Old 3rd January 2011, 09:45   #3616

re: Review: 1st-gen Ford Figo (2010)

Nothing to do with the seats and all. The floor console just goes around the handbrake not even till the front cup holders. The ZXi and lower variants have the front cup holders after that this piece attaches.

Like I said it will be a difficult part to procure and the Ford guys are likely to give excuses rather than procure it.

I wanted the silver finish door handles from the Fiesta and even for that they gave excuses till I showed the guy they are exactly the same.
Old 3rd January 2011, 17:16   #3617
RGK

Exactly vid.. Service centres are not interested in procuring these items as it does not make big money for them..

Taken snaps on GC scrapping - where exactly it hits the belly and also about my new carpet flooring in my ownership thread.
No major update from Ford so far. They asked to book an appointment. Strictly said only if Ford commits to clear all my issues in one visit.
Seeing a very lethargic attitude by Ford... Will certainly backfire when more no of unsatisfied customers increase....

Last edited by RGK : 3rd January 2011 at 17:27.
Old 3rd January 2011, 22:55   #3618

Took a test drive of Figo diesel today.
The sales guy indicated that I should go for the petrol version since my running is low. As per him, the running should be about 100-150 KM per day.
The primary concern from his side was that Figo diesel would require expensive maintenance which was not worth it in my case.
My usage pattern would be: around 5-10 km during some weekdays and no running during some other weekdays, occasional outdoor trips during weekends.

I am not keen on Figo petrol since I have read reports of sluggish performance with AC on.

Will a modern diesel engine (like the one in Figo) be required to be used a lot so as to give less maintenance problems?
Old 4th January 2011, 01:15   #3619

Originally Posted by S_U_N View Post
The sales guy indicated that I should go for the petrol version since my running is low. As per him, the running should be about 100-150 KM per day.
The primary concern from his side was that Figo diesel would require expensive maintenance which was not worth it in my case.
My usage pattern would be: around 5-10 km during some weekdays and no running during some other weekdays, occasional outdoor trips during weekends.

I am not keen on Figo petrol since I have read reports of sluggish performance with AC on.

Will a modern diesel engine (like the one in Figo) be required to be used a lot so as to give less maintenance problems?
With such low running, you would be better off buying a petrol car. Just be reminded that you are initially paying an additional 1 lakh for the Diesel variant and also around 20% extra (my guess!) for the maintenance compared to the Petrol.
Do get a test drive of the Petrol Figo and see if it suits your needs. If not, you have other better options in petrol like the new i10 1.2 VTVT, Swift etc. I believe those will offer better peace of mind too, just my opinion.
Old 4th January 2011, 07:29   #3620

Maintenance or not Diesel does not justify your needs, with such low running I doubt if the engine would be able to clear its tolerances, so go for a petrol.

Sluggishness is relative, so drive the thing for yourself and decide!!
Old 4th January 2011, 10:22   #3621

with Jayded word to word.For your usage, look at petrol options.In petrol engines be open, there are lots of good options other than Ford;K-Series from maruti,Kappa from Hyundai .Also as Jayded put it rightly, the maintenance woes are much lesser with these engines.
But for all you know, you might start to travel more after you buy the diesel engine.the diesel engines are addictive, they induce you to travel more, courtesy ..lower fuel price, good mileage , lesser transportation cost/head.Happy hunting
Old 4th January 2011, 10:36   #3622

Thanks. I think the only place where it would be sluggish is during inclines with AC and luggage. I don't think I would be able to test that in a test drive.
@jayded: I am not too keen on i10, it does not offer enough boot space which is a requirement for me with since I have a small kid. As far as swift is concerned, since the new Swift is about to be launched soon, I don't want to go for the old one either.

I was interested in Figo, since it is a good car to drive and handles well. I know I am paying around 1 lac more, but I think it is still the best diesel car at 6 lacs.
Old 4th January 2011, 10:45   #3623

Originally Posted by anilisanil View Post
Maintenance or not Diesel does not justify your needs, with such low running I doubt if the engine would be able to clear its tolerances, so go for a petrol.
Hi Anil,

I am not able to get the gist of what you are trying to say. Kindly elaborate.

You are right his running is too low to justify the premium paid upfront on the price of a Diesel over Petrol version of the same car/model.
Old 4th January 2011, 10:52   #3624

@ S_U_N We own a Figo Exi Petrol. It is a fantastic car. If you don't have much running buy Petrol Figo with eyes closed (don't forget PDI). Only concern we have is that the flared wheel arches prone to kiss rickshaws & tempos to dent and scratch.

Vinu
Old 4th January 2011, 12:44   #3625

Thanks. I think the only place where it would be sluggish is during inclines with AC and luggage. I don't think I would be able to test that in a test drive.
@jayded: I am not too keen on i10, it does not offer enough boot space which is a requirement for me with since I have a small kid. As far as swift is concerned, since the new Swift is about to be launched soon, I don't want to go for the old one either.

I was interested in Figo, since it is a good car to drive and handles well. I know I am paying around 1 lac more, but I think it is still the best diesel car at 6 lacs.
Hi S_U_N,

You should definitely test drive the Figo petrol and that too on an incline with AC. I don't think that would be difficult. Just talk with the sales guy who accompanies you on your drive, he might be knowing such a spot close by where you can test it.
Here are some options, keeping in mind that boot space is priority:
1) Polo 1.2 petrol (Cons: ~4 months waiting, less engine refinement compared to rest in class)
2) i20 1.2 petrol (Cons: Not a great handler, you might still find it sluggish, FE not that great at 10 - 11 kmpl in city, by the way, the Figo petrol also returns similar FE)

Last edited by jayded : 4th January 2011 at 12:46.
Old 4th January 2011, 13:39   #3626

Originally Posted by khoj View Post
Hi Anil,

I am not able to get the gist of what you are trying to say. Kindly elaborate.

You are right his running is too low to justify the premium paid upfront on the price of a Diesel over Petrol version of the same car/model.
I mean to say Engine opening up for the tolerances that it is designed for. Generally Diesels reach the optimum compression ratio only after one clocks say 10K KMs, with 5-10 kms a day ocassionally it would take him 3 years or so to clock 10km, that is what I meant there! Yeah, I suck at expressing my thoughts sometime

Last edited by anilisanil : 4th January 2011 at 13:45.
Old 4th January 2011, 13:48   #3627

Got a call asking me to bring the car back to sort out the brake problem.
They replaced the brake pads and now the metal grinding noise has totally disappeared!
Now finally the brakes sound like a normal car again! No more metal griding noises.
Detailed report here
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...ml#post2196373

Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
Nothing to do with the seats and all. The floor console just goes around the handbrake not even till the front cup holders. The ZXi and lower variants have the front cup holders after that this piece attaches.

Like I said it will be a difficult part to procure and the Ford guys are likely to give excuses rather than procure it.

I wanted the silver finish door handles from the Fiesta and even for that they gave excuses till I showed the guy they are exactly the same.
Vid, today again I spoke to the accessories guy. He was very adamant and told me that he cant fix it in my car. He went on to say that If I want it that badly he will order it for me but will take no responsibility if this cant be fixed.
He went on to say that this has never been done here but you can try asking the other dealers in the city but as per his know how its impossible.
I knew it was a waste of time talking and explaining it to him.
I said thank you and walked away.

Originally Posted by RGK View Post
Exactly vid.. Service centres are not interested in procuring these items as it does not make big money for them..

Taken snaps on GC scrapping - where exactly it hits the belly and also about my new carpet flooring in my ownership thread.
No major update from Ford so far. They asked to book an appointment. Strictly said only if Ford commits to clear all my issues in one visit.
Seeing a very lethargic attitude by Ford... Will certainly backfire when more no of unsatisfied customers increase....
Rightly said RGK. Have you raised a complaint with ford ? Check your PM.
I think you have forgotten to upload the pictures in your report.

Modern Diesel engines don't give any problems! They don't cost much to maintain.

We have a petrol figo, check my ownership report. For your Kind of a driving get a petrol car.
The Figo petrol is an OK car. The Engine isn't that great. Yes The engine does get a bit sluggish when the AC is on. Try climbing a slope with the AC on and 4 adults in the car you will know how sluggish the engine is!
I've had to turn off the AC while climbing slopes.
For a such a small underpowered engine the FE is pretty bad. I get about 10Kmpl in the city with AC.
Like the others have said test drive the figo petrol once. And try climbing a slope with the AC on.

Last edited by Captain Slow : 4th January 2011 at 13:51.
Old 4th January 2011, 16:47   #3628

Originally Posted by anilisanil View Post
..., with 5-10 kms a day ocassionally it would take him 3 years or so to clock 10km, that is what I meant there!
Not entirely true. You are forgetting the long weekend drives. I expect at least 500 KM per month of highway travel - and that number would go up as I get more comfortable with the car.

Originally Posted by myavu View Post
Only concern we have is that the flared wheel arches prone to kiss rickshaws & tempos to dent and scratch.
Thanks. Will keep that in mind.

Originally Posted by jayded View Post
Just talk with the sales guy who accompanies you on your drive, he might be knowing such a spot close by where you can test it.
Here are some options, keeping in mind that boot space is priority:
1) Polo 1.2 petrol (Cons: ~4 months waiting, less engine refinement compared to rest in class)
2) i20 1.2 petrol (Cons: Not a great handler, you might still find it sluggish, FE not that great at 10 - 11 kmpl in city, by the way, the Figo petrol also returns similar FE)
I will consider a Figo petrol test drive if the dealer can cater to my requirements.
Polo: Is that less sluggish than Figo?
i20: Somehow this car has not appealed. I need a car which involves the driver (and is fun to drive). Will consider it if there are no other options.

Originally Posted by Captain Slow View Post
Modern Diesel engines don't give any problems! They don't cost much to maintain.
I was hoping that someone would say that (again)
I understand that the service bills will be a bit more for Figo diesel compared to petrol. That is not as big a problem.
What I am worried about is more frequent trips to the service center, more part replacements, etc. for Figo D just because the car is standing still for 2-3 days at a stretch or running less than 20 km in a week on some occasions.
Old 4th January 2011, 17:06   #3629

Difference in service cost will not be more than 400-500 on each service.
Until now both petrol and diesel figo owners are running to the service station for small issues only. No major problems reported.
But if your running is going to be less than 10,000KM a year then you should get a petrol car by logic.
TD the petrol figo and then let us know what you think
Old 4th January 2011, 17:08   #3630

What I am worried about is more frequent trips to the service center, more part replacements, etc. for Figo D just because the car is standing still for 2-3 days at a stretch or running less than 20 km in a week on some occasions.
If that is your worry, then I don't think you should!! as long as you take out the car every now and then, there should not be any problem; not at least something that requires the engine/parts to be repaired or replaced!!

Most responses here are more to do with financial viability and performance related; as a diesel car is more expensive and as users buy it for sake of mileage, a rarely run car for short runs would return less mileage(and hence making it financially unviable).

But why don't you try sedans? Since finance does not seem to be a problem for you, there are many petrol options in sedans say Fiesta 1.6 a great driver's car which is now selling at huge discounts!!

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com