Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India

Old 7th December 2009, 12:43   #2581

Originally Posted by chanu View Post
Anjan its a Merc is it? Poor thing doors are falling off. Here is my contribution to the sad sagas. Owners please wakeup.
Did you get any pictures of the morris 8 tourer next to it's big Sister?
Old 7th December 2009, 13:06   #2582

Originally Posted by ace_hillman View Post
Hey Chanu,

Which is the car next to the Baby Hindustan in your picture?
Its not Baby Hindustan its Hindustan 14.
Old 7th December 2009, 15:22   #2583

Yes Jai, its indeed a Hindustan 14. Thanks for correcting. Chanu, where is this garage?
Old 7th December 2009, 19:07   #2584

Originally Posted by ace_hillman View Post
Yes Jai, its indeed a Hindustan 14. Thanks for correcting. Chanu, where is this garage?
It's in Hyderabad, the part of town what is known as the "old city", just opposite to the rear entrance of the Mahatma Gandhi bus station.

The guy used to have an Austin 10 or 12 saloon too, in reasonably original condition, and a Fiat 500C that wasn't too original when I first met him 3 years ago. Someone else did post pics. of the Morris 8 tourer and red/black saloon next to the 14, I think in this thread itself, earlier.

He also has a WW2 BSA 'girder fork' bike, that is a regular at the local rallies.
Old 10th December 2009, 08:38   #2585

Thanks Anjan. I magine one in Silver colour with loads of chrome.

There was one movie in telugu named MALLESHWARI starring Katrina Kaif and Venkatesh in that movie they blew off the similar kind of car. Don't understand why do these movie makers are back of these vintage/classic cars.

Yes the one next to the tourer is a Hindustan, I will get some more pictures of the morris 8 when I visit the garage next time. This guy is famous for his Austin which he inherited from his grandfather and is regular in Hyderabad rallies. He has also got a BSA M20. Its Original except the tail lamp etc. I will post pics of all in my next trip.
Old 19th December 2009, 17:00   #2586

Some good cars dying their natural death

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-dsc05534.jpg

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-dsc05535.jpg

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-dsc05537.jpg

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-dsc05538.jpg

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-dsc05539.jpg

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-dsc05540.jpg

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-dsc05541.jpg
Old 19th December 2009, 18:47   #2587

Where are these cars ? The Merc's going into the ground, but the Golf looks very salvageable ! The Padmini seems an aborted attempt at Roddin' !!
Old 19th December 2009, 18:54   #2588

Originally Posted by SuperSelect View Post
Where are these cars ? The Merc's going into the ground, but the Golf looks very salvageable ! The Padmini seems an aborted attempt at Roddin' !!
All these cars are in a garage near my house. When manish and me went near the Merc, the mechanic in charge immediately comes and asks us "Kya saab, gadi hona so? acha gadi hai so".. That Merc is rusted badly inside too...
Old 21st December 2009, 15:12   #2589

Rust in Pieces

Originally Posted by SuperSelect View Post
Found this car in the porch of a "Bhoot Bunglow" in the Busy St. Marks road. I think it is a Hillman. In a very very sorry state, same as the Bunglow. Could any knowledgable BHpian identify the Car?
Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-sathish513.jpg  

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-sathish514.jpg  

Old 21st December 2009, 15:18   #2590

Yes Sudharma, its indeed a Hillman Minx looks like a phase 5, may be around 1950 - 52. Where exactly is this, I have one of these, and needed those bootlid hinges and ratchets (if they are still there inside). Also a few other things, which I guess I can salvage..
Old 21st December 2009, 15:43   #2591

Now that is such an interesting picture.

A crumbling mansion with an equally neglected car parked in the porch....gives on the impression that aliens had abducted the owners!!

I can almost see that "bhoot" in the background shreiking with laughter.
Old 21st December 2009, 15:57   #2592

Originally Posted by sudharma View Post
Found this car in the porch of a "Bhoot Bunglow" in the Busy St. Marks road. I think it is a Hillman. In a very very sorry state, same as the Bunglow. Could any knowledgable BHpian identify the Car?
Originally Posted by wasif View Post
Now that is such an interesting picture.

A crumbling mansion with an equally neglected car parked in the porch....gives on the impression that aliens had abducted the owners!!

I can almost see that "bhoot" in the background shreiking with laughter.
This car (and the story behind it) has been discussed extensively on the forum earlier, just do a search.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/858043-post1297.html

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/vintag...ml#post1546721
Old 21st December 2009, 17:40   #2593

I had been there about an hour ago. Almost feels very much like what wasif says about the bhoot in the background. Tried to do some asking around, in the neighboring petrol bunk-turned-used car dealer and few roadside vendors, and they all said the same story - of the murder, and some also said there is indeed a bhoot that people including himself has seen dancing at night.

But the car is actually quite complete. Lots of even exterior body parts intact - a testimony to the beliefs of people around! Or else I would expect them to have landed at Shivajinagar gujri long ago. It still has the original horn push, side "minx" badge etc. Wish I could get some of these parts.
Old 21st December 2009, 17:41   #2594

Originally Posted by Stanher View Post
It's in Hyderabad, the part of town what is known as the "old city", just opposite to the rear entrance of the Mahatma Gandhi bus station.

The guy used to have an Austin 10 or 12 saloon too, in reasonably original condition, and a Fiat 500C that wasn't too original.....
@Stanher, I was speaking to Hillram regarding the same thing yesterday.
Old 21st December 2009, 19:16   #2595

Originally Posted by sudharma View Post
Feel sorry for the booth bunglow