Old 12th July 2021, 11:48   #3811

Re: Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)

Originally Posted by KkVaidya View Post
These are the main water entry points. I had changed the windshield beading but no success.
The only solution is to apply black silicone from outside between the glass and beading.
Mine has lasted 3 monsoons and 1 cyclone without a slightest droplet inside the cabin, yesterday’s rain was moderately heavy yet it leaked inside. I spoke to the Service Guy at Punjab Mahindra and will take the vehicle to ASC on Thursday, Let’s see.
Old 5th August 2021, 08:11   #3812

Hello everyone,

Can anyone give me the wiring diagram for my 2014 Thar?

I just bought it second hand and the wiring is in a pretty sorry state with some parts of it completely missing, so, a wiring diagram will greatly help in solving the electrical issues.

Abhishek
Old 16th August 2021, 07:49   #3813

Originally Posted by abhikb View Post
Based on your last post, I cross checked with my modification guy, he confirmed that the innova seats don’t require any additional holes on the floor board. For the driver seat, the original frame needs to be modified a little, for the co-driver seat, a hole is required to be drilled on the toolbox top.

Coming back to the question where to source it, either you can ask your modification guy to source and do the job or you will have to procure it from the scrap or kabadi market.

I wanted to change my seats too on my 2013 model. The mech told me a foam padding will give a same comfort. I got it done for about 5k with new seat covers and its better than the stock seats now. If you are in Bangalore, you can check prad4x4.in. They do the uplifting.
Old 16th August 2021, 07:55   #3814

Soft top cut need repair or replacement.

Recent visit to the farm had my soft top torn at one side. Not suer who can get it rectified. I thought of checking with some bag stitching guys if they can patch it up.

But, wanted to see if I can make it convertible. Googled a lot but there isnt one which is like the new 2020 Thar convertible models for the 1st gen.

I could only find Armoro but that isnt convertible

Any leads on convertible for the 1st gen?
Old 16th August 2021, 22:23   #3815

Originally Posted by abacusv View Post
I wanted to change my seats too on my 2013 model. The mech told me a foam padding will give a same comfort. I got it done for about 5k with new seat covers and its better than the stock seats now. If you are in Bangalore, you can check prad4x4.in. They do the uplifting.
The OEM seats are actually better with little beat cushioning, I have put a base cushion and back cushion both bought from Amazon. The driving comfort is top notch and I can anytime switch back to stock setup.

Recent visit to the farm had my soft top torn at one side. Not suer who can get it rectified. I thought of checking with some bag stitching guys if they can patch it up.

But, wanted to see if I can make it convertible. Googled a lot but there isnt one which is like the new 2020 Thar convertible models for the 1st gen.

https://www.Youtube.com/watch?v=Hzo9lzA51BQ

Any leads on convertible for the 1st gen?
I really doubt there’s a convertible option available for Thar CRDe, IIRC BYC Jammu did one setup for a famous mountaineer, the video would be there somewhere on YouTube.
Old 17th August 2021, 01:09   #3816

Hey, I had been in this confusion for several years. It seems like there's no one who can do the 2020 Thar-like roof conversion. However, I did get very close to it.

The primary requirement was that the top should be easy to take off and quick to put on. It shouldn't be so difficult that I don't feel like taking it out without the top, nor should the passengers get drenched if it rains suddenly.

This setup takes about 2 minutes to take off, 5 minutes to put back on. And if there's two people, it takes only about 2 minutes to put it back on. I don't think it could be easier than this.

The canvas top slides into the slit at the top of the windshield, from there you pull it backwards. Then you push the sides and back and fasten them onto the turn buttons which have been fixed on the body. Zip up the sides, and it's done.

Some pictures:

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-screenshot_20200908192150.jpeg

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-thar1.jpeg

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-img_20201003_172055.jpeg

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-1.jpeg

Here's one with the roof back on:
Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-whatsapp-image-20210817-12.56.10-am.jpeg

This job was done at Bimbra 4x4 (Gurgaon). Quite happy with the final job, especially considering that everyone else refused to even try anything similar. I do feel the quality of execution could have been better. The turn buttons they have used seem flimsy too. And some minor niggles that I guess any modification/any workshop mechanic would serve to you.

Got this done a year ago. No complaints, enjoying it so far. [sidenote: the soft top got torn due to a protruding tree branch, have to get that fixed. But that's not really a fault of the mod, just a soft-top con.]

This job involved changing the roll cage at the back, removing the cross-shaped bars on the front, and attaching the turn buttons.

There's a pretty neat video showing how the top is removed. Would share here if someone can guide me as to how I can remove/blur my number plates in the video.

Would be happy to hear feedback/comments on this.

Last edited by N.A.GTC : 17th August 2021 at 01:12.
N.A.GTC is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th August 2021, 10:25   #3817

I am unsure how big is tear but quoting my own response from elsewhere :

A one inch linear tear in my Thar V1's soft top was repaired by seat/cushion-waalah guy for Rs.200. I did have to loosen the top a bit for his work to commence. He basically found out small piece of same material as soft top, cut it in a nice round shape and used adhesive to stick that patch on the tear. Didn't even use any weight to press it. One guy pressed from top of the vehicle while this dude held it from inside the vehicle. The adhesive needed half an hour to dry after which I tightened the top and drove home. Easy peasy.

It was only after I enquired a bit that the adhesive is pretty common one used for carpets, leather, foam etc and various manufacturers make it including Pidilite.
Here is the one that my guy used, which according to him is the best among all: https://www.speb7.com/product_general_purpose.html

I later on got a 50ml tin for Rs. 80 from a furniture shop. The thing is magical and you need to be extremely careful as it starts to grip surfaces almost immediately. If you are a little DIY sort of guy, this option is worth exploring.
After that fix, it rained twice and it didn't leak. I have now switched to hard top but thought I will let you know that such holes/tears can be easily (and cheaply) fixed.

Edit: As Tgo suggested, for added peace of mind, smear black colored silicone sealant on the tear and around the edges of the patch afterwards.

https://www.Youtube.com/watch?v=Hzo9lzA51BQ
I hate how shabby the Armoro top looks. For once OEM stuff looks better than aftermarket.

Last edited by amol4184 : 17th August 2021 at 10:26.
Old 17th August 2021, 16:03   #3818

Originally Posted by N.A.GTC View Post
Hey, I had been in this confusion for several years. It seems like there's no one who can do the 2020 Thar-like roof conversion. However, I did get very close to it.

The primary requirement was that the top should be easy to take off and quick to put on. It shouldn't be so difficult that I don't feel like taking it out without the top, nor should the passengers get drenched if it rains suddenly.
Exactly my requirement. But I like the OEM fitting, its fits tight without any uneveness anywhere and without a noise even in high speed.

Isnt the convertible a choice by many. How come there are no vendors for it, even after close to 10 years of the model in market?

Originally Posted by amol4184 View Post

[i]
The tear is from driver seat end till the rear end and its not straight. So a patch work needs a some neat work. Will try to find someone who can help me out with.
Old 17th August 2021, 21:39   #3819

Mine has lasted 3 monsoons and 1 cyclone without a slightest droplet inside the cabin, yesterday’s rain was moderately heavy yet it leaked inside. I spoke to the Service Guy at Punjab Mahindra and will take the vehicle to ASC on Thursday, Let’s see.
Was the problem solved at the ASC? Please do share the solution if there was one . I am facing a similar problem with my 2013 Thar. My local ASC suggested changing the beading but at the same time they were sceptical about changing it as there was a chance of the windshield shattering while removing it (as per them only) and they were unwilling to take any responsibility for any damages.

[i]A one inch linear tear in my Thar V1's soft top was repaired by seat/cushion-waalah guy for Rs.200. I did have to loosen the top a bit for his work to commence. ............ to dry after which I tightened the top and drove home. Easy peasy.
How easy is it to remove and re-fit the soft top (the factory fitted soft top)? I need to get the rear flap stitched and the workshop fellow says he will need to remove the whole top, finish the work and then re-fit the same. I am a bit worried because if they do not fit the top properly, there are chances of leaks during rains.

Basically the zipper of the rear flap is torn off on both sides and there is no 'locking' system to hold the flap in place. Any suggestions on how to fix this?
Old 17th August 2021, 22:42   #3820

Originally Posted by addyhemmige View Post
How easy is it to remove and re-fit the soft top (the factory fitted soft top)? I need to get the rear flap stitched and the workshop fellow says he will need to remove the whole top, finish the work and then re-fit the same. I am a bit worried because if they do not fit the top properly, there are chances of leaks during rains.

Basically the zipper of the rear flap is torn off on both sides and there is no 'locking' system to hold the flap in place. Any suggestions on how to fix this?
It's not too difficult. Replace all the plastic rivets on the front portion of the soft top when you re-fit it. They look like reusable but I broke a couple and others never fit as tight as factory fit.
The stitching part sounds possibly problematic though. Wouldn't water seep in through the stitches?
The flap was somewhat of a pain. Mine was warped upwards from bottom and would leave a hole open all the time.
I imagine some jugaad with velcro strips will hold it down. When you are at the guy who is going to stitch the chain, ask if he can stitch velcro strips on the bottom of the flap and stick arresting part of the velcro on the door. Just a thought.
If dust is a problem, there was a neat trick where someone welded a metal strip on the door thereby extending its height.
amol4184 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th August 2021, 22:51   #3821

Was the problem solved at the ASC? Please do share the solution if there was one . I am facing a similar problem with my 2013 Thar. My local ASC suggested changing the beading but at the same time they were sceptical about changing it as there was a chance of the windshield shattering while removing it (as per them only) and they were unwilling to take any responsibility for any damages.

The ASC guys did a pressure wash to check for the source and it didn’t leak a single drop. So they advised against removing the windshield or any further operations. Post that we also did a 500 kms trip to Mandan in continuous heavy rainfall and still it didn’t leak. However what I have observed is water does seap in from the front doors, the door hinges are required to be tightened in the next service.

Removing and refixing The OE soft top is not an easy task to do, unless the guy is an expert, better to avoid. You can try DMing Rajith, he can guide you to someone in Bangalore.
abhikb is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th August 2021, 18:59   #3822

Thanks you guys. Apologies for the late reply.
The ASC guys did a pressure wash to check for the source and it didn’t leak a single drop. So they advised against removing the windshield or any further operations. Post that we also did a 500 kms trip to Mandan in continuous heavy rainfall and still it didn’t leak. However what I have observed is water does seap in from the front doors, the door hinges are required to be tightened in the next service.
The windshield is not a major problem for now, so I guess I might leave it as it is.
Removing and refixing The OE soft top is not an easy task to do, unless the guy is an expert, better to avoid. You can try DMing Rajith, he can guide you to someone in Bangalore.
True, a botched up refit is the last thing I want now. Which Rajith are you talking about?
I imagine some jugaad with velcro strips will hold it down. When you are at the guy who is going to stitch the chain, ask if he can stitch velcro strips on the bottom of the flap and stick arresting part of the velcro on the door. Just a thought.
If dust is a problem, there was a neat trick where someone welded a metal strip on the door thereby extending its height.
The workshop fellow suggested the Velcro strip idea too and it seemed logical as well. I have seen a couple of Thars with the extra metal strips on the door, but somehow I'm not too sure if it will be effective.
Old 25th August 2021, 23:45   #3823

True, a botched up refit is the last thing I want now. Which Rajith are you talking about?
Bhpian Rajith is a 5 time Thar owner (if I have kept the count right), his Teambhp handle name is also Rajith. Got many helpful tips from him over the course of time.
abhikb is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th August 2021, 07:06   #3824

With less option from my search I bought thr armoro openable soft top. Removal was very easy, kept it open for couple of days and had an elephant task to put thr new one back.

Probably due to the new armoro which is not as perfect stitch as the OEM. But I’m hoping thr OEM should be easy though.
Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-1image.jpg  

abacusv is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th August 2021, 10:14   #3825

With less option from my search I bought thr armoro openable soft top. Removal was very easy, kept it open for couple of days and had an elephant task to put thr new one back.

Probably due to the new armoro which is not as perfect stitch as the OEM. But I’m hoping thr OEM should be easy though.
Based on my experience, the OEM canopy is the best out there. I am on my second canopy with the first one damaged by jungle bush and sun exposure. A new OEM would cost around 21,000 but it's worth.
KkVaidya is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com