Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India

Old 24th September 2007, 14:12   #91

Thanks for the detailed review!!!The blue convertible is not a dodge kingsway. Its a buick 8/roadmaster
Old 24th September 2007, 14:16   #92

Originally Posted by hkanitkar View Post
continued from part 1 ( post no. 81 )
Badamikar's VW - somebody please tell me what is it called ?

Badamikar's other war-machine ( dunno if its a VW or not )

Firstly great pics buddy. Thanks for taking the trouble to post these
Badamikar's car is NOT A VW. It is a Tempo powered by DKW mechanicals and featured among other things twin, DKW two stroke engines at opposite ends of the vehicle. Appears that Badamikar's car has been cleverly hybridized to a VW. It has the body of a Tempo and only one engine of a VW with VW wheels and drive-train and suspension. There is an original tempo which I have personally seen whose pic i am posting. If you compare the two cars you will realize the differences. Therefore Badamikar's car is not a VW Tempo as there was no such car then or even now. Note the suspension set up and the rims in the original Tempo as against the other car.

This is the original Tempo

Regarding the other war machine it looks like a Russian Volga or a Gaz truck. Notice the lookout seat on the fender.

Dodge Kingsway

Vauxhall Volker

Boss the Dodge Kingsway is actually a Buick Eight probably a 1947.

And shouldn't this be the Vauxhall Velox instead of a Volker?

Continued from part 4..
Other Mercs : Dont know the Model Numbers.. Karl/V16 - please enlighten !!

These are two SL variants of the Mercedes

The first is the R-107 Chassis made between 1977-1982. Looking at the twin headlamps and the extended bumpers it is an American model as during these days the American road safety rules permitted only a certain type of headlamps (sealed beams) and bumpers amongst other things.

The other one is a later SL the R-129 Chassis made from 1989-2002

Last edited by V-16 : 24th September 2007 at 14:18. Reason: add
Old 24th September 2007, 14:49   #93

MYM 1291 is a Fordson. I believe it is British, and a subsidiary of Ford. This car was procured from the Maharaja of Mysore.

Gogi is absolutely right on the VW/Tempo G1200. Curiously it carries a VW ID plate reading Type 42. Can anyone help identify what a type 42 is? VW Heritage officials I met in Wolfsburg told me no such models exist. This car runs on a Type 3 engine, with VW Van 5 lug wheels, pre 68.

Old 24th September 2007, 14:55   #94

MG Rover

What car is this ? Didn't see any badge..

I have missed clicking a lot of cars. Official count should be available with Karl.
The first car is an MGB...Rover wasnt in the picture back then.

The second car is a 32 Chrysler. I remember Awini telling me he had a role to play in the restoration of the car, dont know details though. Awini, do tell us more about it.

I think the total number of entries was around 130. Beats me how many turned up, though it was close to that figure.
Old 24th September 2007, 15:50   #95

Thanks a lot neeraj, gogi.

@gogi bhai, karl, jayD -- extremely sorry for the mixup in names.. i had pics of the wrongly named cars on my desktop, downloaded from net.. accidentally ended up saving them with wrong names all over !

@karl : about the MGB - man, what the heck was i high on ??

@gogi, karl : abt Badamikar's war machine no. 1 : i went by the logo on the bonnet, thus thinking its a VW. Thanks a lot for clearing up !
btw, the second one ( Fordson ) looks more like a shikar vehicle ( because of the lookout seat )

PS : looks like yesterday was a Rolls Royce day. On our way back to Le meridien from breakfast @ Marz-o-rin, we spotted a silver RR Phantom, MH 43 reg with el cheapo ( looks wise ) bling rims - didnt suit the car at all.

Last edited by hkanitkar : 24th September 2007 at 15:54.
Old 24th September 2007, 16:36   #96

Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
....The VW/Tempo G1200. Curiously it carries a VW ID plate reading Type 42. Can anyone help identify what a type 42 is? VW Heritage officials I met in Wolfsburg told me no such models exist. This car runs on a Type 3 engine, with VW Van 5 lug wheels, pre 68.

Well Karl, we all know what a hotch potch this whole car is. Maybe its the VW type 411 (body & engine) which was called as the type 42 (body & engine). This would be the "Long Nose" or the Variant lookalike with twin Head lamps (the Red one you showed me in Pune). Maybe in some markets it came with a plate of type 42. These were essentially Brazilian made. Moreover, maybe the original owner bought the plate as scrap and just fixed it not knowing that Detective Karl-Nosy Parker Fiat Walla is going to dig under the skin and expose his bluff at asome pater date
Another theorey is that since the "Thing" uses VW Type III engine i.e. what we call Variant (btu is called actually a VW notchback or a VW 1500/1600) Engine and Microbus wheels and lug nuts (that would be the Type II). It might have a cleverly crafted Type II plate. Honestly I think the whole process is shady. A VW bhelpuri on a Tempo body.

@Hkanitkar- no sweat man it happens to everyone, dont worry. and re the VW tempo mix up, it was delibrately put there to confuse people. It is passed off as a VW Tempo. Had us foxed too but you know Team-Bhp ke jasooson ki pahuch bahut dur dur tak hai.

Last edited by V-16 : 24th September 2007 at 16:40. Reason: add
Old 24th September 2007, 17:01   #97

@gogi bhai - thanks man and ** bow to Detective Karlos Fiatwalle **

Btw, i have the high res pics of almost all cars ( and specially the exotics have come out real good ! ). If anyone wants them, please PM me.
Old 24th September 2007, 17:03   #98

Its confirmed, the VW type 411=412.
Old 24th September 2007, 17:12   #99

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Its confirmed, the VW type 411=412.
Yup, the 411 and 412 were related, but this car says type 42, not 412. I asked many world renowned experts at the Hessisch Oldendorf classic VW show in Germany, nobody had a clue what it was.

Here is a 412 fastback at the Wolfsburg Stiftung Museum.

Last edited by karlosdeville : 24th September 2007 at 17:13.
Old 24th September 2007, 21:43   #100

like gogi bhai says this car is not an original. the car is made on the platform of the VW. it has a VW chasis and engine and the body if i remember right was made and hense has the VW logo. the owner thought it would be more original and created his own model type.

this is the 84 450slc

this is the 92 300 sl 2.4 if i remember right. dont jump on me but if i remember thats what the rear reads. both cars belong to korgaon park and the same person.
Old 24th September 2007, 22:28   #101

Speedy the red one is not the 450 slc. His 450 slc has a bombay number and is copper in colour. This is definately an SL probably a 280/380 Sl

@ Karl- Mistake became what i wanted to post was that the type 411=42. trying to find the link to it:
Old 24th September 2007, 23:27   #102

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Speedy the red one is not the 450 slc. His 450 slc has a bombay number and is copper in colour. This is definately an SL probably a 280/380 Sl
then it is the 560 slc these are the two 80's sl's of his 450 and 560 that he brings out all the time. one is red and the other is orangeish.
Old 25th September 2007, 13:02   #103

The red Sl300 2.4 (MH-01-R-720) is a Mumbai car. Was for sale with a dealer few years ago. There was also a dark green 450 SLC with one of the dealers.
Old 25th September 2007, 13:08   #104

Awesome cars !!!!!!We are going to have a Vintage car display for the World Tourism Day on 27th Sep in Hyderabad and a Mega Vintage Car & Bike Display at the World Military Games in October in Hyderabad.All HyderbadBhpians are welcome.For details reach me on 9849160105.
Old 25th September 2007, 13:10   #105

Stanher,
Are u aware of the Vintage Rally on 27th Sep and also at the World Military Games in October in Hyderabad?