Old 11th April 2008, 15:01   #166

"Hey Janpath, Janpath, Hey Janpath thoda daaru pila"
Old 11th April 2008, 15:02   #167

Domestic Yeti

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Dekho baba, gori ho ya bharatiya aurat, aurat to aurat hai. And takleefey bhi wahi hoti hai. Maar bhi wahi padti hai, bilkul wahi.

Translated into English for TheOne®: I will wait for my lovely lady, because that's the way I am. Waiting for you, hurry up and write
The Yeti has been domesticated by Jenny to the point of no return.

Good going Sam. Enjoy while you are there.
cheers:
Old 11th April 2008, 15:46   #168

Originally Posted by shajufx View Post
Sam and Jenny, dont you miss each other right now ??
It's not that I did not see your question. I was not sure how to respond to it without touching a strong emotional nerve.

Obviously the answer is yes.

It feels weird to be here at work in Mumbai knowing that she lives 7000kms away. It feels wrong, somehow.

And yet, I am able to relive precious moments by sharing them with you. It is a pleasure to meet someone in life who shares similar passions and an even greater pleasure to find friends who are interested in your story.
It is only because you enjoy it that I write these blogs and now TheOne® shares my enthusiasm on Team-BHP too.

Perhaps this relationship would have impossible without the internet and broadband (yay to webcams, lol)

Hey, someday we'll be together. And all of you will know how we will do it.
Sam Kapasi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th April 2008, 16:10   #169

Sam, you are so sincere in your expressions and answers ! I had gone through the same situation in 2003 after meeting my would-be-wife at mumbai for the first time and spenting just few hours with her and her family. I was in Oman, just came to Mumbai only to meet her for the first time and went back next day. We were united 7 months later and I took her with me to Muscat. Those 7 months went like 7 years !! When we recall precious moments on the absense of our dear one, its a heart ache which has no solution. I think everyone goes through that atleast once in life. But human heart is so complex (like our indian culture !!), it just moves on. Eagerly waiting for more stories to unfold. Cheers !!
Old 11th April 2008, 16:14   #170

Have you figured out how they get the hole in the medu vada yet?
Your imagination would have to run wild, or better still...rent out American Pie!
Old 11th April 2008, 16:19   #171

Hey, someday we'll be together.
We will be waiting for it.
Old 11th April 2008, 16:20   #172

Those 7 months went like 7 years !!
Been there.. +1 extra month .. So those are my sentiments too.

Yeti, TheOne - You have plenty of company here to share your miseries with .. So Keep writing !!
Old 11th April 2008, 17:01   #173

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Ummm....I meant the part when the Yeti gets hunted down - by the father of the daughter of a hunter.
No way, this will NEVER happen! lol
Though when we were younger (I have two sisters) we had quite a few amusing incidents in that context with our first boyfriends hihihi.

Originally Posted by navin View Post
J, did you notice that the BEST busses (red busses) dont have real bumpers just a white stripe painted on. That is the first thing my german friend noticed (and this was in 1991-2).

Hey I am a 3 minute roll down the hill from here. In fact i think a lot of Mumbai-BHPians are about a 3 minute roll from this place.
No, actually I did not notice that. I will pay attention to that next time.

A 3-minute-roll down the hill? Shame!

Originally Posted by pjbiju View Post
Would you both please take a couple of days off and finish writing everything without having to kill us daily with anticipation?
Haha, my boss will love you for that! But lucky you, it is Friday today - and we are not working Saturdays... so I will be faster in the next two days hehe.

Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Sam you are too much.

Btw I must say TheOne® has her own interesting way of narrating experiences & this along with your excellent pictorials makes this blog so much fun to read. No wonder everyone is glued to this thread
Vielen Dank für die Blumen, vielen Dank wie lieb von dir!
TheOne® is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th April 2008, 17:12   #174

...Let me explain to you what I mean. Here is a simple enough incident. Out of politeness, let us say you go to visit an aunt who you're not too fond of, but must pay your respects to.
In Europe, you would simply not go, if you did not like her. Complication number 1. You don't like her, but must go to her house to see her.

In Europe they are straight-forward. Would you like lunch? No? Fine.
I don't like him, so I won't invite him to my wedding.
200 people at a wedding!! are you crazy?

TheCouple®. Now there's a nice name.
Your reflections on European habits (or should I rather say German habits?): yes and no! Some of it is true, some of it more complex and though easily applied not easily decided upon.

But I am far behind this blog, I am trying to catch up now that I have a bit of time in the office, so I will try to continue our story first and then come back on this!

TheCouple®: yes, that is really sweet!

But that will happen later in the day. I cannot and will not get ahead of Jenny, I know what's good for me.
Old 11th April 2008, 17:17   #175

Lovely thread. Great posts by Sam and TheOne. Thanks for sharing your experiences with us. It is so cool!
Old 11th April 2008, 17:21   #176

Sam! This is turning out to be a good experience out of all.
Has all the contents to be the script of the next movie N_C is planning to produce!
Old 11th April 2008, 17:23   #177

Great going Sam and Jenny, dont you miss each other right now ??
YES, of course we do! But forgive me for not giving any more details.

Originally Posted by arif_t01 View Post
The Gust of it all - The Chicken is 'Religion Free'

Like this -

Last edited by Technocrat : 11th April 2008 at 17:41. Reason: Only two smilies per post please
Old 11th April 2008, 18:22   #178

Day 5:

Jaja, it was hard to get up in the morning but believe me, it was definitely not MY fault we had to rush to the airport in such a hurry!

The flight is unspectacular - we get to Delhi with no difficulties. We get picked up and drive to the apartment. I look around me during the drive. Clearly more space here, more sky to see, less hustle bustle on the streets, lower buildings, cleaner - especially the buildings themselves. Though people here obviously have the same habit as the ones in Mumbai when it comes to hanging their laundry outside the windows hihi. It is very funny and unusual for me to see laundry almost everywhere! In Germany this is mostly forbidden, believe it or not!

The air is dry - a bit more like home in summer except for the bit of sand - and it is very hot. Ah well, I am getting used to it by now

Everything is very different from Mumbai, I can clearly see that.

On our way we visit the new-to-come JBL shop. I can see it will be a great shop! After all, I had also already seen the renderings, plans and drawings myself in our office - this is just the "live experience" now. The only thing I recognise at once: it will still take a bit, it is far from being finished. Sam, you will tell my boss about this, haha, I bet he will ask me when I am back, I will pretend not to know ANYTHING because he is dying himself to come back to India!!! hehe

After that, we go to this wonderful apartment, meet one of Sam's managers there talk for a bit. Then we leave, shopping mall again! You guys must think that is all we ever do but really not true. Well, at least considering the entire rest of the vacation haha.

First thing we have is lunch.
Jenny, some dal?
No thank you.
Surely some paneer?
Ah, no.
NO?
No lol.
How come?
Hmmm, I spotted some pasta - I don't really want to admit but I am dying to have some after all the spicy food. Only the pasta was also spicy hehehe. Too bad!

So okay, that is settled. We order - or rather Sam orders - cause I am once again experiencing that I cannot understand what is said to me. The first time in my life I am in an English speaking country and I can simply not understand some of the locals. It drives me nuts! I have no problem asking somebody to repeat him-/herself, even a second time if necessary but a third time? Oh no, that is embarrassing.

Sam is constantly shaking his head or laughing.
Jenny, why are you so shy, I really don't know you like that!
I am not shy.
Come on, yes you are.
Well, it's just like... And I tell him!
Really? But you do understand ME!

Ah well, but then he also already speaks a bit like me haha, using German pronounciations and expressions! That doesn't count!

Well, after lunch we stroll through the mall. Some shops are the same as in Germany - some are very different. I have a lot of fun discovering what is "in" and what is "out" in India, what is the difference between fashion here and there and so on and so on. I am a realy girl I guess, haha. Thank God my boyfriend is one of the more patient ones haha.

Before we leave again for dinner we go to this gipsy market.
AAAAAAAAH, now that is what I was looking for. Supercool. lalalalala I can feel the excitement coming - where to begin? what to buy? what would my family like, what can I bring my friends? Ah, now that looks nice, don't you agree Sam? - oh but hey, look at this over there, maybe that would be even better? Hahaha, I cannot stop it, I am going from one point to the other - people try to chat me up! Actually and to be very honest, I am not really interested - I am totally focused on what I see, thinking of my loved ones at home and how I can treat them with something nice.

I am a great negotiator but mostly let Sam have the last word as I am not yet familiar with the local prices and I don't want to be offensive or rude to the people. I know one rule from every country I have been to so far: never pay more than 50% of the price they first offer you, and that was once again more or less proven here.

We leave the market with some supernice hand-made things. I am happy because I can already see my siblings' and friends's faces when opening the gifts.

We go to a restaurant for dinner (sorry guys, I am always bad with all the names but I know Sam balances this out for me). I love the restaurant - it is overlooking this great circle in the city, we are out on the terrace with nice music and not too many people around us. Above us stars and "ha Sam, you have the same moon face as we do just a bit upside down - you didn't want to believe me when you were in Germany!!! LOOK."

We have some nice food and fantastic strawberry margaritas - I am a bit high when we leave. Actually a bit late considering we have to get up at 5 am the next morning to drive to Agra (sigh, what indecent time to wake up)! As some of you may have realised by now I am a person who needs her beauty sleep!

Last edited by Technocrat : 11th April 2008 at 18:54. Reason: Only two smilies per post allowed
TheOne® is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th April 2008, 18:36   #179

Oh... Just got onto this thread now!! Read up all 12 pages of it one shot!... Words fail me!!! BRAVO!!

Have you figured out how they get the hole in the medu vada yet?
I was faced with this question a long time ago - and had decided the only time I am going to be interested in the answer is if the cook had only ONE hand!!
Old 11th April 2008, 18:38   #180

She enjoys herself thoroughly, buying trinkets, souvenirs and gifts from some shops and some of the gypsies on the footpath. I try to do the bargaining, before they cheat the firang, but she turns out to be a decent negotiator herself. No fear when it comes to shopping and bargaining.

How much?

I'll give you 100.

German, Indian, aakhir aurat aurat hoti hai. hehheh.

Everyone always runs up to me "Very cheap price I give you"
"Arrey bhai, main toh idhar ka hi hoon!" "Arrey, aap hindi bolte hain?" "Arrey main Indian hoon bhai, tum doosre ke peeche bhaago, mujhe akeyla chhod do."
Okay, I quoted on this before but somehow it didn't show up and I have the feeling I stayed online on the forum too long without any actions so the system logged me off when I wanted to send it.

Anyways, would somebody here be kind enough to translate all of this for me? Thank you!

The alarm goes off.

Wake up.

5 more minutes.

Wake up Jennifer.

5 more minutes.

But that was 15 minutes ago.

OK 5 more minutes.

Sigh. I am slowly getting used to this sleeper. Despite this ceremony every morning, inevitably this lady is always ready on time and almost always before I am. Don't mess with them Jerrys.
Hahahaha, that is called time management. This and the fact that I am German make me unbeatable in that context. Don't even try, I ALWAYS know how much time I need and how much is left etc., it's a sixth sense! Very convenient though

But there is dust and sand in the air.

Plus it is HOT. I find it hot, mentally thinking that my young lass must be having a tough time. She smiles and trudges on, determined as ever. Only her ears and cheeks turn bright red because of the heat.
Well, the fact that it was dry heat was actually not that bad. And my ears turned red? How is this possible? They are too small for that lol.

Originally Posted by hydrashok View Post
With Sam and Jenny giving their versions of what happened, It also feels like watching Rashomon. A really new, nice and enjoyable feeling.
Sorry, what is Rashomon?

Originally Posted by akroy View Post
Jenny, Bombay is vada-pao land but not idlis.
And vada-pao?