Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India

Old 17th November 2018, 11:34   #1
v12

Vintage & Classic Car Online Auction : Nov 20-21, 2018

Came across this ad in today's Times of India.

Vintage and Classic Car Online Auction
Nov 20-21
www.astaguru.com

The as shows a 1947 Rolls Royce Silver Wraith

http://astaguru.com/auction-calender.aspx#
Vintage & Classic Car Online Auction : Nov 20-21, 2018-screenshot_20181117113300052_com.android.chrome2.png  

v12 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 17th November 2018, 12:17   #2

Re: Classic Cars available for purchase

Originally Posted by v12 View Post
Came across this ad in today's Times of India.

Vintage and Classic Car Online Auction
Nov 20-21
Here are the cars up for the auction

Vintage & Classic Car Online Auction : Nov 20-21, 2018-1.jpg

Vintage & Classic Car Online Auction : Nov 20-21, 2018-2.jpg

Vintage & Classic Car Online Auction : Nov 20-21, 2018-3.jpg

Vintage & Classic Car Online Auction : Nov 20-21, 2018-4.jpg

Vintage & Classic Car Online Auction : Nov 20-21, 2018-5.jpg

Vintage & Classic Car Online Auction : Nov 20-21, 2018-6.jpg

Vintage & Classic Car Online Auction : Nov 20-21, 2018-7.jpg

Vintage & Classic Car Online Auction : Nov 20-21, 2018-8.jpg

Vintage & Classic Car Online Auction : Nov 20-21, 2018-9.jpg
KartikeyaL is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 17th November 2018, 12:39   #3

The Auction starting bids are ambitious to say the least.

With Auction culture kicking in, I'm afraid we'll see a further soaring of an over-heated market. Nice cars though.
Old 19th November 2018, 14:45   #4

Originally Posted by octane1002 View Post
The Auction starting bids are ambitious to say the least.

With Auction culture kicking in, I'm afraid we'll see a further soaring of an over-heated market. Nice cars though.
on the other hand, fresh imports will begin to look more lucrative, an early 40s Cadillac will cost less to import and restore than the opening bid on the Chrysler in the auction, which you will probably have to work on after you buy it!
Old 19th November 2018, 16:10   #5

Originally Posted by awini View Post
on the other hand, fresh imports will begin to look more lucrative, an early 40s Cadillac will cost less to import and restore than the opening bid on the Chrysler in the auction, which you will probably have to work on after you buy it!
With due respect, perhaps you are unaware of what restorers today charge for a decent job.

The owner of a recent import Cadillac being restored in Bombay has been quoted 35lakhs for just cosmetic work like body paint seats and chrome.

Mechanical work being additional, probably another 15 lakhs at least.

If you add this to the actual cost of import, and I mean actual, not the value shown for custom duty purposes, which in many, ( not all )cases is suppressed, you may find the cost way above what you thought.
Bulldogji is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 19th November 2018, 17:03   #6

Originally Posted by Bulldogji View Post
With due respect, perhaps you are unaware of what restorers today charge for a decent job.

The owner of a recent import Cadillac being restored in Bombay has been quoted 35lakhs for just cosmetic work like body paint seats and chrome.

Mechanical work being additional, probably another 15 lakhs at least.

If you add this to the actual cost of import, and I mean actual, not the value shown for custom duty purposes, which in many, ( not all )cases is suppressed, you may find the cost way above what you thought.
im sure those are exceptional quotes, for specific cars and clients .

https://classiccars.com/listings/vie...ton-ohio-45439

heres a complete running car for $14000, should cost about 35-38 lakhs after duties and taxes. project cars cost far less. point is, even if you buy the Chrysler at 35lakhs or so as the auctioneers expect, you will still have to restore it, might as well spend that money on a Cadillac instead, since its not exactly a desirable body on the Chrysler. of the cars in the auction, only the Studebaker interests me, for its originality.
awini is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th November 2018, 07:14   #7

re: Vintage & Classic Car Online Auction : Nov 20-21, 2018

Vintage and Classic Car Online Auction : Nov 20-21 - Posts moved to a new thread.
Aditya is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 20th November 2018, 22:36   #8

Originally Posted by KartikeyaL View Post
Here are the cars up for the auction
Attaching the same in PDF form in case it helps anyone...
File Type: pdf AstaGuru Car Catalogue November 2018_FINAL-1.pdf (9.14 MB, 577 views)
Rehaan is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st November 2018, 17:05   #9

Re: Vintage & Classic Car Online Auction : Nov 20-21, 2018

Another auction is fixed for february2019 in New Delhi by Osiana
I expect Gautam Sen to be the driving force of this venture.
Bulldogji is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2018, 00:00   #10

Most cars have attracted some crazy bids at this auction, looks like people who have bid are not from the fraternity, dont know if this is good or bad for the hobby.

The first picture shows the final bids received at the auction

Vintage & Classic Car Online Auction : Nov 20-21, 2018-20181121_235322.jpg

The one below shows the prices including the margin.

Vintage & Classic Car Online Auction : Nov 20-21, 2018-20181121_235245.jpg
KartikeyaL is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2018, 00:24   #11

Actually I feel the current cartel which decides prices and who should get what , at least in Bombay, Will now be broken.
These may be prices on the higher side, let market forces decide!

There are those in the so called fraternity who seem to think it their birthright to decide who gets what and at what prices.

Now perhaps things will begin to change, transparency may well bring in new enthusiasts .

Let's wait and see.

Also remember, one swallow does not a summer bring
Bulldogji is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2018, 17:24   #12

Excellent response to the auction. Doesn't really matter if the buyers are first timers or collectors. Such events will make the Indian classic car scene more mature and transparent. Eventually market forces will decide whether the prices are realistic or not. Once a few more auctions happen the picture will be clearer.
manishk123 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 24th November 2018, 13:41   #13

Originally Posted by KartikeyaL View Post
Most cars have attracted some crazy bids at this auction, looks like people who have bid are not from the fraternity, dont know if this is good or bad for the hobby.

The first picture shows the final bids received at the auction

Attachment 1821035

The one below shows the prices including the margin.

Attachment 1821034
everyone is a first time buyer sometime, including big name collectors worldwide, I don't mind the lesser cars fetching a high price, it then justifies making the effort to restore them, as for the Silver Wraith at nearly 2 crores, there are plenty of better options one can import at that price point. and legally too... time to hoard up and mothball cheap early Maruti Zens, Gypsys and Honda City Vtechs...
Old 24th November 2018, 21:43   #14

I don't mind the lesser cars fetching a high price
Surely it matters not to any buyer what you , I , or any one other than the buyer himself minds ..

As for the Silver Wraith at nearly 2 crores, there are plenty of better options one can import at that price point. and legally too)
There are always options! The buyer , especially one who spends this amount of money , would have done his research and decided that the price works for him. Who are we to question?

You are quite right when you say that for two crores there are better options, but those options which may look better to you , may not to someone else.

Suffice to say the market will decide, irrespective of what you or I may feel is the correct price.

With prices becoming more public, even sellors who have inherited old cars and do not really know their worth will benefit, unscrupulous individuals will find it difficult to fool elderly and less informed folks into parting with cars at throwaway prices just because someone sweet talks them

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 26th November 2018 at 13:57. Reason: Fixing quotes.
Bulldogji is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 24th November 2018, 22:44   #15

Originally Posted by Bulldogji View Post
There are always options!
The buyer , especially one who spends this amount of money , would have done his research and decided that the price works for him. Who are we to question?

You are quite right when you say that for two crores there are better options, but those options which may look better to you , may not to someone else.

Suffice to say the market will decide, irrespective of what you or I may feel is the correct price.

With prices becoming more public, even sellors who have inherited old cars and do not really know their worth will benefit, unscrupulous individuals will find it difficult to fool elderly and less informed folks into parting with cars at throwaway prices just because someone sweet talks them
Fair enough. It is a Rolls Royce at the end of the day, and that's all that counts for many. And were it fitted with a different body, even I would have considered it a bargain at that price.

Last edited by navin : 26th November 2018 at 11:05.
awini is offline   (1) Thanks