Team-BHP > Travelogues
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 15th November 2010, 07:32   #1
BHPian

Trip to Maranello/Modena - Ferrari, Lambo, Pagani

I am not good at writeups and I have posted only one travelogue before this. I hope the photos will make up for skills (lack of). The travelogue is not well detailed but I will be more than happy to answer any questions to anyone who wished to visit the place.

I often visit Italy on work, but its generally southern Italy. I was always fascinated by Modena region in Northern Italy, but never had the chance to visit.

A small region which has Ferrari, Lambo, De Tomaso, Ducati, Pagani Zonda, all within 30 KM. Is it something to do with the water there? I guess Enzo Ferrari is to be credited for this. It was he who started and created the talent pool, I guess

Back to the story, I was supposed to visit Turin in northern Italy for some meetings and was thrilled to notice that I was staying at a converted car factory!

Although Turin is home to Fiat, Sparco, Pininfarina, and Bertone, I was too smitten by an article on Pagani Zonda to miss my chance to visit Modena which is 3 Hours away from Turin.

Arrived in Bologna, by RyanAir (cost 30 EUR Inc tax from London), went straight to the rental car office to pick up my Fiat 500. I was on a tight schedule and had my first appointment at Ducati in 30 minutes and as usual...Mr. Murphy Law struck.

They could not locate my booking, when they did they could not find the car keys, and finally admitted to me that they did not have a fiat 500. So took the offered upgrade which was a Lancia Musa. Bigger car, but ugly and characterless. Looked as if it was straight out of a Chinese car brochure.

Trip to Maranello/Modena - Ferrari, Lambo, Pagani-dsc_0464.jpg