Team-BHP - Kotilingeshwara --> A place where you can see 1 crore Idols of Shiva

-   Travelogues (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travelogues/)
-   -   Kotilingeshwara --> A place where you can see 1 crore Idols of Shiva (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travelogues/101690-kotilingeshwara-place-where-you-can-see-1-crore-idols-shiva.html)

This place was on our minds for a visit due to various reason and due to some programs which we had seen on TV.

Some days back this was shown in some serials and news also. So thought of visiting this place.

This was almost 97kms from my place.

The fun thing was we had to take a left turn which was shown by the hoarding near the Railway line, but the roads were so good that I missed this and went ahead and crossed Kolar also. We had to take a left turn after the CCD/HP petrol bunk.

So after crossing Kolar we took a route which led to Bethmangal. The road to this is wonderful.From the main Kolar road this place is 25kms and you need to take a right turn to reach Kotilingeshwara which is 5 kms from this place.

Almost 20kms the roads(Kolar to Bethmangal) are wonderful except for the last 5-6 kms. This road goes inside the village and very has very good scenery.

The entrance fees for cars is 30/- and inside the temple single ticket was 10/- and for camera it was 100/-. As of last visit there were 90lac idols of Shiva.

Pics... coming up...

Some rocky pics en-route to the place.

Kotilingeshwara --> A place where you can see 1 crore Idols of Shiva-img_6819.jpg

Kotilingeshwara --> A place where you can see 1 crore Idols of Shiva-img_6820.jpg

Kotilingeshwara --> A place where you can see 1 crore Idols of Shiva-img_6829.jpg

Kotilingeshwara --> A place where you can see 1 crore Idols of Shiva-img_6835.jpg

Some road snaps en-route to the place

Kotilingeshwara --> A place where you can see 1 crore Idols of Shiva-img_6812.jpg

Kotilingeshwara --> A place where you can see 1 crore Idols of Shiva-img_6826.jpg

Kotilingeshwara --> A place where you can see 1 crore Idols of Shiva-img_6831.jpg

Kotilingeshwara --> A place where you can see 1 crore Idols of Shiva-img_6842.jpg

Kotilingeshwara --> A place where you can see 1 crore Idols of Shiva-img_6846.jpg

Kotilingeshwara --> A place where you can see 1 crore Idols of Shiva-img_6847.jpg

Wherever you see there are idols of Shiva. Currently there are 90Lac and they plan to reach 1 crore and hence the name "Kotilingeshwara"

Thanks for sharing shishir, was definitely a visual treat by watching these shiv lings. Truly amazing.

Thanks for sharing. How is the Malur-Bangarpet road?
Is it worth going that way? If one stays in south Bangalore, it is easier to take teh Bagalur-Malur-Bangarpet road.

I am sorry to say, but I strongly suspect that the principles laid out in the shilpashastras have been completely ignored. Nowhere to be seen are graceful lines angles and curves. The main lingam looks like an Indian Oil fuel Depot converted into a religious object. It looks more of an insult to the glorious tradition of Indian sculpture. The smaller ones may be more true to style.

This looks like a place setup just create a Guinness world record more than anything else.

Again this only a layman's judgment. However I still have spent considerable amount of time gazing at and meditating upon the marvels of Indian art.

The Nandi is the biggest joke over there!! I wanted to burst out laughing when I saw it. Was the creator a cartoonist or a sculpturist?

--Ragul

Originally Posted by ranjith.rajaram (Post 2362586)
Thanks for sharing shishir, was definitely a visual treat by watching these shiv lings. Truly amazing.

Thanks Ranjith

Originally Posted by ampere (Post 2362637)
Thanks for sharing. How is the Malur-Bangarpet road?
Is it worth going that way? If one stays in south Bangalore, it is easier to take teh Bagalur-Malur-Bangarpet road.

AFAIK, the road are pretty OK. Not an issue. But if you are going via Bangarpet then there might be some traffic. BUt people who are accustomed to city traffic will not be an issue

Originally Posted by Ragul (Post 2362673)
The Nandi is the biggest joke over there!! I wanted to burst out laughing when I saw it. Was the creator a cartoonist or a sculpturist?

--Ragul

Even I was shocked when I saw the Nandi. Nothing was as per dimensions.

Planning on a visit to Kotilingeshwara this Sunday with 2 babies from Bangalore. Any recommendations on eateries on the way ?

this reminds me of the one i saw near salem on the highway. That is run by Vinayaga mission and its on a small hill. If i am correct there is 1008 Shivlinga's .

A good trip and a nice write up.

Originally Posted by sdp1975 (Post 2582138)
Planning on a visit to Kotilingeshwara this Sunday with 2 babies from Bangalore. Any recommendations on eateries on the way ?

AFAIK this is the best route:

Bangalore - Kolar (4lane highway) - Bangarpet - BEML Township - Kotilingeshwar

Between Hoskote & Kolar, there is Kamat Upachar and also Cafe Coffee Day.

No decent eateries except one Kamath and CCD

There is one Aishwarya garden or so just after the temple towards Beethamangala. Decent place with good food.

We went there last month, took the route K.R.Puram-Kolar-Bangarpet-KGF town-Kotilingeshwara. Road condition is great, except last few kms after KGF town, which is not very bad.

Please visit Kolaramma temple at Kolar.

Originally Posted by sumannandy (Post 2582813)
We went there last month, took the route K.R.Puram-Kolar-Bangarpet-KGF town-Kotilingeshwara. Road condition is great, except last few kms after KGF town, which is not very bad.

Please visit Kolaramma temple at Kolar.

So I need to get off NH4 at Kolar and drive towards Bangarpet, are the signages clear enough to do this ?

Get off NH4 before the bypass at Kolar. NH4 goes towards right. You have to go under NH4.

Do not remember about signages. We were tracking in google maps.

If possible, try to visit Kolaramma temple.

This place has around 70 Lacs+ Lingas and the aim is to reach a Crore.....recently had one Linga Sthapana done, it was my dad's last wish.

How is the place maintained now ? Four years ago it was filthy inside and outside.
And no cameras were allowed too.