Old 1st July 2017, 12:32   #481

re: Driven: The 2011 Volkswagen Passat

Originally Posted by musclecar View Post
Hi Guys! I am facing coolant leakage issue in my Passat Highline. The coolant level drops and error light keeps buzzing. I have topped up the coolant 3-4 times in last one month! The bigger problem is that there is no visible signs of any leakage under the car! Has anyone else faced this issue and can someone guide me on what needs to be done. I have checked some international passat forums where they say its a common issue.
It will most probably be the water pump. Best to take it to your dealer since if your car is in warranty, this will be replaced for free. I think its pretty common on the 2.0tdis to have the water pump fail.
Akshay1234 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2017, 18:48   #482

this is most likely a water pump leakage. It was replaced in my car after the warranty period was over . It costed Rs.6500/- - It is not very cheap at the same time, not very expensive either to burn a hole. There is no problem for the past 6 months.
Old 3rd July 2017, 18:55   #483

Originally Posted by fordfreak View Post
I get this warning message intermittently. Sometimes the camera works as normal despite the error message. On some rare occasions, it doesn't. The OPS and other systems all work fine.

I had asked the workshop to look into the issue, but they couldn't replicate the problem to enable them to diagnose it. If your camera isn't working at all, then take it to your dealer and they should be able to fix it.

Sorry for not being of much help.

Thanks fordfreak for your reply. For me, the problem is clearly replicated. So will take it to dealer when I get time. While I can easily live with the problem for now, having used to a reverse camera , in the absence of it now, feels handicapped sometimes, especially when reversing with a turn. http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/images...rustration.gif
baskar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th July 2017, 14:41   #484

Thanks: Fordfreak, Akshay & Baskar. Got it checked from the VW A.S.S. As all of you mentioned it was water pump issues. They changed the water pump along with the timing belt and one bearing. All of this cost me 30 large ones. Hoping the issue doesn't come up again.
musclecar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th July 2017, 11:40   #485

Originally Posted by exhaustpipe View Post

I got it replaced at home. Some bloke from a local battery shop came with the new battery in tow. It was a plain 2 min disconnect and reconnect job. Furthermore, he bought the old battery for 1200 inr.

Best
EP
Update:

I got the battery in my Passat replaced with an Amaron DIN74 battery. The technicial who came home brought along a small battery which he connected in parallel to the old Varta Battery. Then he asked me to start the car, after which he disconnected the Varta battery and connected the new Amaron battery. Then he removed the small battery which was connected in parallel.

Took all of 10 mins -
Old 29th July 2017, 14:20   #486

Originally Posted by rpunwani View Post
Update:

I got the battery in my Passat replaced with an Amaron DIN74 battery. The technicial who came home brought along a small battery which he connected in parallel to the old Varta Battery. Then he asked me to start the car, after which he disconnected the Varta battery and connected the new Amaron battery. Then he removed the small battery which was connected in parallel.

Took all of 10 mins -
Thanks for sharing this bit of information. The way our car batteries were successfully changed is surprisingly different!
Old 31st July 2017, 12:12   #487

My rear view camera has conked. While the camera itself flips when engaging reverse gear, there is no output to the HU. Got it checked it by VW service - they confirm that the control module is gone (don't know why though). Camera is ok. There is no rat cut or anything. The estimate crosses Rs. 40K. Any one knows what is the right place to source the correct module for my car - B7 Passat - 2012 Manf.
When I checked a few websites, the part costs 400 EUR + shipping of 50 EUR - comes very close to the price given by VW if I include labor costs.

Are there any other experienced 3rd party service technician in Chennai for VW ? Appreciate your help
Old 1st August 2017, 11:34   #488

Originally Posted by baskar View Post
My rear view camera has conked. While the camera itself flips when engaging reverse gear, there is no output to the HU. Got it checked it by VW service - they confirm that the control module is gone (don't know why though). Camera is ok. There is no rat cut or anything. The estimate crosses Rs. 40K. Any one knows what is the right place to source the correct module for my car - B7 Passat - 2012 Manf.
When I checked a few websites, the part costs 400 EUR + shipping of 50 EUR - comes very close to the price given by VW if I include labor costs.

Are there any other experienced 3rd party service technician in Chennai for VW ? Appreciate your help
So is it possible to replace just the faulty part or are they telling you to replace the whole thing (forgive my ignorance)? Have they tried anything to get the camera running again or have they just diagnosed the issue and left it at that?

Is there any possibility grabbing one off a totaled/scrapped Passat? The dealer would probably not help you with this option though.

I wouldn't trust a 3rd party service with the Passat's electronics. No guarantee about the quality of their work nor any further problems down the line.
Old 1st August 2017, 18:04   #489

Originally Posted by fordfreak View Post
So is it possible to replace just the faulty part or are they telling you to replace the whole thing (forgive my ignorance)? Have they tried anything to get the camera running again or have they just diagnosed the issue and left it at that?

Is there any possibility grabbing one off a totaled/scrapped Passat? The dealer would probably not help you with this option though.

I wouldn't trust a 3rd party service with the Passat's electronics. No guarantee about the quality of their work nor any further problems down the line.
Thanks for the reply Fordfreak. They are only asking to replace the control module, not the camera or the wires. All they are saying is that when they hooked it up to the scanner, this comes up as an error. There is no video output from the control module and hence they feel it is gone kaput. No attempt is made to repair it - I guess these modules are sealed and there is no way to repair it.

Yes - You are right about getting a totalled Passat - seeing a Passat itself is difficult , getting a scrapped one is even more.

I am weighing my options. 5 year old car and do I need invest so much on this? At the sametime, having a camera does help in reversing this long car especially in tight spaces with active guidelines etc. Will update the post once I decide.
Old 3rd August 2017, 21:51   #490

Originally Posted by baskar View Post
Thanks for the reply Fordfreak. They are only asking to replace the control module, not the camera or the wires. All they are saying is that when they hooked it up to the scanner, this comes up as an error. There is no video output from the control module and hence they feel it is gone kaput. No attempt is made to repair it - I guess these modules are sealed and there is no way to repair it.

Yes - You are right about getting a totalled Passat - seeing a Passat itself is difficult , getting a scrapped one is even more.

I am weighing my options. 5 year old car and do I need invest so much on this? At the sametime, having a camera does help in reversing this long car especially in tight spaces with active guidelines etc. Will update the post once I decide.
Funny thing happened. My camera conked off today (just a couple of days after I wrote the reply to your original post!).

I had sent the Passat to the dealer for replacement of the ABS sensor. The car was ready for delivery this afternoon. Driver went to pick it up and found the camera to be dead. Initial diagnosis revealed that it needs replacement. Brilliant.

I will be writing on my ownership review thread sometime tomorrow in more detail.

Last edited by fordfreak : 3rd August 2017 at 21:54.
Old 18th August 2017, 14:31   #491

Apologies: Query about Passat

I apologise for posting this question here. I did a search but couldn't find a relevant thread for this query.

I drive a Passat 118 TSI. It is a 7-year old vehicle and has done 122K kms (around 11K in the last 12 months). It gives me a decent mileage of nearly 9L/100kms. The issue I am facing with this vehicle is that it consumes a lot of engine oil. I top up around 2 litres and within 500kms of driving, the alarm indicators start flashing asking for a top up.

I asked at the workshop and they did say this is unusual (although VW tends to consume more oil than other cars) but they do not want to offer a reason unless they get under the hood (that is an expense I want to avoid at the present moment).

I was wondering if anyone could help me with probable causes.

Apologies again for this post in a wrong thread.

Travelwriter
Old 18th August 2017, 15:09   #492

Re: Apologies: Query about Passat

Originally Posted by travelwriter View Post
I apologise for posting this question here. I did a search but couldn't find a relevant thread for this query.

I drive a Passat 118 TSI. It is a 7-year old vehicle and has done 122K kms (around 11K in the last 12 months). It gives me a decent mileage of nearly 9L/100kms. The issue I am facing with this vehicle is that it consumes a lot of engine oil. I top up around 2 litres and within 500kms of driving, the alarm indicators start flashing asking for a top up.

I asked at the workshop and they did say this is unusual (although VW tends to consume more oil than other cars) but they do not want to offer a reason unless they get under the hood (that is an expense I want to avoid at the present moment).

I was wondering if anyone could help me with probable causes.

Apologies again for this post in a wrong thread.

Travelwriter
This could be due to oil leak. External leak would be visible in form of oil stains around / below the engine. If I am correct, internal leak is also possible which can be noticed by change in exhaust gas color, black/brown.
techcoze is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th August 2017, 17:46   #493

Originally Posted by techcoze View Post
This could be due to oil leak. External leak would be visible in form of oil stains around / below the engine. If I am correct, internal leak is also possible which can be noticed by change in exhaust gas color, black/brown.
Thanks, techcoze.

I checked for this but did not find any stains externally. Internally, I do not know yet. Any ideas on how I can check myself for internal leakages?

Again, the idea is to avoid a trip to the workshop.

Travelwriter
Old 18th August 2017, 17:49   #494

Originally Posted by travelwriter View Post
Thanks, techcoze.

I checked for this but did not find any stains externally. Internally, I do not know yet. Any ideas on how I can check myself for internal leakages?

Again, the idea is to avoid a trip to the workshop.

Travelwriter
Internal leaks can be detected by exhaust smoke color.
Refer following link for some more details
https://www.quora.com/What-car-engin...-leaking#!n=12
techcoze is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st October 2017, 16:49   #495

Hello there,
As, I am in search of well maintained Passat Trendline MT, and have been able to find one as it is 2013 Dec Passat MT Trendline with 38000 kms done and the car looks well maintained in the pics.

So, what will be the resale value as how much do i quote for the car as i am buying interstate car to Gujarat. So, what can be the resale value as the owner wants 8 lacs as he was demanding around 8.5 lacs but he has moved down to 8 lacs.

So, will it worth buying at 8 lacs or do i still need to negotiate and what quote shuld i give him.

And do the passat MT also come with same 170 BHP or the 140 BHP tune?

Waiting for your fast reply friends.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com