Old 15th October 2009, 22:45   #106

Looks good when compared to Swift Dzire, but then TATA could have done better job on the front and rear portion. Apart from the design change in dashboard, equipment level and the added boot, is there any other significant change (s) over Indica Vista?
Old 15th October 2009, 22:53   #107

If I needed a car that was going to be 100% chauffeur driven I would 100% go for this car with my eyes closed. That rear seat looks like a sofa with awesome legroom and good ingress/egress as well. Nothing will come close including Altis and Civic to that rear legroom I'm sure.

That's the type of car for our roads. Cheap to run and cheap to maintain. No tension of 2/3 wheelers scratching/bumping the car as it will not cost much to repair and car looks rugged also.

Last edited by Vid6639 : 15th October 2009 at 22:54.
Old 15th October 2009, 23:00   #108

Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
If I needed a car that was going to be 100% chauffeur driven I would 100% go for this car with my eyes closed. That rear seat looks like a sofa with awesome legroom and good ingress/egress as well. Nothing will come close including Altis and Civic to that rear legroom I'm sure.

That's the type of car for our roads. Cheap to run and cheap to maintain. No tension of 2/3 wheelers scratching/bumping the car as it will not cost much to repair and car looks rugged also.
+11111111 to that.

I am actually disappointed with some folks who are deriding Tata here. We tend to look down upon ourselves a lot.

Everytime I look at the pictures and the features offered, I feel proud for being an Indian. We are witnessing evolution in front of our eyes! And look at the range of cars that Tata offers!
Old 15th October 2009, 23:32   #109

Great job, Tata! Looks like they are offerring a lot for the money.
The quality of interiors has improved by leaps and bounds over the previous Indigo.

From the exterior, the front end seems to look much better on the Manza over the Vista, however the design of the boot is a disappointment, and seems to have been stretched beyond acceptable limits.

I suppose this should do well.
Old 15th October 2009, 23:33   #110

It looks like TATA is keen on positioning this version of Manza as a family car, targeting the volumes segment.

If I have to look back at what went on while developing manza, here is my version

Mission Statement : Indigo sales are deteriorating, so develop a sedan that could compete with Dzire.

Reference Cars: Dzire, Logan and Fiesta

Product Brief:
Looks - Like Dzire, but better
Space - Like Logan, but better
Driveability - Like Fiesta
Interior - As much as like a Linea

Added TATA specialities:
VFM features like bluetooth, stereo, big boot, good paint job and Vista Front end

Killer Punch:
ABS
Air bags
Pricing
2 year 75000 km warranty

End Result:
Grumpy indian customer yearning for linea or city, but settling for Manza because it is 2 lakhs cheaper.
Old 15th October 2009, 23:41   #111

Hey Guys, Are you all cursing this car just because its from TATA? Why are we not looking at the VFM tag of this car? Most of them are okay with a Maruti Car filled with rattles selling for a 7+ lac tag [read SX4]. Why cant we appreciate a bold move by TATA to get the customers a nice car? Are we comparing this to a Corolla or Civic to say this is ugly and bad car? Please compare an APPLE to an APPLE and we have only Dzire to compete with this [ I would not want to bring in Fiesta here; neither Logan] in this segment! I would prefer this car over Dzire anyday because of the comfort and space this gives - powered by a better proven engine!
GTO, I hope your Diwali gift for us is the Manza test drive report!

Last edited by swiftnfurious : 15th October 2009 at 23:43.
Old 15th October 2009, 23:49   #112

Most modern turbo diesels are afflicted with this low end torque problem.
For example cruze took 40 seconds to touch 100 from 40 in 5th gear.
I guess, a change of driving style, and you get used to it.
Old 15th October 2009, 23:55   #113

Please compare an APPLE to an APPLE and we have only Dzire to compete with this [ I would not want to bring in Fiesta here; neither Logan] in this segment! I would prefer this car over Dzire anyday because of the comfort and space this gives - powered by a better proven engine!
GTO, I hope your Diwali gift for us is the Manza test drive report!
I completely agree.. though I have an Alto, if I have $$$ right now will purchase this one. Everyone asks more out of a car, or buy a low end one and drive down to the gray market for accessories, but TATA is given most of the luxury features in this price we should feel good for that. Manza looks different from Indigo, the engine is different, always better than Swift & Dezire, Logan, Accent and can compete with Fiesta and SX4. And The Aura+ costs 2.5 L less than Linea emotion pk MJD on road. Its a fresh air in this segment, let test drive it and feel it....Happy Diwali to all..
Old 15th October 2009, 23:59   #114

Originally Posted by MutantX View Post
well, I have personally seen many indicas that have extremely poor and sorry sheet metals around its body. It looks more or less like a pencil box wrapped around packing metal sheets. The build doesnt look sturdy. Anyways, I would visit TATA Motors tomorrow to check out Manza.
You might have SEEN Indicas, but I have been using one personally since 2006 and running fine after clocking 127000kms. Always felt it built like a car, not as a pencil box that you mention. My friend's 2002 60000 kms Indica doesn't feel flimsy as well.

You can check out my report here on the Long-term review section and also fellow-TBHPian 'greenhorn's report where his Indica got hit by a Kerala State bus from behind. A Maruti would have just folded up (Swift, Dzire and lower models atleast, haven't tried the SX4 so cannot comment on that).

Please don't just go by 'seeing' things and 'jumping' into conclusions. And in case you think I am Tata fanboy, I still have my dad's 1991 M800 which feels much better than the current tin-cans that Maruti produces.

The cars that I have personally owned, used and driven for your information includes the M800, M1000, Gypsy King, Maruti Van, Tata Sierra, Safari, Sumo, Indica besides the Hindustan Contessa, Ambassador, Hyundai Santro, Ford Ikon and the Toyota Qualis. My views are based entirely on my ownership claims and not mere hearsay. Each of these cars did a minimum of 85000 kms with us.

Last edited by discoverwild : 16th October 2009 at 00:04. Reason: formatting doesn't work on this system :)
Old 16th October 2009, 00:18   #115

Hats off to Tata!!!

Fantastic car. Super Looks. More than adequate space. Great Interiors. As far as features are concerned, almost everything you could have asked for.

It is so good, that my wife started having second thoughts about the Safari Gx which we picked up today.
Old 16th October 2009, 00:32   #116

Looks so great

Manza's Pics looks great!. Yet to see a good photos of boot from multiple angles.
Congrats dtharm... who is the first Bhpian to book Manza. And another buddy who waited for Dzire and booked Manza.

It is a great sign from home grown indian auto makers. I guess next swadeshi car will be from Mahindra, as his joint ventures product logan flopped while their own products are smash hit.

Last edited by TeddyBear : 16th October 2009 at 00:34.
Old 16th October 2009, 00:55   #117

Great report. I respect Tata for always providing something new at a price which the competition cannot imagine. Yes, the looks are boring and dull and it looks bulky, but go in a normal household and ask them, what do they prefer, looks or value for money. You know the answer very well.

Kudos to Tata for keeping the tradition of making a car for the common Indian man with a kick of luxury.

Old 16th October 2009, 01:11   #118

The tyres are Bridgestones. 185 R15s. Can anyone throw a light on the aspect ratio and the tread type? I checked out Bridgestone's website but couldn't find any model similar, looks like a B250, could it be a special development for the Manza?
Old 16th October 2009, 01:17   #119

Another VFM car from TATA. I personally liked the front looks but again the rear disappoints. Could have been better styled. Interiors look good too. Guess Dzire is going to have some competition.
Just curious, but what does Manza mean?
Old 16th October 2009, 01:20   #120

It is not a beautiful car. Period.
It is a fantastic car, nevertheless. Tata sure has a winner here. With this launch I feel the Indigo series (CS & Manza) will rule the entry C-segment.

BTW, does this car source only the transmission too from Fiat, like the Vista?

On a different note, it seems Tata's taking one step at a time. First improve the quality of the vehicles. Next inline could be the service network. And I hope next on their agenda would be engine development. I think they should have some decent engines of their own, in near future. Anyway, I wish them all the success.

Last edited by safari_lover : 16th October 2009 at 01:22.