Originally Posted by mkc15 While I was in market for a used Civic during Oct-2009, I could find only 2 decent deals (direct ads, no dealer).
(1) 8 month old, 5600km, S-MT, Black - 10lakh dead |
Considering that a new Civic S-MT in Bangalore is 15 lakhs (Price check?), 5 off on an 8 month old car is not bad at all.
Originally Posted by smartcat Honda equips their Civic & Accord to stereo controls at the back while Toyota equips their Corolla & Camry with stereo controls on the steering wheel. |
Ha! Good catch. How I wish this car had audio controls on the steering wheel, and not on the backseat armrest.
Originally Posted by recshenoy Is this the one whos name starts with F & ends with R |
Nope
Civic pics are not uploaded in your garage |
Will be once the wheels arrive.
Originally Posted by vasoo I would have liked to go for a white one, but my daughter was against it. Hence had to "compromise" with a Habanero red car. |
Who can argue with women, right?
Now a new VAT costs 17 lacs in Bangalore .
|
Seriously? Man, Bangalore is way too expensive. I presume you are talking about individual registration?
Originally Posted by akaushik and PM me if you need any help at dealership ;-) |
Thank you.
Originally Posted by s3va I am still curious to know the reason why the owner was selling this car ? This is the question that crops up first in my(most of the others too) mind while buying an used car. |
At the time that I bought my OHC Vtec, it was less than a year old. This Civic is a li'l over two years old. I don't ask the reasons. Why? If it was something irrelevant to the car, I am not interested in knowing. And if it was relevant to the car, do I think the owner would give me an honest reply? No. What's the point then.
Either ways, the OHC Vtec & Civic were bought through Honda authorised dealers (their used car division) and hence, I've had no proper interaction with the respective owners.
And what do you intend to do for the low GC issue ? Will your intention to upgrade to an after market suspensions solve this ?
|
Actually, the GC of 170 mm is not bad, and is pretty much on par with other cars. The real issue is the ultra-soft rear suspension. Even two adults on the back seat makes the car sag. That's exactly when the underbelly scrapes. A performance suspension kit will not only improve handling, but even make for a stiffer rear (that won't sag with 4 onboard).
I drove my friends Civic few weeks back during a long drive and I was absolutely amazed with its mid and high range torque along with rock solid stability.
|
True.
Originally Posted by ghodlur The interiors look fantastic, liked the DTE indicator in blue. |
No DTE on mine. Stingy Honda only released it on the face-lift (or was it real time fuel efficiency?)
Did you incur any cost on the major service done or was it done free by Solitare Honda.
|
Obviously not free. I got everything changed and paid approx. 9,000 rupees for that. Again, most things were not even required. For instance, the fuel filter (cost Rs. 3,000) is recommended for a change at 60,000 kms. The radiator flush, brake line bleed etc. weren't required, yet I like giving a used car an entirely fresh set of lubes / filters before taking her home. Been a habit since long.
Originally Posted by vasanthn21 this has caused the Civic (SeeWeak) effect - on seeing the civic, going weak at my knees. |
Originally Posted by vasoo Well, in my experience and test drives I found City to be hitting more humps in Bangalore than the new Civic. |
True. The facelifted Civic comes with a firmer rear end.
The main thing that may cause issues for Civic is its long wheel base.
|
Valid point. The Civic's wheelbase of 2,700 mm is substantially longer than the Laura (2,578 mm) and even the Altis (2,600 mm). The Laura's ground clearance is actually lower at 164 mm, but the firm Euro suspension and shorter wheelbase don't lead to scraping issues. The Altis has 176 mm of GC and the rear is perfectly set up (read = not soft).
IIRC, my C220 has a GC of only 160 mm. However, the ride height remains nearly the same even if there are 4 people in the car. Would you believe it, in all the highway running so far, I don't remember scraping her underbelly anywhere?!