Old 16th April 2008, 17:04   #361

Brilliant!! Now that made lovely reading Jenny - I had a grin on my face throughout!
Originally Posted by TheOne® View Post
This street doesn’t look as bad as many others I have seen, there are two lanes on each side.
This "street" my love was the Delhi Jaipur Highway. lol
Murp murp!!!

Doodledeedoo doodledeedoo doodledeedoo!!!
Deedle dee deedle dee deedle dee…

Toot toot
Muuuuuuuurp!
Doodledeedoo doodledeedoo, murp murp, toooooooot, deedledee.
Absolutely hilarious. Totally awesome, you've outdone yourself.

You guys should have seen the shock on her face when that truck played his stupid horn, lol.
I have my first chicoo (God, I hope this is spelled right?) – lecker!
Yes, you had your first Chickoo. You can spell it anyway you like, it is not an English word. I am glad you enjoyed it, they are very common in India.
Lecker means delicious (for the benefit of the others)
Old 16th April 2008, 17:10   #362

Oh my god!! Now the excitement will be thrice or what???
Anyway, welcome Brother!
I love your signature, next time, add some Italian stuff into it!

The whole hooting and honking story was too much. I have a table and a keyboard with fresh black tea flowing all over it.

@theOne. Ain't LECKER supposed to LEKKER???
And did you just call our one of the best roads as just a STREET??? My God!

Last edited by speedzak : 16th April 2008 at 17:19.
Old 16th April 2008, 17:10   #363

Why do you think all those trucks say “Please use horn” in the back?
HORN PLEASE!! OK? BLOW HORN!

A YetiHoliday® - TheOne® visits India for the first time.-dsc_0020_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - TheOne® visits India for the first time.-dsc_0027_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - TheOne® visits India for the first time.-dsc_0028_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - TheOne® visits India for the first time.-dsc_0482_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - TheOne® visits India for the first time.-dsc_0483_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - TheOne® visits India for the first time.-dsc_0484_thumb.jpg

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 16th April 2008 at 17:12.
Old 16th April 2008, 17:21   #364

Originally Posted by Hurrycane12 View Post
Hope you enjoyed the drive Jenny; Sam is right No Horn No Drive. It becomes diffcult without honking, people respond to blinkers more aggressively.
See, that is exactly the other way around where I come from. Use your horn and people get really annoyed with you!

Originally Posted by Hurrycane12 View Post
So what's coming up next, the trip to South India starting from Bangalore, I assume.
Patience!!!

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
This "street" my love was the Delhi Jaipur Highway. lol
This was an official highway? I had no clue haha.

You guys should have seen the shock on her face when that truck played his stupid horn, lol.
HEY! He was right behind me all of a sudden and really LOUD! But I fought him quite well I think. hehehe

Originally Posted by speedzak View Post
The whole hooting and honking story was too much. I have a table and a keyboard with fresh black tea flowing all over it.

@theOne. Ain't LECKER supposed to LEKKER???
Sorry to hear that but I am glad you enjoyed it.

Lecker is the German word for delicious, in relation to food.
Lekker is the way it is spelled in Afrikaans and Dutch! Unlike us Germans they do not only use it for food but for other things as well such as Lekker party, lekker girl, lekker drive, lekker morning... lekker this and lekker that. Quite funny!
Old 16th April 2008, 17:24   #365

YetiBlog® 29th March 2008

We pack our things and check out in the morning. We go back to Ballu's shop for a little while, we're invited to have lunch, but cannot wait that long, we stop for tea instead.
Ballu is doing his morning pooja in the shop, I quickly explain to TheOne® what that is. After tea, it's time to say goodbye to Neemrana.

A YetiHoliday® - TheOne® visits India for the first time.-dsc_0006_thumb.jpg

Instead of going back all the way to New Delhi, we decide to go to Gurgaon - MGF Metropolitan.
Jenny can shop and the driver can meet us there and take us to the Airport where we have an afternoon flight to Mumbai.

The drive back home is wonderful with Jenny surpassing all my expectations. In all fairness she does a job beyond all expectations and almost with no incident.

A YetiHoliday® - TheOne® visits India for the first time.-dsc_0011_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - TheOne® visits India for the first time.-dsc_0017_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - TheOne® visits India for the first time.-dsc_0019_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - TheOne® visits India for the first time.-dsc_0022_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - TheOne® visits India for the first time.-dsc_0029_thumb.jpg

We have an uneventful flight and a peaceful evening at home. The days are going by faster than I would like them to.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 16th April 2008 at 17:25.
Old 16th April 2008, 17:35   #366

HORN PLEASE!! OK? BLOW HORN!
Sam, i'm sure she's got the message loud and clear!!!
Old 16th April 2008, 17:36   #367

Sorry to hear that but I am glad you enjoyed it.
Now, my wife is furious to know why was I laughing over some post so much!
Unlike us Germans they do not only use it for food but for other things as well such as Lekker party, lekker girl, lekker drive, lekker morning... lekker this and lekker that. Quite funny!
Yes, yes, yes! Very much remembering those good Ol' days!
Old 16th April 2008, 17:44   #368

Yes, yes, yes! Very much remembering those good Ol' days!
Zakko, why have you highlighted everything lekker except the girls? You had no lekker girls in your good ol' days in South Africa?
Old 16th April 2008, 17:55   #369

Wanna get me house arrested?

Zakko, why have you highlighted everything lekker except the girls? You had no lekker girls in your good ol' days in South Africa?
Come On, Sam!
Don't you know I have somebody watching over my shoulder while I type this??

For the record, those meisie(s) were wonderbaarlik and LEKKER!!!!
Old 16th April 2008, 17:59   #370

Murp murp!!!

Deedle dee deedle dee deedle dee…

Toot toot
Muuuuuuuurp!
Doodledeedoo doodledeedoo, murp murp, toooooooot, deedledee.
Absolutely hilarious!

Reminds me of the time when I shocked my wife by honking along with everyone else somewhere on the B10 (I think it was near Schwieberdingen): the only time one honks with abandon in Germany is when a marriage procession goes past, little lace bows festooned on the car antennae; true to tradition all cars around created a cacophony as transliterated by Jenny.

Last edited by DerAlte : 16th April 2008 at 18:01.
Old 16th April 2008, 18:05   #371

YetiBlog® 30th March 2008

It's a lazy Sunday in Mumbai. The two of us horse around at home, laughing and joking.

Jenny has a beauty salon appointment. Time to make the very beautiful one even more beautiful

A YetiHoliday® - TheOne® visits India for the first time.-dsc_0043_thumb.jpg

Soon we go for a walk in the hot afternoon. Why not?
Walk past my home to the Bandstand seaface.

A YetiHoliday® - TheOne® visits India for the first time.-dsc_0048_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - TheOne® visits India for the first time.-dsc_0050_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - TheOne® visits India for the first time.-dsc_0052_thumb.jpg

After 20 mins we decide it's better to hop into a rickshaw and go to the salon. I am laughing internally. She's holding on to the side of a typical bandra bouncy auto rickshaw and enjoying herself on a sunday afternoon, this lovely girl from Germany. Life is wonderful.

I get her a carte-blanche at the salon. She settles for a manicure pedicure and a head massage. She's never had a pedicure before. Europe is prohibitively expensive for such luxuries that we take for granted.

Her first head massage with the quintessential coconut oil. her first exposure to coconut oil. Later the lady makes a sweet french plait on a very spaced out and relaxed Jenny-head.

A YetiHoliday® - TheOne® visits India for the first time.-dsc_0056_thumb.jpg

A few visits to some stores on Hill Road
A YetiHoliday® - TheOne® visits India for the first time.-dsc_0059_thumb.jpg

And soon it's time to go home, shower that oil off and visit the MD and his family for a lovely dinner.

A YetiHoliday® - TheOne® visits India for the first time.-dsc_0068_thumb.jpg

End of day 10. These days are really going by too fast.
Sam Kapasi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th April 2008, 18:23   #372

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Absolutely hilarious!

... the only time one honks with abandon in Germany is when a marriage procession goes past, little lace bows festooned on the car antennae; true to tradition all cars around created a cacophony as transliterated by Jenny.
YES, that is soooooo true! I wasn't even thinking of that. All the cars are decorated with some flowers or bannerets and do an auto-corso through town! Really nice. Thanks for reminding me of this Der Alte!

Come On, Sam!
For the record, those meisie(s) were wonderbaarlik and LEKKER!!!!
Hihihi, Sam only told me recently that you lived in Johannesburg. We have to meet one day!
Old 16th April 2008, 18:32   #373

Lol the driving experience was great & I am really glad & happy to know that Jenny managed it so well

We have an uneventful flight
What happened here Sam, was it the delay?
Old 16th April 2008, 19:26   #374

Good show Jenny @ driving.

Rules of driving in India: All the other vehicles are out there to hit you, so be defensive and HONK! Start learning indian psychology so you can preempt what the other person is gonna do, ok make that learn animal psychology also, to take care of our beloved cows and dogs that use the roads.

Next time you can up the difficulty by trying it out in south india with crazier rules of survival on road.
Old 16th April 2008, 19:51   #375

Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
What happened here Sam, was it the delay?
Nothing happened baba, hence I said uneventful. GoAir, the flight was normal, not delayed - but in my eagerness to book cheap flights, I did not relaise the flight was via Ahmedabad with a stopover. (No change)