Old 1st July 2023, 18:52   #1

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday

This would be a photo-log in an ideal world. But then Instagram exists.

Contrary to popular perception (the big presumption being that I am popular), I am not anti social media. I have issues galore with it, mostly because it promotes instant gratification rather than quiet reflection. May be what my sister says is true - I am averse to change in general. Then again change for change's sake doesn't make sense. A picture may speak a thousand words but words spoken without context are about as useful as music without rhythm.

This trip is among those shortish ones that typically do not get their own log. There are exceptions, of course, such as (Satpura - Quick Jaunt, Quicker Log)Satupura or (Hampi - A Tale of Two Cars and Two Seasons)Hampi. By and large, a 10-day trip is less epic than a 17-day one.

Unless this happens:

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_3877.jpeg
Magnificence, thy name is Durga Vaahana

To be fair, this wasn't my first tiger sighting - that was way back in 2011 at Tadoba, before tourists ruined it. Those were the times when you could ride an elephant and get really up close with a big cat in the grass.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-_mg_3418.jpeg
Tadoba Andhari Tiger Reserve, circa 2011. The alpha male of the era

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-_mg_3347.jpeg
That's Lakshmi, who took us to him

I digress. This trip wasn't even about a tiger sighting. It wasn't supposed to be a 10-day trip. It was meant to be a weekend family getaway, something that my wife and I have almost codified into tradition. The wife, her parents, her sister, my parents, my sister and I - we all take a longish weekend trip around wife's birthday in April. Am I complaining that 4 days morphed into 10? You know the answer to that.

The wife and I chose to drive, as we do. The others decided to fly in to Varanasi on 31 March, for that was the chosen destination for the family get together. The family went back from Varanasi on 3 April while the wife and I carried on.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-screenshot-20230702-1.54.12-pm.png
The Journey: Hyderabad - Maihar - Varanasi - Bandhavgarh - Kanha - Amarkantak - Chitrakote - Hyderabad

The total distance covered was ~3200km over 11 days (30 March to 9 April). This was as relaxed a road trip as we have ever done.

Last edited by lucifer1881 : 10th July 2023 at 21:50.
lucifer1881 is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2023, 09:37   #2

re: Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday

The wife and I started our drive at 5am on 30 March. The car chosen for this trip was the Rapid, mostly because the Elantra is due a suspension overhaul. Maihar was our stop for the day, a distance of 975km from Hyderabad. Gmaps estimated a journey time of ~17 hours. Going by the 80% axiom, it should have taken us ~14 hours. It took less, much less. Barring some traffic around Buti Bori and Jabalpur, it was clean all the way through.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5108.jpeg
The Skoda Rapid, rapid not just in name

We checked into MPT Surbahar, because that's the law. When MP Tourism runs a hotel, you check-in there. And it is especially important to check-in there if your arrival is around 3:30-4:00pm. They make the best pakodas. Period.

This was kind of a working day for both of us. So we did working things like emails, ppt, calls, etc. In the evening we took a walk in the market which was fully decked up for this was the day of Ramnavami. Small towns have their own charm. And small towns with powerful temples, as this one does, have their own allure.

The following morning, we were up bright and early and made our way to the Maa Sharda Temple on the hill. The temple is a hop, skip and jump away from MPT Surbahar. There is a ropeway that takes you directly to it.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4404.jpeg
Going up the hill on the ropeway

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4408.jpeg
The view from atop the hill

Our darshan done, we made our way back to the hotel for breakfast post which we were on our way to Varanasi.

Last edited by lucifer1881 : 7th July 2023 at 17:51.
lucifer1881 is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2023, 11:21   #3

re: Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday

It took us 6 hours to reach our hotel in Varanasi, which is about the average. There was some traffic, and I wasn't driving with my pants on fire. I think we even took a break for tea, something we rarely do. Why don't we do it? I dunno, to be honest. We take breaks for fuel and to answer nature's calls. But that's about it.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-varanasi_01.jpeg
Congregating with the peeps in the hotel lobby

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_9942.jpeg
The lions of Sarnath

In the evening, we made our way to the Ganga Arti. We rented a boat, because that is the best way to do this.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4425.jpeg
Gaay Ghat, Varanasi

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4428.jpeg
Along the holy Ganga

Allow me to reminisce a little. I had said this in 2015 on the (Where no Elantra has gone before - 5500 kms, 6 States & Bhutan!)Bhutan log:

Why do I like Banaras? It is difficult to explain. I have this friend who stayed in the city for a few months but could never like it. So I suppose you either love Varanasi or you don’t. It is not a taste that you can acquire. Yes, it is a dirty city. Yes, the roads in and out of the city are a nightmare. Yes, temples fleece you at every opportunity.
Yes, none of this is true anymore.

It is chaotic, but that's India for you. We revel in chaos. An Indian without Chaos is an Indian without soul. But it is managed chaos, almost choreographed. I have been to Varanasi 5 times over the last 14ish years, most recently in September 2022. The transformation this time was starkly apparent. And it was absolutely joyous.

That said, do not drive in Varanasi. Do the sensible thing. Keep your car at the hotel and rent a cab or an eRickshaw. The traffic is beyond anything you can possibly imagine. The honking is incessant. Yet, there is a crazy calm. The oldest continuously inhabited city in the world is like no place else.

The next day began with a visit to the Kashi Vishwanath Temple. We left our phones in the hotel because they aren't allowed in the temple complex. That is a very good thing in my opinion. The modern human has forgotten to live in the moment in the zeal to capture it on camera.

I had been to the temple in 2008, on my first visit to the city. It was not a very pleasant experience. The temple in 2023 is something else. You book your darshan slot online, arrive at the appointed place at the appointed time. A Shastri escorts you inside and takes you for darshan. This elevates your temple experience to another level. You focus on bhakti while the administration takes care of everything else.

Not having our phones on us meant that there were no distractions. No urge to take a picture. No urge to check messages. No urge to make a call. We spent lovely quiet time - it was just us and the God communicating through a direct line. Bam Bam Bhole!

Post darshan, we got back to the hotel for breakfast.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4702.jpeg
Post breakfast groupie

...and we were off to Sarnath.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_0039.jpeg
Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4456.jpeg
Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4458.jpeg
Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4469.jpeg
Some pictures at Sarnath

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4474.jpeg
Banarasi thali for lunch is mandatory

The evening was spent leisurely at the hotel while indulging in some family gossip. The great Indian family get together is incomplete unless you talk about what your third cousin's maternal uncle's eldest son has been up to, isn’t it?

Last edited by lucifer1881 : 10th July 2023 at 11:09.
lucifer1881 is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2023, 12:16   #4

As I said, this trip was planned around wife's birthday. Well, 2 April wasn't her birthday but it was the last day when all of us would be together since the sister was going back. At any rate, when has a date got in the way of a cake cutting? I remember distinctly when I was 6 and we were on a train from Delhi to Patna, my maasi met us at Lucknow station with a cake (my birthday was a day later). Maasis are wonderful, aren't they? How many of us have celebrated our birthday in a train? Of course, when I reached Patna, my grandma ensured there was a cake for me to cut on the day of my birthday as well . And yes, my Bua had ensured that I had a cake to cut in Delhi too on the evening before the train journey began. 1 birthday. 3 cakes. Fair game.

Anyhoo. We surprised the wife during breakfast.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_0120.jpeg
Happy Birthday, date not strictly relevant

We chilled at the hotel for a bit and then decided to go out for lunch.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4568.jpeg
Riding in the front of an auto rickshaw is also a law, right?

The family part of the trip was over this day. It was short but amazing. As far as traditions go, this one rocks.

Last edited by lucifer1881 : 9th July 2023 at 17:25.
lucifer1881 is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2023, 18:19   #5

We started for Bandhavgarh around 8am on 3 April. The 340 odd km drive took ~6 hours. At Mauganj, we left the dual carriageway and did not come across a divided road until 5 days later around Bilaspur in Chhattisgarh, a rarity that I have begun to appreciate more and more as time passes by. Single carriageway highways are pure driving joy with their meandering curves and varying grade. If you drive a half decent sedan or hatch, you know exactly what I mean - the fusion of man and machine into a single entity.

Bandhavgarh is a fantastic village. It is worth spending a day there even if a Safari is not your thing. The main street has multiple restaurants and several shops selling traditional handicrafts. The facilities are excellent, the roads to get there are fabulous, and the people are incredible.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4902.jpeg
The hotel restaurant, rustic and functional

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4592.jpeg
With a view that's unparalleled... So far

Feast of a lunch and a shower later, we were off for the evening Safari.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4606.jpeg
Waiting at Tala Gate while our Naturalist completes the entry formalities

We saw Chitals, Macaques, Sambhar and even the occasional Mouse Deer.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4869.jpeg
Mouse Deer

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_3832.jpeg
My first Jackal sighting in the wild

Last edited by lucifer1881 : 10th July 2023 at 11:16.
Old 3rd July 2023, 18:46   #6

Okay. Enough prelude. I shall let the big cat shine now.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_3860.jpeg
He is something else.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_3920.jpeg
He teases

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_3862.jpeg
He stretches

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_3889.jpeg
He watches

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_3909.jpeg
He scratches

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_3912.jpeg
He poses

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_3947.jpeg
He walks away

Last edited by lucifer1881 : 4th July 2023 at 16:58.
lucifer1881 is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2023, 18:58   #7

The light had begun to fade. It was time to exit the park.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4898.jpeg
Vultures shot in fading light

Damn, was it a good day!

We got back to the hotel, welcomed by lanterns.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4825.jpeg

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4843.jpeg
We sat here, watching dusk fall, reliving the experience and letting it fully sink in

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4666.jpeg
Dinner under the stars

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4670.jpeg
A very pleased Lucifer. Yes, that's him smiling

We had an early morning safari the next day but the excitement of the spotting just wouldn't let us sleep until way past midnight.

Last edited by lucifer1881 : 4th July 2023 at 15:42.
Old 3rd July 2023, 19:07   #8

4 April. Morning safari. Would we get lucky again?

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4687.jpeg
The sun rises at Bandhavgarh

You don't see a tiger. A tiger decides if it wants you to see it.
Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4689.jpeg
The safari begins well. Tiger tracks

Sometime towards the end of the evening safari the day before, the autofocus on my 70-300 gave up. Fortunately, it happened post the date with the tiger. But we had two more safaris to go - a morning one at Bandhavgarh and a morning one at Kanha.

But when I got these two shots through manual focus, I realised that all is well with this world.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4021.jpeg
Crested Serpent Eagle

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4148.jpeg
Indian Roller

From hereon, every picture taken on the Canon was focussed manually. And I am quite pleased that for someone like me who hasn't used a DSLR for at least half a decade, focussing is muscle memory.

Self-aggrandisement aside, we spotted another big cat. When providence is on your side, a tiger can be close enough to take a video on a smartphone. The wife was quick to shoot this.

Only reinforces what I have always believed - the best camera is the one that you can get to fastest.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4045.jpeg
Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4082.jpeg
Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4101.jpeg
Shots such as these depend on the tiger's mood

In all, we spotted 4 tigers in Bandhavgarh over 2 safaris. We managed to get decent pictures of two of them. In every imaginable way, this trip was a WIN.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4707.jpeg
Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4158.jpeg
Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4168.jpeg

We got back to the hotel, fully satisfied. But the hotel staff served us lunch that satisfied us some more.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4811.jpeg

Post which, what was a man to do but find a cosy spot by the window.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4820.jpeg

Around sunset, we take a walk around the property.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4841.jpeg
Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4826.jpeg
Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4849.jpeg

And return to find that a bath had been drawn for us.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4856.jpeg

There are some things money can't buy. A hotel staff that goes the extra mile is one of them.

Last edited by lucifer1881 : 5th July 2023 at 17:54.
lucifer1881 is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2023, 21:01   #9

Eastern Madhya Pradesh is achingly beautiful. The drive through the jungles to Kanha from Bandhavgarh needs to be experienced to be believed.

5 April. The birthday.

We reach Kanha a little after noon. If the hotel restaurant in Bandhavgarh had a view unparalleled then the one at Kanha decided to show off with its own river.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4927.jpeg
And quiet flows the Banjaar... view from the open air restaurant deck

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5118.jpeg
A restaurant that truly comes into its own once the moon rises

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4946.jpeg
Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4961.jpeg
The hotel also has a poolside restaurant

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4956.jpeg
Which is perfect for a cake cutting

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4964.jpeg
Then the hotel staff surprises us with a very nice touch

Last edited by lucifer1881 : 5th July 2023 at 17:55.
Old 3rd July 2023, 21:54   #10

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4977.jpeg
The sun rises at Kanha

The jungle was eerily quiet on this day. We did not spot much. But the grasslands of Kanha are spot-worthy of their own accord.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4208.jpeg
Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4988.jpeg
Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4998.jpeg

We came across Shravan Tal, the fabled spot where Maharaj Dashrath shot Shravan Kumar mistaking him for a deer. The deer find this place safe to this day, as evidenced in the picture below.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5009.jpeg
Shravan Tal

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5028.jpeg
Spotted deer, munching on the fallen fruits of the Mahua tree

Got this one shot of a vulture perched atop a tree. I am particularly pleased with this one considering it was shot on manual focus.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4226.jpeg

And then we spotted the best tiger of the trip.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5033.jpeg

When we got back to the hotel, we were treated to a troop of Langurs on the banks of the Banjaar river.

Last edited by lucifer1881 : 10th July 2023 at 00:47.
lucifer1881 is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2023, 22:29   #11

Our next stop was Amarkantak. In September, we went as east as one can before India runs out (Rapid Trip to Arunachal - 8111 km, 19 days, 11 States, Bhutan, Myanmar, China, Virat Kohli and more…). Amarkantak is as east as you can go in MP before Chhattisgarh begins.

Having driven as much as we have, we hardly ever stop now for pictures by the side of the road. We have seen it all, done it all. Or so we thought. Dindori in MP did to me what Chitkul did (The Elantra does it again: 6233 km, 9 States, 18380 feet above sea level. Spiti, Ladakh & more) - its beauty socked me in the face. And I am not exaggerating.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5129.jpeg
Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5132.jpeg
Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5133.jpeg
Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5134.jpeg
What sorcery is this? Meadows stretching on until the eyes can see at Dindori

It was about a 4 hour drive from Kanha to Amarkantak. Those 192km went by in no time, courtesy the gobsmacking scenery.

I do not know why I chose Amarkantak. But I am glad I did. It is the source of two of India's great rivers - the Narmada and Son. It is an important place of Jain pilgrimage too.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5139.jpeg
Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5142.jpeg
Shri Yantra Mandir, Amarkantak

We also visited Narmada Kund, the source of the river Narmada, and drove around for a bit. No pictures to show but take my word for it. Everyone in their lifetime must visit Amarkantak. And do it now before the tourists take over.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5149.jpeg
The legendary pakodas at MPT Holiday Homes, Amarkantak

Last edited by lucifer1881 : 10th July 2023 at 00:50.
lucifer1881 is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 4th July 2023, 00:08   #12

On this day, 8 April, we enter Chhattisgarh. My first time visiting the state. I should have visited it sooner. If eastern MP is achingly beautiful then Chhattisgarh is impossibly pretty. The thick forests and winding mountain roads are every driver's dream, especially when you start at 6am and have the entire road network to yourself.

We were looking forward to driving through the Achanakmar Sanctuary. Sadly, they built an alternate road and closed the sanctuary to vehicular traffic exactly 8 days earlier.

Full props to the Rapid's in-car navigation system. It was our sole source of guidance in Chhattisgarh. Airtel is not aware that the state exists, except in pockets around Raipur / Bilaspur. This also meant no music in the car because everyone streams these days. We are good with no music, though. Driving on a beautiful road in silence is infinitely more enjoyable. And guess what, it also enables you to have a conversation.

Our stop on the penultimate day of this trip was Chitrakote, not to be confused with Chitrakoot. We stop at the CG Tourism hotel at Kanker for an early lunch, a little before noon. The food was excellent. The view from the place was even better.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5156.jpeg
Lake at Kanker

Chitrakote in Bastar district is a waterfall on the river Indravati. April is not exactly the best time to visit a waterfall but one travels when one has the time. It is what it is.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5181.jpeg
Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5163.jpeg
This must be absolutely smashing during monsoons

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5169.jpeg
Damn right, we do

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5182.jpeg
Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5185.jpeg
Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5189.jpeg
The sun sets over the town and on this holiday too

The following morning, we made our way back home. I should have refuelled at Chitrakote but the fuel station there needed about 30 minutes to get started. I drove on assuming that the next pump will be close enough. It wasn't. We drove for perhaps 60ish km until we found a human being, who told us that the petrol pump is a further 30km away. He was also confident that since the stretch is mostly downhill, we will make it. Fortunately, we came across a village where fuel was sold in bottles. Bought 10 litres, the first time I have ever done this. At the next pump, we tanked up. Phew!

Other than in uppermost Himalayas, I have never found distances between fuel pumps long enough to worry about. Then again, in my zeal to save 30 minutes, I brought this upon myself.

Last edited by lucifer1881 : 10th July 2023 at 11:28.
lucifer1881 is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 7th July 2023, 17:06   #13

I have been struggling to summarise this trip. From the divinity of Maa Ganga to the wild jungles of MP to the untamed beauty of Chhattisgarh - this trip had it all. A friend suggested that I try ChatGPT, which was a total fail. Not the suggestion itself for that led to the intended action, but ChatGPT. That tool either hallucinates or is ignorant.

Unlike other trips, this one did not give me any great insights into life in general. May be that's a good thing. Sometimes one should shut off the thought process entirely and live in the moment. May be Instagram does have its place in the world and not all pictures need context.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5035.jpeg
Take this Gaur, for instance. Does he care that this picture is not showing his best side?

Epicness is overrated. Once in a while we should appreciate the joys that little trips bring, such as:

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4888.jpeg
Having a morning cuppa after a light shower

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4909.jpeg
Looking at the vast expanse in vacant or in pensive mood, with due regard to Wordsworth

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_4937.jpeg
Cosying up in a corner to shut the world out

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-img_5004.jpeg
And looking forward to the wonderful things that life has to offer

Last edited by lucifer1881 : 10th July 2023 at 11:30.
lucifer1881 is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 9th July 2023, 18:12   #14

My tryst with forests began in 2009 with Bharatpur (From Africa to Leh - The Journey of Two Souls). We did a few Tadoba trips in early 2010s, courtesy friends of ours who are actively into wildlife conservation. A trip here to Satpura, a trip there to Nagarhole or Bandipur.

Varanasi to Bastar and everything in between | Call of the Wild, a 3000-km Summer Holiday-_mg_7529.jpg
Malabar Flying Squirrel at Nagarhole

I am not an expert or a veteran of wildlife sanctuaries. I have only been to a handful across India. But I will go out on limb and say that the best managed parks are in Madhya Pradesh. Why do I say this?

For one, they do not allow the Naturalists or the Spotters to have their phones on them. Thus, there isn't a "jeep rush" when a tiger is spotted. There may be 6-7 jeeps around a tiger but that's because they have been waiting at the spot for the tiger to make an appearance. They are not driving at breakneck speed to get there.

For another, they understand "Atithi Devo Bhavah." It may be the very foundation of a service business but find me one hotel / guide / restaurant that understands this concept in Tadoba. I dare you. Whether it is MPT Kipling's Court or MPT Bison Highway Treat or MPT Hotel Highlands or a Taj Safari, your experience in MP is guaranteed to be top notch.

And that's what a great holiday is - a series of fantastic experiences.

Last edited by lucifer1881 : 10th July 2023 at 11:33.
lucifer1881 is offline   (31) Thanks
Old 11th July 2023, 05:12   #15

Thread moved out from the Assembly Line. Thanks for sharing!
Aditya is offline   (4) Thanks