Hi. Returning after a long gap. Meantime lots of things happened such as closing and then opening of this thread with new heading with help from MODs. Delay in registration .. etc. Finally my dear Scorpio arrived at home on 30th Nov’2010.
Booking and Buying experience: I have already written as to how I chose Scorpio so not going into it. My company booked Scorpio VLX BS4 4WD with Airbags directly with Mahindra’s. The RTO registration and other formalities to be done by dealer G3, Mumbai ( On road cost 12lakhs approx). Mahindra delivered Vehicle to dealer within a week i.e. on 17th Nov.Then my trauma of documents bungling by my company people/dealer started, the model details, address of my company, every possible details- not matching in each document -to be corrected on all ends including cumbersome SAP systems. Then my going out of station also didn’t help. There was a RTO problem about address proof but finally on 30th Nov all was well and Scorpio was registered and home delivered to me. I have not visited the dealer yet. The dealer has been cooperative and I must mention that Mahindras were very quick and most helpful. The driver, who delivered had no clue about vehicle. But I was confident because of Team BHP. I read all the threads about Scorpio 4WD.
When I started driving this majestic vehicle, I have observed and experience few aspects.
Cons: When I went to fill Diesel, to my horror I found there is considerable leakage
![Shockked](https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/images/smilies/Shockked.png)
. So, I requested petrol pump to use funnel, it helped a little but it’s very slow. Now I am filling few liters’ at a time with funnel. Luckily there is no leakage except while filling. But I can not calculate mileage till I rectify it.
The blue tooth worked a while but now it doesn’t. It calls or accepts call but immediately transfers to handset. Basically not working.
The AC vent knob (Middle left) Jam refuses to budge.( Poor workmanship)The tyretronics may not have been showing correct readings. I went to petrol pump,set 32psi in each tyre. But the instrument reads 31 to 37 psi for different tyres. Probably need to check at Service center.The duplicate remote key not functional.
There is much scope for improvement in fine tuning and finishing of Plastic interiors. Another, aspect which I noticed is lack of compartments for keeping things. There is a small glove box, which is hopelessly inadequate. There are three holes near gear handle; I am trying to figure what those are for. There is a compartment in door. But if I want to put or take wallet, I have to bend sideways so much that I fear a sprain in my waist. If I keep anything in Dickey or on seat, it tends to roll over. I really want some suggestions, as to whether is it possible to add some compartments anywhere so that things like CDs, Laptops, small bags can be kept without rolling. May be with Lock.
Dealers expert came to give me demo but he couldn’t add to anything more. He couldn’t explain immobilizer coding and functions. Also in 4WD the knob shows 4H and 4L, he explained 4H is high, hence more powerful than 4L (4Lower). I thought it was other way round.
So my visit to Service Center is imminent to sort out all these technical issues.
Pros :
As soon as I give ignition, the engine throbbed, the engine pulse resonating with my own; we both knew that we each found a perfect match. Then I slid up the glasses, it became silent inside.( I love silence). The sound system is good and functional; I say it because my wife and kids and certified it so. The clutch and gear shifts is very smooth and is as good if not better than that of optra/civic/swift all petrol, which previously I owned. ( Only thing I observed is low fast vibrations in gear lever at high speeds, I don’t know whether it is standard or will go with time ? Also there is a lag of second or two when I accelerate, which was not observed in optra/civic/swift). Or else, it has power, looks mighty and monstrous (I now get a second looks from some people, who otherwise
![Big Grin](https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.png)
). The high seats give a commanding position to drive and are comfortable and keep my back straight. All the auto gizmos have manual override. Ac is cooling well. I also like microhybrid system and its quick response. Now I don’t fear three wheelers and mobikes. The suspension gives comfortable ride even on rough roads. The Cruz was very relaxing. I simply put it on cruz mode at 85kmh on expressway and then did nothing but to relax. I have yet to test the 4WD system, but I will soon.
Overall, I finally found what gives me pleaser and pride.
On the basis of Team BPH posts info, I called VKool guys. They came home and fitted economy 60L films, very efficiently, not a bubble or scratch. (Rs.13000). Vkool is very good and effective. I could feel the difference.
I am confused about bulbar and seat covers, the more posts I read more I get confused. Are the sensors/lights not vulnerable and can get protection due front and rear bulbar? Any words of experience from Mumbai about both? Other things I have in mind is wall to wall poly-mat.
I have earlier posted pics when Scorpio was in stockyard. Now, I have some more photos but I am figuring out as to how to remove that registration number and post. I will narrate further experience and output of my visit to Service center and also post Pics.
Anil