regulations forbade the use of any external markings. Some initial models had the script but these are very rare.

Perak
Old 24th April 2010, 19:22   #2160

Guys there is a standard Herald and i presume it is for sale as it is standing with a dealer in Bombay. Shall get the details and the pictures when i go there next.