Old 28th April 2011, 09:57   #4231

re: Review: 1st-gen Ford Figo (2010)

I have given my car for the 2nd free service. It has done approx 8000 kms. My figo is exactly a year old. Will update once i get the car later in the day. I have requested for a teflon coating for which lathangi ford is charging me 3K

Last edited by sumathindra : 28th April 2011 at 09:58. Reason: more info
Old 28th April 2011, 11:47   #4232

Originally Posted by vinboy View Post
These tests may help the manufacturers to get some data that might help them in the future! Other than this I do not see any use to us common folks. Correct me if I am wrong! These activities are sort of subtle campaigns which is used to form opinions that these cars are really competent and fuel efficient. We are know to be very sensitive to "kitna deti hai?" complex and these fuel efficiency campaigns drives home this point to our sub conscious mind!
Well it will be a concern if only Ford does that, if everyone else follows the same thing then only thing we can do is use our discretion. While you are right in saying all that you said, it just ends up as a rhetoric! We can't ask the manufacturers to not to do such things, can we?
Old 28th April 2011, 12:15   #4233

For Figo Diesel variants, what will be the engine rpm in 5th gear while going at 120 kmph? Has anyone noted this accurately? Or what will be the rpm at 100 kmph?

Last edited by clevermax : 28th April 2011 at 12:19.
Old 28th April 2011, 14:00   #4234

2400-2500 - 100
2900-3000 - 120
3500 - 140
4000 - 160

it's the speedo reading. actual speed would obiviously be lesser i guess.
Old 28th April 2011, 15:06   #4235

Originally Posted by vishnurp99 View Post
2400-2500 - 100
2900-3000 - 120
3500 - 140
4000 - 160

it's the speedo reading. actual speed would obviously be lesser i guess.
Thanks. So at 120 kmph in speedo, the rpm will be obviously more than 2800 at least. I just wanted to know that. Yes, actual speed will be like 110 kmph when speedometer shows 120.
Old 28th April 2011, 17:18   #4236

2400-2500 - 100
2900-3000 - 120
3500 - 140
4000 - 160

I am not too sure if it should be 3500 at 140 KMPH, it should be a little lesser as far as I remember. The same applies to 120 range too.

Are these figures with a/c or w/o?
Old 28th April 2011, 17:40   #4237

Anybody having problems with squeaky wipers? On my recent trip in heavy rain, the wiper started making squeaky sound after some 15-20 mins of constant usage. Has anybody else come across this problem? Is there any homemade remedy ??
Old 28th April 2011, 21:40   #4238

Squeaky wipers are a potential problem in all cars!

One home brewed solution is to clean your windshield glass with newspaper & water, and then wipe your wiper blades down with vinegar.
Old 28th April 2011, 21:45   #4239

Originally Posted by sumathindra View Post
I have given my car for the 2nd free service. It has done approx 8000 kms. My figo is exactly a year old. Will update once i get the car later in the day. I have requested for a teflon coating for which lathangi ford is charging me 3K
Were you there today ? Does your car have LTD on the rear hatch door below the Figo marking ?

Am completing 1 yr Next week, currently ODO at 16k+. I got under chassis coating done during 2nd free service at 3k.

Wash the car with Pantene shampoo and plain water.... leaves a fine gloss just like polish.

Regarding milage, my DTE was down to 530ish 2 weeks back. was getting around 13ish. Am currently about to complete 1300+ kms which is 80% highways mostly and speed hovering around 80 with A/c ON all the time. Economy is 22-23ish on highway, will confirm tomorrow when I refill.

Last edited by ownerofazkaban : 28th April 2011 at 21:50.
Old 28th April 2011, 22:55   #4240

Originally Posted by askids View Post
Anybody having problems with squeaky wipers? On my recent trip in heavy rain, the wiper started making squeaky sound after some 15-20 mins of constant usage. Has anybody else come across this problem? Is there any homemade remedy ??
yes off late i too am facing this problem. Today i checked with the SA at lathangi and he says it is nothing :-( and gave a blank stare. Why dont these guys understand such issues?
Old 28th April 2011, 22:58   #4241

Originally Posted by ownerofazkaban View Post
Were you there today ? Does your car have LTD on the rear hatch door below the Figo marking ?

Am completing 1 yr Next week, currently ODO at 16k+. I got under chassis coating done during 2nd free service at 3k.

Wash the car with Pantene shampoo and plain water.... leaves a fine gloss just like polish.
Yes i was there in the morning to drop the car. I have a LTD sticker below the figo marking. Were you there and at what time. I got the car ready at 7:30pm, they took more than 2 hours for the Teflon coating!
Old 29th April 2011, 08:05   #4242
RGK

The standard tacho reading for all figos is less than or equal to 2000 rpm for 80kmph @ 5th gear. If this is correct, then the rpm to speed ratio is normal.
Old 29th April 2011, 08:11   #4243

Originally Posted by anilisanil View Post
I am not too sure if it should be 3500 at 140 KMPH, it should be a little lesser as far as I remember. The same applies to 120 range too.
Are these figures with a/c or w/o?
AC does not make a difference in rpm in a particular gear at a particular speed. It is just that the fuel consumption will be little more with AC, due to the increased load.

Are you sure that at 120kmph, rpm is even less than 2900? Is it somewhere in the range of 2500?

Last edited by clevermax : 29th April 2011 at 08:12.
Old 29th April 2011, 10:21   #4244

Originally Posted by vinboy View Post

I find all this little too much for a new car!! In my experience none of my new cars had this kind of rattles etc!! is this happening only in my car or is it common to all Figo's???
Building one lakh Figos doesnt seem to have made much difference to the appearance of squeaks and rattles. My dashboard is more or less one of those rattle toys on rough roads and poorly finished concrete roads.
Luckily, the music system is good.
Old 29th April 2011, 10:38   #4245

I can confirm 2500 rpm for 100 in 5th gear. This tested this for nearly 300 kms It holds true when there are no serious up/down slopes.

2400-2500 - 100
2900-3000 - 120
3500 - 140
4000 - 160

rohing is offline   (1) Thanks