Old 10th February 2010, 16:01   #301

Originally Posted by sanjayc View Post
With de-control of petrol/diesel prices and on top of that, 15-25% premium being planned on diesel vehicle at the time of sale itself by way of taxes/cess etc, and other uncertainties over different diesel pricing mechanisms for cars vis-a-vis goods carriers in the long term, does it make sense to invest in diesel cars for personal use?
Good question you asked there Sanjay. But, I guess it needs a separate thread to discuss about all that you asked. Maybe, you can open a thread in Indian Car Scene if there arent any threads on this topic.
Old 10th February 2010, 17:26   #302

Just called up the chennai showroom, they said base P version will be priced at 3.46 lacs as per their records, it will be available in the showroom for display from Feb 20th onwards. They said the Top end diesel version(titanium) will be priced below 6 lacs for sure(not disclosed the correct price for top variants). Booking already started there , more than 70 bookings already. Min amount is Rs.10000
Old 10th February 2010, 17:46   #303

... 15-25% premium being planned on diesel vehicle at the time of sale itself by way of taxes/cess etc,
You can join the mad scramble for diesel cars before budget session to avoid being charged extra...

...and other uncertainties over different diesel pricing mechanisms for cars vis-a-vis goods carriers in the long term....
Nah, i don't see dual pricing for diesel. Will encourage black marketers.

But this is not the thread to discuss this.

Last edited by WindRide : 10th February 2010 at 17:50.
Old 10th February 2010, 17:49   #304

Originally Posted by Jebs View Post

Just called up the chennai showroom, they said base P version will be priced at 3.46 lacs as per their records
Thats a great price for a Bigger hatch.

Guess even Volkswagen officials will be keen to know the price,
and price their Polo accordingly.
Now can we expect huge discounts on i10, A-star, Ritz?
Old 10th February 2010, 17:52   #305

Originally Posted by Daewood View Post

Guess even Volkswagen officials will be keen to know the price,
and price their Polo accordingly.
Now can we expect huge discounts on i10, A-star, Ritz?
I would guess even Fiat keeping an eye open to price their revamped new Palio (if at all its to be launched).
Old 10th February 2010, 19:08   #306

Originally Posted by Jebs View Post

Just called up the chennai showroom, they said base P version will be priced at 3.46 lacs as per their records, it will be available in the showroom for display from Feb 20th onwards. They said the Top end diesel version(titanium) will be priced below 6 lacs for sure(not disclosed the correct price for top variants). Booking already started there , more than 70 bookings already. Min amount is Rs.10000
Good to note that the top end Diesel would cost less than 6L. I guess it would be good if is even lesser so as to really make an impact.
Old 10th February 2010, 20:03   #307

Is it better to wait and watch, rather than buy immediately?

The pricing of the Polo is going to be very interesting......... !

3.46 seems like the real deal. Yes very feasible. Anyway by the third week of Feb, all details would tumble out.
Old 10th February 2010, 21:08   #308

3.46 seems to be a good pricing and can crack the initial sale volume. Hope Ford will price in that range.
Old 11th February 2010, 12:22   #309

3.46 for base model ? I am sure a game for it, keeping my fingers crossed for the big day when ford will anounce the prices.
Does any one know if any of dealer at Delhi is taking advance booking ?

Last edited by jacksons : 11th February 2010 at 12:24.
Old 11th February 2010, 12:56   #310

I think more than team Bhpian's VW guys will be anxious to know about FIGO’s pricing and vise versa. I think both want to hold on there price cards till the last moment.

Now the question is who will declare the prices first, interestingly neither Ford nor VW has announced a probable date for announcing prices.

It’s a wait and watch game !
Old 11th February 2010, 14:11   #311

The Figo will be launched in the 1st week of March. Stocks will be sent to the dealer by the 3rd/4th week of February! Expect the OTR price for Petrol Titanium in the range of 4.5 Lakhs (Need to be confirmed by Ford anyway)!

Last edited by anachronix : 11th February 2010 at 14:12.
Old 11th February 2010, 15:20   #312

Ford Figo would be launched before 10th march I think. I'm sure we'll will see new ads on TV during IPL matches. Would be feast to eyes to see new ads of all these figo, polo and puntos during ipl breaks.
Old 11th February 2010, 17:13   #313

vw polo launch on feb 23rd mumbai. so ford figo's pricing is after vw polo
Old 11th February 2010, 19:04   #314

I have enquired the dealers in chennai & coimbatore. They informed that FIGO delivery will be made from March 6th. TD will be available from 20th. The bookings are already opened.
Old 12th February 2010, 00:56   #315

Video Grab from Clip posted by TJ123.

Comparing Figo with Zen Estilo

Figo has
1. better ground clearance
2. It is much wider than estilo
3. Slightly shorter
4. Has wider tires
Review: 1st-gen Ford Figo (2010)-figozen.jpg

Comparing Figo with Alto
Overall a much bigger car.
Review: 1st-gen Ford Figo (2010)-figoalto.jpg

The 2 pics give us an idea of teh size of figo .