Old 4th November 2017, 08:47   #496

8 lakh is a decent price. Going by a physical inspection which I highly recommend, you can negotiate on basis of the paint condition and tyre life. Also the leather bits in the cabin are a give away of the usage pattern of the current owner.

The MT also came with 170 bhp. Although with the dieselgate software update by VW, it might have gone down.

By the mileage you mention, it seems too good to be true. Go for it.
adi_petrolhead is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th November 2017, 10:51   #497

re: Driven: The 2011 Volkswagen Passat

Originally Posted by adi_petrolhead View Post
8 lakh is a decent price. Going by a physical inspection which I highly recommend, you can negotiate on basis of the paint condition and tyre life. Also the leather bits in the cabin are a give away of the usage pattern of the current owner.

The MT also came with 170 bhp. Although with the dieselgate software update by VW, it might have gone down.

By the mileage you mention, it seems too good to be true. Go for it.
Passat at 8 L is a steal. I would suggest to go for it

If you can strike a better bargain, you can save a few tens of thousands - try to haggle a bit more
bhpfaninblr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th November 2017, 11:53   #498

Originally Posted by patel8585 View Post
As, I am in search of well maintained Passat Trendline MT, and have been able to find one as it is 2013 Dec Passat MT Trendline with 38000 kms done and the car looks well maintained in the pics.

So, what can be the resale value as the owner wants 8 lacs as he was demanding around 8.5 lacs but he has moved down to 8 lacs.

So, will it worth buying at 8 lacs or do i still need to negotiate and what quote shuld i give him.

And do the passat MT also come with same 170 BHP or the 140 BHP tune?
This sounds like a great deal, but dig a little deeper before parting with your money.

Check things like:-
  • Service history and details related to the work done/pending?
  • Is the odometer reading genuine?
  • Any history of accidents, flood damage or any other damage? If yes, have the repairs been done properly?
  • Has the car always been serviced at the authorized dealer as per schedule?
  • List of parts been replaced due to regular wear & tear? (This could give you an idea if you have to deal with any upcoming jobs)
  • Do all of the car's mechanical and electrical systems work properly?
  • Any modifications done to the car? (Stereo, speakers, etc.) If yes, check if these mods have been done correctly with good quality parts.
If possible, go check the car out and test drive it personally. Don't make your decision only through pictures. Take a qualified mechanic with you as they can help you evaluate the car's health better. The Passat Trendline MT also comes with 170 BHP, just like the Comfortline and Highline variants.
fordfreak is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th November 2017, 12:20   #499

I have to go in for tyre replacement on my Passat, which is 5 years old.

Choices are Pirelli Cinturato P7 (original fitment)
Michelin Primacy 3ST
Apollo Aspire 4G

Any suggestions / recommendations will be be most welcome.
rpunwani is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th November 2017, 13:22   #500

You can also consider Continental MaxContact5 - I put these on my 1.8 TSi Laura after the OEM goodyears reached end of life. It's been a year and 8000km, Continentals are very good. 1.8 TSi is powerhouse but Conti's are managing to put all that power down very well. Hardly any wheel-spin and torque steer. No squeals on fast corners in the ghats.
Old 14th November 2017, 13:37   #501

Thanks Anand, however I am looking for a load/speed rating of 97W, which is available in the three brands that I mentioned earlier.

The Continental tyres have a load/speed rating of 93V. BTW, how much did they cost?
Old 14th November 2017, 14:10   #502

Originally Posted by rpunwani View Post
Thanks Anand, however I am looking for a load/speed rating of 97W, which is available in the three brands that I mentioned earlier.

The Continental tyres have a load/speed rating of 93V. BTW, how much did they cost?
Oh, Passat needs need 'W'! I wasn't aware!!
Mine are 195/65R15, 91V. I got 4 of them for 19200.
Old 14th November 2017, 14:13   #503

Originally Posted by anandpadhye View Post
Oh, Passat needs need 'W'! I wasn't aware!!
Mine are 195/65R15, 91V. I got 4 of them for 19200.
The Passat has 215/55 R16 with a load/speed rating of 97W; obviously the cost is much higher.

I was quoted 14k per tyre for Michelin & Pirelli. The Apollo is about 10,300 per tyre.
Old 14th November 2017, 14:16   #504

Yes, I think the tyre price (and their margin) increases exponentially with size!!!
The 235/60R16 for my Tucson costed me 12000 each 3 years ago.

To cool my nerves, I have bought a small stake in Goodyear, waiting for their Q2 results
Old 15th November 2017, 05:37   #505

Originally Posted by rpunwani View Post

I have Yokohama DB decibel, I upsized to 225/55/R16 , these are 94V rated and quite good. Very silent , nearly 7000 KM so far. Cost Rs. 10500 apiece , tyre dealer threw in free wheel alignment and a repeat service , but I never got the chance to go again.

The upsize doesn’t affect ride quality , grip levels are unchanged and it gives a beefy appearance . Higher upsize would need alloy and wheel change , I am told that 6.5 J can hold maximum of 225 ,
Old 15th November 2017, 08:12   #506

Originally Posted by baskar View Post
I have Yokohama DB decibel, I upsized to 225/55/R16 , these are 94V rated and quite good. Very silent , nearly 7000 KM so far. Cost Rs. 10500 apiece , tyre dealer threw in free wheel alignment and a repeat service , but I never got the chance to go again.

The upsize doesn’t affect ride quality , grip levels are unchanged and it gives a beefy appearance . Higher upsize would need alloy and wheel change , I am told that 6.5 J can hold maximum of 225 ,
Many thanks Baskar, I will surely look at Yokohama. Availability of DB Decibels is limited, though.

I have Yokohama Earth 1 tyres on my Polo and am very happy with them.
Old 15th November 2017, 09:11   #507

Originally Posted by baskar View Post
Higher upsize would need alloy and wheel change , I am told that 6.5 J can hold maximum of 225 ,
Are you sure? My car has 6.5J rims and when I checked, 215mm was the widest tyre that should be fit on this rim. 225 is too wide, please recheck as it could be a major safety topic.
Old 15th November 2017, 11:20   #508

BTW, just curious, why does the Passat need 'W' (270kmph)? WHat's the rated top speed of the car?
1.8 TSi rated top speed is ~225kmph so 'V' (240kmph) is good enough for the Laura.
Old 15th November 2017, 14:48   #509

Originally Posted by anandpadhye View Post
BTW, just curious, why does the Passat need 'W' (270kmph)? WHat's the rated top speed of the car?
1.8 TSi rated top speed is ~225kmph so 'V' (240kmph) is good enough for the Laura.
I am not aware of the rated top speed, but the odo shows a max of 260 km/hr and I do believe she can get pretty close to that.

The 97W is the rating of the original tyre that came with the car - Pirelli Cinturato P7.
Old 16th November 2017, 06:19   #510

Got my car back after another repair - this time blower assly replaced. I thought everything is ok only to realize that the passenger side power windows, lumbar support and seat cooler buttons are not functioning. Since there is no manual levers or anything, passengers cannot adjust anything. I don't know if something happened during blower replacement that some fuse got blown. Driver side controls are ok.

The reverse camera is also gone, I opened the rear boot trim and checked the connections , everything seems ok but there is no video output.

Never ending gremlins of this car is irritating. Every visit to the workshop is 1 week stay - Started getting the urge to repair and sell it -