|
Advanced Search |
Go to Page... |
Search this Thread | 17,058 views |
5th March 2023, 17:36 | #1 |
BHPian | Audi Q5 | Wheels, deals and automobile feels | An unproductive ownership review of 5 months I liked cars. Then I didn’t. Then I bought one that I liked. Then I loved cars. Pretty much sums up my forthcoming blabbering if this is where you think other pressing matters await you. I was never into cars growing up, though I always loved driving, and the drivel that accompanies it almost every time we step into one. The paths we often take for long trips seem to have a strong foundation of ludicrous ideas and decisions. One such “well thought out” execution made for one hell of a trip, thereby prompting me to finally give heed to an ongoing need for societal validation through an ownership review. I was a proud owner of a Q3 before NGT thought it was a good idea to #$@@%%@#. So, with a heavy heart, had to let it go. Had booked a green Scorpio Z8 (in first 25k bookings) and was really looking forward to it. However, fate…as cruel or blissful as it may sound to be, due to ludicrously late delivery dates of the second from top model, cancelled that booking. During that time, one uncle (dad’s close friend) upgraded from his X1 to Q5 and my dad, being a “chulbul” person that he is, thought we should triple stretch our budget and get an aspirational car. I, like an ultra pragmatic person that I am, cosy-ed up to the idea, and BANG !! Sudden rush of blood into our heads, logic out of the window, stared at a breathtaking blue Q5 in our parking. NO COMPLAINTS !! Loved the car in every way, except probably handling that sized car in traffic with all the sensors going berserk. Wait… have to move back a bit to explain the "swayamwar". Did a TD of last-gen Tucson petrol and found it boring. Compass petrol was a bit better but didn’t appeal at that price point. Tiguan was good, but the autocratic air among the sales personnel was such a downer..Cancelled !! X1 petrol didn’t feel inspiring at all, especially at that price point. These last few statements would make it seem that I was quite price conscious, which I was…was, till I wasn’t. Not to digress, but if I had to give some sense to the purchase, it was more of a dopamine rush buy than a well-thought-out decision. Some pics to emphasise the point Coming back to present - Yes, the trip. Before the trip, the car had done about 3000 km, most in city and couple of trips to Jaipur. Enough power and comfort…nothing to add there really beyond the official review. Here are some beautiful pics and videos from that trip. Pic and video credits: Traveller_Nayak Again coming back to THE trip. So, one of my good friends and colleague from France had been planning to come to India for a while. I had been promising him an adventure since last half a decade, kept sharing pics and videos of driving in Himalayas etc. and the anticipation had built up to unprecedented levels… till Covid brought it all down. But, it has often been noticed that agar kisi cheez ko dil se chaaho to puri kayanat usey tumse milane ki koshish mein lag jaati hai. So, I get a message from him that he had booked an “official” trip to India. We made some adjustments to the itinerary and finally had 3 days to plan something in, before we again got caught in corporate slaughter. Our Himalayputr Deepak (TBHP: deeps) had a brilliant adventure in mind. An adventure that would go into the annals of history as….Not really….But, a fun itinerary nonetheless. So, it was decided that we start very early on Saturday morning, pick up some people on the way and try to reach Uttarkashi by early evening. Chill out a bit on Saturday, head out to Gangotri on Sunday, exploring whatever comes our way and Monday, back home. Sounded like a perfectly chilled-out plan in our minds. It was, and much more. Come Saturday, the Musketeer Clement lands in India just past Friday midnight, reaches home by 1, banters till 2 and sleeps till 3:15. We get ready and leave home by 4 in the morning, picking up a friend in Noida by 5 and then heading out on Mathura e-way. Insomnia struck, with only the adventure in our mind, soul and body, tiredness was not an option. Met deeps about 100 km away where he bounced in with a couple of other friends in his Thar. All cleaned and ready for the departure Stats till the Dosa place about 140 km out from my home. Pretty relaxed driving till here, which was soon to change once the Dynamic Thar would join me. The first ever trip to India and the first meal. Three feet long Paper Masala Dosa. We all overestimated our appetites and ordered one for each, and finished it…Not. We then had a collaborative brainwave where we figured out that it was not a good idea to take the Haridwar and Rishikesh route to Uttarkashi due to it being Mahashivratri that day. In hindsight, this brainwave was best avoided. We had a stop at a cafe in Dehra, where we thought of stuffing ourselves well as it would be one of the last fancy meals we would have for a while. My third musketeer, Chitresh thought having a bubble tea would be a great idea before a long trip on the hills. He was aptly named, Bubblesh thereafter….seeing how the bubble tea kept exiting his mouth every few kilometers over the winding roads. Group pic before The Bubble Chronicles. L to R - Clement, Chitresh, Akash, Tanmay, Deepak, Abhay (me) Clement held up appreciably well..probably, being a mountaineer and a trekker helped. Basking in the glory of the Himalayas. We kept on going…and going….and going….and finally, after a long drive, reached Uttarkashi at 7:30 in the evening, possibly lamenting that morning brainwave. All was not gloomy as the views kept getting better..and a hope for tomorrow …and even better views help strong. It did not disappoint. Some no-roads on the way Hardly any space on some small stretches Finally reached We stayed at a friend’s homestay and were delivered excellent vegetarian food, which directly reached our souls, after that tiring day. A point to add here about the car - I used to get tired after driving for 7-8 hours in my Q3 and probably any other car I had ever driven in. In this, despite the lack of sleep, I felt way better than I ever had been on such a long drive. Extremely comfortable and plush ride quality. Punchy and reasonably powered engine for extracting that smile on the hills, especially with the paddles. So, the next day, Sunday was supposed to be the big push for Gangotri. We started with some timepass along the Bhagirathi with the pooch keeping us company. Morning shenanigans Our friend followed us from the homestay down to the river bed, rested while we played around and then back up. Slipped into the water myself while I was warning people how not to step on the rocks with algae on them. Finally the ski rack put to good use. Post the morning shenanigans, we were called up for a heavy poori/sabzi and poha breakfast, stuffed ourselves, while keeping an eye on Chitresh and his potential vagaries. We left our place by 9 or so, Chitresh in the front this time, and Bam Bam Bhole !! Started spiritedly, till Bubbl…….Chitresh felt weak in his knees, not due to the altitude or the views, but the usual. The bubble tea was gone, but its presence still lingered on. So, we slowed down our ascent and tried to derive more joy in the views than the drive itself. First view of the snow was enough to get us excited And this is how I tackled it while my shoes were still drying in the boot with the lid off. Picked up the slippers from the homestay itself. Some pics along the way Last edited by AZ911 : 5th March 2023 at 18:02. |
(23) Thanks |
The following 23 BHPians Thank AZ911 for this useful post: | AbhishekNigam, abhi_tjet, CEF_Beasts, chinmaypillay, digitalnirvana, Dr.AD, GaryTSI, GTO, Harjot37, InControl, irajput, lapis_lazuli, lejhoom, libranof1987, megazoid, NarediAni7518, Nohonking, quadra, Raghu M, Samar117, Samfromindia, Turbanator, yogiii |
|
5th March 2023, 17:53 | #2 |
BHPian | re: Audi Q5 | Wheels, deals and automobile feels | An unproductive ownership review of 5 months Sukki Top - Maggi and Tea point. Too bad the jade buti chai wasn’t available. Harsil - No food anywhere. Barely any people around LtoR - Tanmay, B…Chitresh, Clement, Me (Abhay), Deepak (deeps) and Akash. Down to the helipad nearby for some more pics. For the pics, I specifically wore my partially dried shoes finally and left the slipper behind the car…well hidden. Finally, reached Gangotri with hardly anyone around. We were pretty hungry by this time and a small group while leaving from there at the same time spotted our ravenous looks and indulged us with a couple of gobi parathas they had got with them. We shared it, thanking the humanity left in the world. Thankfully, I was also carrying a couple of biscuit packets, which ended up being a lifesaver as well. Pretty much abandoned right now My customary wrist shot Some meme material with Tanmay recovering well Got pretty late while coming back and it was dark during the return drive. This is when I realized that the famed chappals had been forgotten on the helipad itself. So, we went back there and recovered the workhorses. Unfortunately, after some more driving, a sharp jagged rock on the road decided to add some more adventure into the mix and phusssss…tyre flat within seconds. It was in the middle of nowhere with pitch dark outside, in the leopard territory. The stories of leopards attacking only from the blindspots started to pop up and we all ended up switching on our phone lights to cover all the dark spots around. The included donut came deflated with the car and we have a pump to inflate it included. When we tried to fill it up, it expanded in a very weird shape at first. It looked like it was popping out of the rim and I again deflated it. Fortunately, we had access to the internet and found out that this was normal with this kind of a spare. We just had to persist with this shape till 30-35 PSI, which is when it started regaining the normal shape. So, filled it up with 50 psi, and off we went again. Reached Uttarkashi after yet another long day, and ended it with a bonfire. Finally, on Day 3, started our descent early morning. Stopped at a few places to get the puncture fixed, but it didn’t seem like it could even be fixed. Kept driving conservatively (had set the limit at 80) back all the way home. A great trip, with great memories, and some learnings. Finally, gave my car to Audi Gurugram for the tire replacement under insurance. It took a whole week for them to change the tyre, but it was good to have her back as good as new. A good opportunity to clean and arrange the boot. To sum it up, the car performed exceedingly well. Didn’t feel tired driving for 28 hours in three days. The company was fantastic as well. I thought our friend Clement might have a hard time due to his rigorous schedule, but he was a fantastic sport and absolutely no complaints from his side. Kudos to our captain, Deepak for arranging the trip and everything along the way and to Tilak Bhai, the owner of the homestay “The Eagle’s Nest” in Uttarkashi. He is a gem of a person and a hardcore mountaineer. Highly recommended if anyone is even contemplating a trek in the Himalayas. Last edited by libranof1987 : 7th March 2023 at 09:32. Reason: Rule 11 |
(59) Thanks |
The following 59 BHPians Thank AZ911 for this useful post: | 4WheelPilot, AbhishekNigam, abhi_tjet, abirnale, anandtheleo, anivy, Arreyosambha, Ashutosh_kumar, autobahnjpr, Bhalla, CEF_Beasts, chautob0t, chinmaypillay, digitalnirvana, Dr.AD, Eco_boost, GaryTSI, GTO, Harjot37, Harsha89, InControl, irajput, Karthik R, keshavarora, lapis_lazuli, Latheesh, lejhoom, libranof1987, Maky, megazoid, Mtv, mugen_pinaki27, NarediAni7518, Nohonking, OffRoadFun, Omkar, One, PM - B, quadra, QuadraticAmoeba, Raghu M, rahulba, REN, RohanDheman, rohitbadde, Samar117, Samfromindia, satvik4134, sauravpat, SRISRI_90, stringbh, the.dogfather, thirugata, Turbanator, Vaishak, vattyboy, vjbox, vredesbyrd, yogiii |
6th March 2023, 14:13 | #3 |
BHPian Join Date: Jul 2012 Location: New Delhi
| Re: Audi Q5 | Wheels, deals and automobile feels | An unproductive ownership review of 5 months As the wise have always said, it's the journey that matters. It was sad to see the Q3 go, but every end has a new beginning and I'm sure the Q5 will unfold many many new stories with family and friends! |
(5) Thanks |
The following 5 BHPians Thank Samar117 for this useful post: | Ashutosh_kumar, AZ911, digitalnirvana, GaryTSI, sauravpat |
6th March 2023, 20:14 | #4 |
BHPian | Re: Audi Q5 | Wheels, deals and automobile feels | An unproductive ownership review of 5 months Beautiful shots especially of the people and the machines with the mountains as backdrop. And zippy writing and a beautiful car too! |
(2) Thanks |
The following 2 BHPians Thank megazoid for this useful post: | AZ911, digitalnirvana |
7th March 2023, 09:10 | #5 |
BHPian | Re: Audi Q5 | Wheels, deals and automobile feels | An unproductive ownership review of 5 months Friends, Cars, and Mountains, I envy you brother. what excellent moments. Pics along the way are beautifully captured. You all in the foreground with the beasts and Mountains in the backdrop what an amazing shot. "tire replacement under insurance" I am unaware of this. Good Luck and I wish you many more memorable miles with your steed. |
(1) Thanks |
The following BHPian Thanks Plymouth_Fury for this useful post: | AZ911 |
7th March 2023, 12:25 | #6 | ||
BHPian | Re: Audi Q5 | Wheels, deals and automobile feels | An unproductive ownership review of 5 months
Very well put. Often in reaching the destination, we ignore the journey; and it's the journey that makes us who or what we are. Quote:
There is a "tyre replacement" clause wherein I have to pay 25% of the final cost of the tyre and it is replaced under the insurance itself. Doesn't affect NCB. As my car hadn't run much (~4k), I went with a new tyre eyes closed. | ||
() Thanks |