Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 10th May 2023, 12:25   #3901
BHPian

Re: Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)

Quote:
Originally Posted by swami69 View Post

Mine is 2015 Facelift model, could the cable be different ?

Swami
It should be different. But then I'm no expert in parts.
I'll try again with dealership.
Old 10th May 2023, 14:59   #3902
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by swami69 View Post
Mine is 2015 Facelift model, could the cable be different ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by zalaps View Post
It should be different. But then I'm no expert in parts.
Pre-2015 and facelifted one's are different. Moreover, the pre-2015 are not that great. I drove a lot in the hills and the cable would simply snap out every time I parked on an incline (even if slotted in gear). Facelifted one had an improved system, which I assume should Scorpio based, hence improved.
ralto is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th June 2023, 19:51   #3903
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by TaurusAl View Post
I am repeating the problems again for better understanding.

1) Centre console does not remain 'slightly' hot, the gear stick is hot and untouchable after 15-20 mins of driving at speeds around 80-100

2) My AC does NOT have a problem. It becomes ineffective due to heat from gear stick.

3) I am asking what could be the issue and what can I look to address, which you are asking me to resolve and then changing the oils.

My Thar is 2013 make.
I am quoting a 3 years old post this time but since you are active, so doing this.

Finally what was the solution for ‘hot gear stick’?

I am also facing this problem in my Di 4x4 NGT 520 gear box since long back. If there is only 2 persons with nominal luggage gearbox (shifter stick) stays normal but if there are 5-7 person in the vehicle shifter stick becomes extremely hot. Otherwise there is no problem in gear shifting, it works normal.